We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely Home, Gracious Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanda Gish House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amanda Gish House
Ruckersville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Home, Gracious Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time here. The house is extremely well decorated. Anne and Dave were wonderful hosts. We came home one evening to a fire outside in the chiminea; had coffee and talked with Anne. We stayed in the Rose Room; the bed was extremely comfortable. The gourmet breakfasts were superb. Located just up the road from the Dove Chocolate Factory, when you step outside the air smells of dark chocolate. A short drive to Hershey, Adamstown, Intercourse, Bird in Hand, etc. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here because it was convenient to Hershey, PA for the Farm Aid concert. Ann and Dave were wonderful hosts, the food was EXCELLENT, the bed was perfect and the jacuzzi in the Garden room was wonderful!! Would stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The garden room is wonderful, especially the jacuzzi to soak your aching bones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were in Elizabethtown along with other family members celebrating my parent's seventieth wedding anniversary, so all of the rooms were occupied by family members. It was as if we were in our own home. Ann and Dave were great, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfasts were fantastic. We especially enjoyed sitting on the wonderful porch which had more than enough rocking chairs to go around. One morning Ann even invited my parents to join us for breakfast. This will certainly be our place to stay for future trips.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My daughter has attended Elizabethtown College and has celebrated her Graduation this past weekend, we enjoyed our stay in the French Room and Garden room. My family and I were so pleased with our stay. The owners Anne and Dave take lots of pride in their B & B and have such an eye for detail along with great taste in decorating. Anne sets an elegant and beautiful table, and offers a delicious breakfast. Hershey and Lancaster is a short distance away,and the countryside is lovely. I have had quite a few stays at this property and always have left happy. Although my daughter has graduated I hope to return to Amanda Gish House and will most certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is Beautiful and has a Large bathroom with whirlpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liketravelLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

After a hectic 2 weeks of work in Washington DC & New York, this was the perfect place for rest & relaxation! The beautiful accommodation, great breakfasts & spectacular hospitality of our hosts gave us all a wonderful experience! The Garden room was gorgeous with a lovely bathroom, attached. Ann was the best tour guide & made sure we saw the places we wanted in out short time available. Thank you for the great experience!

Room Tip: The Garden room has a lovely huge bathroom attached with additional shower - great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you're in Lancaster County PA and want a lovely, Victorian B&B at a reasonable price, check out the Amanda Gish house. It's located between Hershey and Lancaster. The food is delicious and the rooms are lovely. Ann & Dave, the proprietors, are very knowledgeable about the attractions in the area as well as great hosts. I've stayed in all 3 guest rooms, and like them all for different reasons. The Garden Room is the largest and best. It has a spacious area for sitting and a huge bathroom with stall shower and a jacuzzi tub, plus double sinks. The French Room is a good size, but lacks usable seating, so it really is a bedroom, but has a lovely bathroom. The Rose Room is about the same size as the French Room, but you have use the bathroom located in the hallway, which is private. The parlor is very nice and cozy and good for sitting and reading. Each room has been updated recently with DISH network and flat screen TV. I visited there several times as my mother was a resident of the nearby Masonic Village until her passing in late December. I felt such warmth during my visits here and knew that Ann & Dave really cared about my well being. I can't say enough about the experience I have had there. You can tell that Ann & Dave love being hosts of a bed & breakfast. I highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: Go with the Garden Room for the best experience, although all three rooms are clean & comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gallagherbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We've stayed in numerous B & B's, hotels, timeshares, etc. but the Amanda Gish House exemplifies perfection! It's clean, Ann and Dave are perfect hosts, food is delicious and decor is impressive. Our son goes to Etown and if we can't stay here (because we waited to long) we get very disappointed.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg East
Holiday Inn Harrisburg East
#1 of 2 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
West Ridge Guest House
West Ridge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Elizabethtown
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
2.5 mi away
The Red Rose Motel
The Red Rose Motel
#2 of 2 in Elizabethtown
3.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda Gish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda Gish House

Property: Amanda Gish House
Address: 556 West Bainbridge Street, Elizabethtown, PA 17022
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amanda Gish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing