We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and Chips”
Review of Pickles Grill & Bar - CLOSED

Pickles Grill & Bar
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Pickles is a unique place where you can go to enjoy great food with your entire family or meet your friends for an evening of fun. From steaks made from USDA Choice supreme Angus beef to fresh seafood entrees, Pickles truly has something for everyone. Appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, signature soups, steaks and chops, entrees and a children's menu are all available - and that is just the food menu. Pickles' bar is known throughout Lehigh Valley for its domestic and import specialty brews with over 22 beers on tap. It also serves unique specialty drinks, has a nice selection of spirits and a significant wine list, too. We have a passion for pure flavor, quality ingredients, and for creating an atmosphere that is convivial, approachable, and a haven for people who simply love food. Good times, great food, and a fantastic dining experience await you at Pickles Bar and Grill!
Allentown
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Their fish and chips are amazing. They serve you pickles when you sit down, before the food comes. They have many different kinds of dinners and sandwiches on the menu. The local fire department and EMS guys come in there after shift for drinks and dinner - that proves it's got to be good!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank hatecancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    22
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrendous service”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was our 3rd visit--really enjoyed the previous 2. However, they stuck us off in an area adjacent to the bar because there were 6 of us--and it became obvious very quickly that there was no wait staff assigned to the area. Instead, 1 wait person tried to serve in the main dining area plus the 2 larger groups in the bar area. Everything took a long time, from beverages to appetizer to entres. While tasty, more than 1 entre came with fries and ketchup was requested as the waitress retreated. When she reappeared about 5 min later, the request was repeated and was greeted with a curt "I heard you." Over 10 min later she appeared with a bottle of ketchup, but in the meantime we had spied a partial bottle on an unoccupied table in the area and got that--but the fries were cold by then. I think the food was OK, but the service so undid everything that not even the food was acceptable. We had previously gone to Pickles whenever we could when visiting family, as they had seemed to be child-friendly. From the time we entered until we got our meals was over 1 hr. We decided against dessert and couldn't get out of there fast enough. This was our last visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drmicro42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One prime rib, haven't returned”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The worst prime rib I've ever been served. Totally tough...haven't returned.

Helpful?
2 Thank jegrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a try.”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Took my family there for a birthday lunch... The service was incredibly slow.. Finally told the waitress that we were about to phone another restaurant for food delivery, if she hadn't returned sooner- lol - and we were about the only customers there! When food arrived, it was all quite good... Properly prepared appetizers... and the little dish of pickles was refreshed & not left empty... they are always fresh & crisp. We do like the atmosphere & plan to return. Plenty of parking & easy to get to.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinaDawn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Get a beer at the bar”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The burgers are great. Fries are good too. I do hate the nickel and dime me to death with all the ala cartes. Throw in a tossed salad with the dinner for goodness sake. The beers are cold, but you have to sit at the bar for the good service. The manager and bar maids are friendly.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrssoprano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing