We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and Tacky !!!!!!!!!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Entriken
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Entriken
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed at the Lodge it was a little run down but seemed clean .The beach was pathetic and about as big as the first floor of my house .There was nowhere to fish unless you wanted to intrude on someones campsite .To rent a boat was robbery ! The food in the restaurant was gross and expensive and the pizza in the Bistro was downright disgusting!!!!!! Other than the wait staff which were extremely friendly the rest of the staff seemed uneducated and didn't know anything about the place they worked at .We were never here before and weren't given any info at check in and when we would ask a question we were either given wrong answers or directions.The best part of our getaway was feeding the fish off the dock which I find to be very sad!!!!!!!!!!!!.This place is advertised as a "resort" and I would classify it as a state park at best with resort pricing!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michele r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 239 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We camped out at Lake Raystown for 4 nights since my husband was in a wedding that was held on the property. We had one of their extra large camper sites since my in-laws own a 37' camper. It was a nice level site with a gorgeous view of the lake just steps away. Restrooms and showers were quite close and well-maintained. I thought the wedding gazebo was quite lovely and the conference center where the reception was held was absolutely stunning! I had no idea what to expect and was truly WOWED! We visited the onsite waterpark and had a blast! We purchased an all day pass that got us unlimited mini golf, pools and waterslides. There are only 4 slides, but they are all fun and thrilling. Store was supplied and not very expensive. Look up at the sky at night....since there is hardly any light pollution, you get an amazing view of the stars!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

That's right, you heard me, bring your own soap, shampoo, dish soap, hangers, towels, and hair dryer! We stayed in the villas (which aren't cheap) and none of the above were provided. The cottage is nice, kitchen has dishes and pots and pans. Sheets are too small and the pillows are covered in plastic-really? A resort? When is the last time you stayed anywhere that didn't provide a hair dryer, let alone soap? For the price, I expected at least that.

Room Tip: Lower villa numbers are on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Enjoyed a few day getaway here and it was very relaxing. We stayed in the lodge which was clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed the water park, cafe and the bistro. We did not find any good locations to fish from shore which was a bit disappointing. The view from the lodge could have been better if the trees and growth were trimmed. Next time I will request a room on the second floor for a better view and less noise (hearing people walking above). Overall we had a good time and a lot of fun.

Room Tip: If you stay in the lodge I suggest a room on the top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed at the lodge and also a relative stayed at one of the villas. The suites are very nice- but there are only two. The other rooms are ok. They are clean, but nothing great, however the view of the lake is spectacular. The villas are nice. Having your own campfire by the water is awesome. I would definitely recommend staying at Lake Raystown resort!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajd720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I would go back to this "resort", but I'd prepare a little better the next time. We had a family reunion here so we rented three lakeside villas and one lodge room. The villas were clean and roomy enough for our needs. Not a lot of counter space, so cooking prep is cozy.

The resort is located in a dry county, so if you need a booze run you have to drive for 30 minutes. So just remember to pack what you'll need.

The water park is dinky, but fun for us. The day we were there was overcast and a bit chilly so there weren't many people there. Thank gawd because there is really not a lot of room if it got busy. And most of the chairs at the pool were broken. You'd think for the money they make they could afford new resin chairs each year ...

Boat rental prices are just this side of robbery. So bring your own.

There is some weird stuff there - signage that is ambiguous, cabin numbers that dang near impossible to read, and the food is pretty awful at the marina restaurant. But the location is gorgeous.

All in all we had a marvelous time and we'll be back. Just better prepared.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ski_n_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Recently stayed at the Resort's Campground. Whatever you do "say no" to agreeing to take site 134! Even though it is on the lake you will nearly kill yourself walking out of your RV. Site does not have any level ground to set out a chair. The resort has some positives with the lake and recreation activities (boating & swimming). Waterpark is OK, but needs some updating. Do your research when making reservations as their cancellation and pay ahead policy is a bit harsh.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wvgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination

Address: 3101 Chipmunk Xing, Entriken, PA 16638-8623
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Entriken
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Entriken
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for family fun in a naturally gorgeous location, no need to look further. Lake Raystown Resort is Central Pennsylvania's top destination. With 400 acres of waterfront property, endless activities and top-rated accommodations for any budget, this is the type of vacation that will leave you feeling surprised and refreshed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Raystown Hotel Entriken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing