We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun and affordable”

Knoebels Amusement Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Elysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Knoebels is a place the whole family can enjoy! It is America's largest free-admission amusement park and also offers free parking, free daily entertainment and free picnic facilities. While at the park, you can take a dip in our 900,000 gallon Crystal Pool filled with refreshing mountain stream water. The pool area includes watersides, diving boards and a play area just for young children. You can stay overnight at one of two campgrounds that include cabins and over 800 campsites for tents and campers. In addition to over 60 rides, award winning food, swimming, games, and gift shops, visitors can add a round of golf at Knoebels Three Ponds Golf Club right next door to the park.
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very fun and affordable”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family loves Knoebel's. Its very affordable for everyone. They didn't have to wait long for the rides. The roller coasters are great. Love the Phoenix.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank brooke081404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,448
    327
    62
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Halloween amusements”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Fun time at Knoebels but the lines were extremely long for food and rides. Understandably a lot of attractions were closed for the season. It was a perfect fall day so I'm sure this led to the crowded conditions. Excellent apple dumpling!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland
1 review
“Great park!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

It is a one of a kind park! Don't miss it! Go at night and enjoy the music, lights and screams! Food is great so don't eat before you go! Grab something at the park!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LengleTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Knoebels is like no other amusement parks you've ever been to. If you like your experience sanitized, processed and sterile, stay away. If you like something different and don't mind roughing it a bit, you will be rewarded in spades. You could even come and not spend a dime - free parking and free admission. Unique and rare rides like Flying Turns, Black Diamond, Phoenix, Haunted Mansion, Grand Carousel (reach for the brass ring), Whipper, Skooters, and Flyers make it a must for any amusement park junkie. Food is also mostly good and really well priced. You can even bring your dog and take him on a few rides. Washrooms - well nothing's perfect. I love this place and thank the Knoebel family for keeping it as some place very special.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horse Cave, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best old school park around”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I grew up about ten minutes from this park so we went here frequently. We still seem to end up there quite a few times every year. It's a beautiful family park located in the woods. The parking is free, admission is free, and the food is some of the best park food I've had anywhere. My husband loves the rotisserie chicken but my favorite is cesari's (spelling?) pizza and the pierogies. They also have really good hand cut fries. They have plenty of old school type rides such as bumper cars and a flume ride and they still have my favorites from childhood such as the rocket slide and haunted house. Another favorite is the Carousel which has a brass ring you can try and get for a free ride. Once it's going full speed you reach out as you spin by this hook that has the rings. You need to sit on an outside horse for this and they go quick but it's fun. They offer handstamps but even just buying tickets is affordable. You can buy a $5 or $10 book of tickets and that normally lasts us all day. I love the train that takes you back through the woods and the whip. This past weekend the Flying Turns finally opened after seven years. It's an old type "coaster" that is more like a luge. This is definitely the best family park around since they offer rides for all ages and it's so cheap. Even the mini golf is affordable and is surrounded by trees which helps a lot during the hot summer days. If you are still too hot you can always swim in the crystal pool. They also have a campground. There are tons of pavilions around which are always available for company picnics and tons of school groups show up. Even my dog is welcome there :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knoebels Amusement Resort also viewed

 

Been to Knoebels Amusement Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing