We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabethtown
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Our daughter is attending Etown College this fall. We stayed here overnight for her orientation. We went to Hershey Park the day before and was very convenient to drive from hershey to this hotel. Very clean room. Breakfast was very fresh and good. We will be staying again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taraclaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafferhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2010

Hello,
Thank you for your feedback and comments in regards to our property! We genuinely appreciate it! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you in the future! Have a wonderful day!

With warm regards,
Rose Shaffer
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown, PA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 118 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights over 4th of July weekend. We choose this hotel based on it's proximity to Amish Country which was the main reason for our weekend trip. I noticed a lot of families also were staying here I assume because it's within 20 minutes of Hershey Park. This hotel is located right off of Route 283 in a very rural area. I actually enjoyed the location if only because if gave you the feel you were away from everyone. In reality it was within 5 minutes of a Turkey Hill store and some other popular fast food joints.

The hotel's outside appearance looks nice. The inside seemed a bit dated. Check in went smoothly. The halls were very stuffy and hot even tho it wasn't that hot outside. They also had a certain musty smell to them. Luckily once we were in our room it was found to be very pleasant. The room was of an average size and everything was very clean. Unfortunately we had little to no view, they put us right beside the pine tree that's located next to the entrance. We found the hotel about 30 minutes from Bird-In-Hand and other Amish Attractions. If you've ever been to this area of PA most of the hotels are well over a $100 a night and we found this Holiday Inn Express checking in just a bit over $100 with my AAA discount. They had a free breakfast in the morning but we never made it up in time to enjoy it so I can't comment on it. There was an ATM located in the lobby which was nice. We did wish the room had a fridge and microwave in it. Did take advantage of the high speed internet which was very reliable and fast.

Overall I would say our stay was very nice and enjoyable. If we ever come back to this part of PA this will be our first choice to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banjo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

This hotel was a great surprise! It was a great value, convenient to all major roads, and was comfortable and clean. The room was really spacious, with a large sitting area. The free breakfast was set out early and was spectacular. Definitely will pick to stay here again if I am in the area!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pava1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

This past September two-night stay was my second time at the hotel. Our organization rented a number of rooms as part of an event and we were very pleased. The rooms are very spacious, the staff courteous and the breakfast more than ample. We plan to use the hotel next year.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WarminsterDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We were just in PA last week and stayed at this lovely hotel. It far exceeded our expectations. The room was very comfortable, as were the bed and pillows The complimentary breakfast bar was also great! The only negative thing I can say about our visit was that the cleaning crew could have made an effort to have been a little quieter, but other than that, it was great. The front desk staff were very cordial and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NaneeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for one night on September 19 on the way from Lancaster PA (1/2 hr away) to Hershey Park (approx 20 min) . It’s right off a major highway but we were on the parking lot side and didn’t hear any road noise. Very pretty landscaping around the building. Delicious cinnamon rolls at the breakfast bar along with yogurt, cereal, donuts and eggs. The room was very clean, the bed super comfy and the towels surprisingly plush. The only negative to this room was that the sink (along with amenities and hair dryer) were IN the room itself. I’ve stayed at hotels where there was a sink outside of the toilet & shower area but it was always separated from the sleeping area by a wall. It just seemed like a strange set-up and is the only thing keeping me from giving this property a 5 rating.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cswy822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

stayed there for my stepsons wedding weekend all in all a good stay rooms were nice everyone on staff was nice breakfast was good except for eggs at hot egg bar (powdered)
even let groom and party stay in room past checkout but made him plunge his own toilet after it backed up

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 7 in Manheim
80 reviews
7.9 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#4 of 7 in Manheim
676 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)

Address: 147 Merts Dr, Elizabethtown, PA 17022-8803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabethtown
Price Range: $121 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re traveling for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania (Hershey Area) is the ideal place to be in PA! Our hotel is located betweenHarrisburg, Hershey and Lancaster.. Corporate business travelers will value our free high-speed Internet, as well as our close proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport (MDT), Manheim Auto Auction, Elizabethtown College, Masonic Village, and the community of Mount Joy. Vacationers will enjoy the Amish Country, thrills of Hersheypark, and easy access to Hollywood Casino! We also have discount tickets to many area attractions available at our front desk. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, all of our guests will enjoy our variety of well-appointed guest rooms, including triple queen suites,for larger families, and luxurious whirlpool suites for a relaxing or romantic getaway. Our staff will greet you with a warm welcome, and offer a good night's sleep at a reasonable price. Our free, deluxe Continental breakfast has plenty of variety to start your morning, and now also includes a selection of hot foods daily, as well as, warm cinnamon rolls, a variety of pastries, cereal, and much more! We are easy access from the PA Turnpike (I-76) and airport MDT, just off Rt. 283 at the Rheems/Elizabethtown exit. We'd love to have you stay with us, and we look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elizabethtown
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown
Elizabethtown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing