We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hershey KOA Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabethtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hershey KOA Campground
Save
You added Hershey KOA Campground to your Saves list
1980 Turnpike Road, Elizabethtown, PA 17022   |  
Hotel amenities
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very nice, clean campground. Staff is very friendly and all the sites are well taken care of. The amenities are very nice and the location is perfect for Hershey Park or visiting Lancaster. I would have given it 5 stars except that we had to bring 2 cars and they charged us $8 a day to park the extra car which is ridiculous. We look forward to coming back but will definitely make sure we only have one vehicle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimCarlKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    11
    2
    15
See reviews for
43
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a great trip. The camp was extremely clean, easy to navigate, and in the perfect location. We rented a cabin for a total of 4 people over the 3 night memorial day weekend and spent just over $300 total. The price could not be beat.

The cabin itself was clean and basic. Each spot has a BBQ grill, porch swing, picnic table, fire ring, and parking. The staff was attentive but gave campers their freedom and space.

It is less than 30 minutes from Hershey and 35 from the Amish Country. It is situated in a nice town with a decent number of restaurants and bars to keep you busy.

Room Tip: They have a well stocked store, Giant foods is down the road, and they service all meals in the cafe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just returned from two weeks of camping. The Elizabethtown Pa stay was awesome! Our site was a premier site with a patio, a fireplace, a swing and a bbq gas grill. The grounds a well kept, the staff delightful. Clean, Clean, Clean! We were less than a half hour from Hershey, about 40 mins from Amish Country and a bit over an hour from Gettysburg. I would come back in a heartbeat. Check this place out.

Room Tip: If you stay for a couple of days as we did, five actually. Go for the premier site. You will enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Innkeeper4WHCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralpa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Beautiful campgrounds with lots of different type camping spaces...rvs, tents, cabins. Great recreational hall with kitchen facilities! Check out the Sunday morning breakfast! Or Popcorn and movies!! Large swimming pool along with a kiddie pool, playgrounds for the kids! Giant chess set off the patio! Mini golf, fishing! What more could you ask for at a home away from home! New cabins have been added, including a handicapped cabin! They are sparking clean! The bathhouse, bathrooms are very clean and have laundry facilities available, a country store and probably much more I am forgetting! The people who run the place strive to make it an enjoyable stay for everyone! There are rules and security which makes it a safe place! The location is great, close to so many things in the Lancaster area...shopping the outlets and amish country, sight seeing, Hershey Park, Antique Car museum, Hershey Experience, great restaurants if you want to eat out...what more could you ask for! Go and camp and relax or use it for a base for your exploring!!! If you have special needs, talk to the staff, they seem more than willing to try to accommodate customers! Opens in April and closes in November (hey, it's PA weather!). There are seasonal regulars along with people passing thru the area! Make it a stop for your next camping get a way...whether you are local or coming to the area from a distance!!! VERY well maintained! This is the type of hidden gem that once you stay there, you'll share it with all your friends!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artisticwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very friendly, very helpful. But the campground is closed Nov - mid April.
We would definitely stay again. We came all the way from California and actually have considered coming back when everything is green and in peak season.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limeyjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavale
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have read a lot of bad reviews on this campsite but I can honestly say our family has only had wonderful experiences there. We have camped there for 3 years in a row and will definitely be going back this summer. It is a little out of the way but we actually enjoy the quietness. It is a well kept campsite with a cute little store. There are two pools, two playgrounds for the kids and a fun miniature golf area. There is a "rec hall" where kids can go and watch movies, make ice cream sundaes,play pool,etc.. There is also a little pond for fishing. I do believe the hornet issue is where the volleyball nets are set up. Unfortunately, that is where the other playground is for the kids and the hornets are quite bad. I would think they could do a little more to get rid of them. We stay in a cabin and have only had one problem which was a clogged kitchen sink. We informed management and by the time we returned from the pool, the problem was solved. I found the staff to be very friendly, however, I did hear some folks complaining about the manager. They do charge you a $125.00 deposit fee upon arrival but that was returned to us within 2 weeks after our departure. If you're looking for a quiet, clean family oriented campsite, I think you'll like this place! We certainly do!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discj0ckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

KOA, what to say? I called ahead let them know I have more people to add onto my reservation. I have a pop up camper. I asked if I could use a tent so we wouldn't be cramped, that was ok. Ok, until I got there. It was $10 pp, then $5 more a night for a tent ( keep in mind no more extra people, just to use our tent) then $8 a night bc we had an extra vehicle we were not even allowed to put on the site. It was nickle and dime you for everything. Putt putt golf on site should be free, it's small and mediocre, costs $3.75 a person. The virtual tour I took looked 100% different from the bathrooms I was near. Which were a little dirty but it is a campground. I just expect whatever brand new bathroom that was online I would be seeing, not old with mildew. The pond is small but my only issue is set hours to fish? Can't fish before 8am but most fishers get up early? Not near any campers so not sure why there are hours unless they try to charge for that too. Camp store and kitchen ( when it is open) doesn't open until 830 so early risers cant do anything. Front desk staff was rude and cold old ladies. Not even a friendly gesture minus thank you.So here is your positive- the pool was nice, 15 to hershey, 20 to Lancaster.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank erinhatfield12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#3 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
9.6 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 24 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hershey Lodge
Hershey Lodge
#6 of 24 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 stars 2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn Hershey
BEST WESTERN Inn Hershey
#17 of 24 in Hershey
3.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
10.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
9.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey KOA Campground

Property: Hershey KOA Campground
Address: 1980 Turnpike Road, Elizabethtown, PA 17022
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Elizabethtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Elizabethtown
Number of rooms: 175

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing