We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable, great staff, breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabethtown
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, great staff, breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here to visit colleges for one night this month. For the price we paid ($100) it was a great deal. The hotel was maintained, comfortable and the staff couldn't be any nicer. I was amazed by the large breakfast room with free breakfast (lots of choices and everything tasted good and was replenished over and over). The ladies who worked in the breakfast room were very nice too. For the price it was amazing. Great deal.

There was a fridge in the room and a flat-screen tv.

A couple of things that would be great: I know this is an express, so no pool. I knew about that, but it would be great if they could put a sitting area outside the hotel somewhere. There's only one bench in front of the hotel. Sometimes it's nice to sit out an have a drink or my husband likes to smoke a cigar. There is nowhere at all to hang out outside.

Also, my son is allergic to cats. This hotel is pet-friendly. I asked for a room that hadn't had a pet (hoping for the best). He was fine except in the morning was very congested. Also, the room was cleaned well, but I could tell an animal had been in the room at some point. Once we put the AC on for awhile, it dissipated.

I would stay again, just jack up the allergy meds. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamdave12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    19
    14
    2
See reviews for
46
16
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I love a Holiday Inn- you always know what you get!
The staff here were so friendly. Rooms were large. My 12 year old son and i stayed here and had a large bed each. Free wifi. Great selection (too much!) at the breakfast buffet. Only problems were a few bugs here and there in the main entrances/halls, but we were in the country, so i didn't mind. Room very clean, well equipped- coffee machine, teas, fridge, toiletries. We also had Air Con, which worked well. Cant fault the hotel at all. Also, we used a taxi driver the hotel recommend (Kerry Good with Good transportation. His phone number is 001-717-371-3171) . Kerry was great, and right on time.
I would definitely stay here again if i happened to ever be in this area again.
Would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsQ009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel to stop in the middle of a long drive. The pros were: they had a room and the hotel was very near to the interstate.

The cons were: we supposedly got the very last room and they charged quite a bit, the breakfast room was incredibly crowded and we ended up needing to skip breakfast, and the pillows were a bit uncomfortable.

One thing that I would note is, after mentioning my AAA membership, the rate for the room dropped $50. That is worth mentioning.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear sd_in_switzerland,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. It’s nice to know that our location was suitable for your travel needs. On the other hand, we’re sorry you were not satisfied with the breakfast bar and the pillows. We appreciate all your feedback as this is our best resource for improvement. If there is anything we can do to make you next stay more satisfying, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband wanted to get away. So we looked at prices and they were very reasonable. When we arrived we were greeted and checked in. We asked where our room was and since it was on the other side and my husband smoked we wanted to be close to a door to allow him easy access to go outside. The gentleman at the desk said no problem and changed our room for us. The rooms are the size of a large living room. I was confused with the bathroom sink combination though. When you walk in the sink was to our right with the mirror and the shower and toilet where in their own room the size of a closet. It was also really dusty although I'm sure not everyone looks at the tops of the bed frame or pictures. The bed let me tell you this bed went on for miles. King size with pillows that are labeled for those who like soft or firm. I don't think you could sleep on the whole bed in one night. The bed was super comfortable. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast offered, but we were told about it. Overall nice place and very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MStartoni2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night. Hotel was very packed. But it was very clean and the rooms were well kept and beds had nice mattresses. Breakfast in the morning was also very nice. Had a wide variety and had the option to get a to-go container for your breakfast which is nice for an on the road mid morning snack. Would stay here again if I was back in the area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank macy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just spent one night. Hotel was very full and breakfast room too crowded. The food selection was more than the usual "breakfast included", even had pancakes and hot scrambled eggs. Very comfortable beds however the bathroom was narrow and hard to move around, while the sink area was right in the room with the beds. Not ideal! Location is good, right off the highway and one exit from Hershey.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onholiday_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotel was very full while we were there but the location is excellent and the prices are not too expensive. Breakfast was good - typical fare for this chain. Only complaint is that the bathroom facilities in the room were very small and narrow.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the ground floor as it can be noisy near the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjtom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#3 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
7.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
5.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
#11 of 37 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
7.8 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
17.8 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
Address: 147 Merts Dr, Elizabethtown, PA 17022-8803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re traveling for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania (Hershey Area) is the ideal place to be in PA! Our hotel is located betweenHarrisburg, Hershey and Lancaster.. Corporate business travelers will value our free high-speed Internet, as well as our close proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport (MDT), Manheim Auto Auction, Elizabethtown College, Masonic Village, and the community of Mount Joy. Vacationers will enjoy the Amish Country, thrills of Hersheypark, and easy access to Hollywood Casino! We also have discount tickets to many area attractions available at our front desk. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, all of our guests will enjoy our variety of well-appointed guest rooms, including triple queen suites,for larger families, and luxurious whirlpool suites for a relaxing or romantic getaway. Our staff will greet you with a warm welcome, and offer a good night's sleep at a reasonable price. Our free, deluxe Continental breakfast has plenty of variety to start your morning, and now also includes a selection of hot foods daily, as well as, warm cinnamon rolls, a variety of pastries, cereal, and much more! We are easy access from the PA Turnpike (I-76) and airport MDT, just off Rt. 283 at the Rheems/Elizabethtown exit. We'd love to have you stay with us, and we look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elizabethtown
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown
Elizabethtown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing