We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lodging falls short for price”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Entriken
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Entriken
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lodging falls short for price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Staying at the lodge for a few days to relax on the way home from a 10 day trip. The lake is beautiful! We are disappointed in the comfort of the beds and pillows for the price we are paying, could not get comfortable. Also the water saver shower head must go! Could not wash hair and could barely get the soap off my body. Had to sqat down and use bath faucet to wash my hair. Kitchenette is nice to have but nothing supplied but cups for coffee. This is the deluxe room! The wifi is spotty and irritating. The food and service at the cafe falls short. Even the children did not want to go back. Would not return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shel1358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    67
    36
    25
    16
See reviews for
117
39
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to the Raystown Resort cafe and had the worst experience I have ever had at a restaurant. There were 10 of us and the only people in the cafe when we placed our order. The waitress acted like she was on drugs and couldn't get anything right. When serving my food, she dumped my cole slaw on the table and left it there and never came to clean it up or bring me a new one even after I asked several times. Our food was brought out 2 to 3 meals at a time with about 20 minutes between each delivery. My father's burger was brought out last after everyone else was done eating and I believe the meat "mooed". It was supposed to be done medium well and there was blood dripping from the sandwich-it was so discusting! The crabcakes were not even edible either. Our family had a wedding there two years ago and the food was awesome.not sure what happened! My niece went to the manager and she said that she asked the head cook to come talk to us and he refused. The waitress never refilled the drinks even though they sat empty since we had to wait so long to get our food. I asked 3 times for mayonnaise and needless to say, I never got it. My husband ordered fries and wings and when she never brought the wings, I asked her about it and she said he never ordered them---she even asked him when he ordered it what kind of sauce he wanted.

After discussing with the manager, she decided not to charge us for the food since we had so many problems. She did say they have been having a lot of issues lately. I would say then you need to hire new help! We were there as a family for the one year anniversary of my brother's death because of his love of Raystown Lake....like the day wasn't hard enough but then they had to make it worse!

Take my advice-don't ever go to this place to eat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lori l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex E, Public Relations Manager at Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We were moved by your reason for revisiting us and apologize for the issues you encountered during your meal. As a result, we have revisited our staffing levels to ensure better service as well as looking at ways to increase our efficiencies. We certainly value your patronage and hope you will give us a chance to earn back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Entriken hotels

Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Disappointed there are restrictions on the days you are allowed to book. Looks like we will not be visiting here! I just called to book a Thursday night and Friday night stay two weeks in advance and was told you are not allowed to check in and out during these days. This is the first time I have been turned down from staying in hotel. I can understand that you would want to reserve the bungalows, villas, etc but I am unable to even book a room in the lodge. We were looking forward to visiting but looks like we will have to plan a vacation somewhere else.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank btp8089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We just had my daughters wedding at Raystown Lake and Resort for the entire weekend starting on Thursday. We stayed in the Villa's and guest stayed in cabins and the Lodge. The accomodations were great and the Villa's were really great because all our guests would gather in front of the waterfront Villa's every night. All our guests said it was the best wedding they ever attended. We started Friday night with a picnic and the wedding was held on Saturday at the Conference Center. The wedding was beautiful on the Tree Top Terrace and the cocktail hour food was incredible. The sit down dinner exceeded my expectations and every guest loved their meal. The Tree Tops Terrace and the ballroom were so beautiful it made me cry. Dan and Jenn are the best when it comes to hosting the party. They took care of every detail we requested. It was a really hectic weekend because I spent an entire year planning the wedding for my daugther and everything exceeded my expectations.
We started camping at the Resort about 6 years ago and really love the place. The scenary is beyond compare.

Room Tip: The Lodge suites and the Villa's are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We reserved this place for a conference this past Memorial Day Weekend, and we were very pleased with the overall service and the accommodations the staff provided us for our programs. We had programs from 5am in the morning till midnight, and even with these ridiculous times, I could always see the event manager Dan trying everything he can to make sure everything worked out well.
The main cook, Clinton, was also very helpful and passionate about his work. I had the opportunity to talk with him many times, and he's one of the nicest hotel staff members I've ever met.

The only complaint I (and a number of our conference guests) had was the rather unkempt hotel rooms. Even though the conference center itself is large, clean, comfortable and state-of-the-art, the lodge rooms were small and stuffy. I've stayed in worse hotel rooms, but with such a nice conference center, one would expect better rooms. That's one thing the management could look at.

Obviously, the lake and the surrounding area are beautiful and worth a visit. Only problem with the location is its distance from large towns, meaning that a trip to the closest grocery store (Giant Eagle) is still a good 30 minute car trip.

Room Tip: If you're gonna forget to bring shampoo or a towel, don't get the villas or cabins. Neither...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eebs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Went to a wedding at this resort. Our first trip there. Beautiful setting right on the lake. Nothing fancy but very comfortable with microwave and fridge for keeping food. Marina Cafe is basic faire but great setting on the lake. General Store well equipped.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the Lodge or if you want lake access, rent a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

True story...roaches, yes...roaches...rooms are musty, POOR to no maid service, think old shore motel. No money put back into property in years, from maintenance to landscaping to HVAC and carpeting...the Lodges (all 3 of them) are a mess...conference center very nice but that focal point needs to expand to the entire 'resort' - management should be ashamed to call it that...casual restaurant at conference center had terrible service and prices outrageous, airport prices because they have you, no where else around...$12 loaded fries, $13 burger with chips, etc. - you'd be better off camping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brian y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRResortGM, General Manager at Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Brian Y,

Thank you for your review of your stay in May 2013. Our guest's insight is a valuable resource for us.

Please know that your experience at the Lodge is an exception not the norm. Our Front Desk Staff is available 24 hours per day, 7 days per week to assist guests with any problems that they may encounter during their stay at Lake Raystown Resort, Lodge & Conference Center. Also, if you find that your accommodations do not meet your expectations, we are always happy to provide alternate guest accommodations based on availability. Our Front Desk Staff can do so quickly and efficiently when contacted.

Our Lodge offers both Standard Rooms and Deluxe Rooms. Standard Rooms are priced at our lowest rate.

We do offer many different types of accommodations at Lake Raystown Resort, Lodge & Conference Center - each of them appealing to different guests. The Standard Lodge Rooms are for the more Budget Minded guest and priced accordingly. Building 3 at the Lodge is home to our Suites which are appointed with a King Sized Custom Amish Made Bed, Plasma TV, Jacuzzi Tub, separate Living Room and custom cabinets, draperies and bed linens. This Building also has our Deluxe Rooms which also have handmade Amish Furniture, custom Adirondack decor and upgraded bedding and finishings. The Deluxe Rooms and Suites have a higher nightly rate but can be reserved at anytime by any guest based on availability.

In addition to our 52 room Lodge, we have 79 Rental Units. The Rental Units range from our Pine Camping Cabins that have a more rustic feel to our Waterfront Villas that have 2 separate bedrooms, a full kitchen and offer a private wooded setting away from the majority of our guests. We have so many options - there is something for everyone.

We encourage guests that find that there accommodations do not meet their expectations to let us know while at The Resort. Our Front Desk Staff is available 24 hours per day, 7 days a week and can help find alternate accommodations at The Resort to suit each guests' needs.

The Marina Cafe offers many different menu choices at a range of prices. The Deck Burger is 8 ounces of prime ground beef served to order, served with potato chips and coleslaw for $11.95 or $12.95 to add applewood smoked bacon to the burger. We also offer a Pulled Pork Sandwich (hand shredded with house made BBQ sauce) for $8.95. The Loaded Dock Fries are priced at $6.50 per order and are freshly cut (in house) potatoes smothered in cheddar cheese, with bacon crumbles, and scallions. The most expensive menu selection on our current menu at The Marina Cafe is $22.50 for the Steak & Frites, a marinated bistro steak grilled to perfection then drizzled with a red wine demi-glace and served with traditional pomme frites tossed in fine herb sea salt and served with a truffle aioli.

We hope that you will return and stay in a different type of accommodation that better suit your needs! Looking forward to seeing you soon, Brian Y!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entriken
14.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntingdon Route 22/Raystown Lake
15.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntingdon
Comfort Inn Huntingdon
#2 of 4 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
17.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Huntingdon Motor Inn
Huntingdon Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
15.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Altoona
15.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination

Property: Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination
Address: 3101 Chipmunk Xing, Entriken, PA 16638-8623
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Entriken
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Entriken
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for family fun in a naturally gorgeous location, no need to look further. Lake Raystown Resort is Central Pennsylvania's top destination. With 400 acres of waterfront property, endless activities and top-rated accommodations for any budget, this is the type of vacation that will leave you feeling surprised and refreshed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Raystown Hotel Entriken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing