We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable room cost & friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabethtown
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reasonable room cost & friendly staff”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Chose hotel for it's convenience for a quick visit to Elizabethtown. Found it to be a good value, providing everything needed for my stay. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Plan to stay again next pass through town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckaugello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    44
    22
    15
    2
See reviews for
49
17
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Overall a decent place to stay. The room was bright and clean, the TV, fridge and mic were very functional and clean (fridge/mic). Beds were a little soft for my taste but ok for my daughter. Free breakfast was very good with a large selection of food. Staff was always present to clean, top off the coffee and food. All staff were vere pleasent.

Here are my concerns: The hallways reeked of fresh cigarette smoke no matter what time of day. The room itself smelled of sprayed air freshener..ostensibly to counteract the nasty hallway smell. The heater in the room (February visit) was very noisy. When we arrived we found out the the tiolet was clogged. I called the front desk and they said they'd be right up with a plunger. They were ideed fast! When I opened the door less than 5 minutes after calling, the staff member held out a plunger, said "here you go" and walked away leaving me to unclog the toilet.

Other than those four issues, our stay was pleasent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julyvaca33804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear julyvaca33804,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that our breakfast exceeded your expectations and you find our room bright and clean. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are happy you experienced it as such. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced and for the inconvenience the hallways and toilet may have caused. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and assure you that proper measures have been taken to ensure that there will not be a recurrence.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cambria, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I love this hotel. It's very clean with comfortable beds. The maid Jenn does a wonderful job keeping room nice :) I stay here while training for work. They offer hot tea and coffee all day/ night, and there's always snacks in the lobby. The only thing I did not like was the traffic noise this time. The highway was right outside my window, making it difficult yo sleep. Ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. Breakfast is also great, with great coffee :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I'm a priority club elite member and travel frequently. Nice facility very clean and I would stay there again. Staff is friendly helpful. Rooms are very clean and very basic. The fitness center is also very good for a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powerpackperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafferhie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at our property! We sincerely appreciate it! Please do not hesitate to contact us with any future lodging needs in our area. Have a wonderful day!

With warm regards,
Rose Shaffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012


The rooms were clean and people were pleasant. But the odor of cigarette smoke looms over every room and corridor no matter where you stay. Otherwise it's a decent short stay place. Parking is a bit limited due to the large trucks in the lot.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelz102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafferhie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Good Morning,
Thank you for your thoughtful comments on our property! We sincerely appreciate the feedback we receive from all of our guests. In response to the smoking currently allowed in some areas on property, this will be changed shortly. We will be converting to a smoke free property in 2013.

Again, I appreciate your comments, and I'm happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime! Have a wonderful day!

With warm regards,
Rose Shaffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
247 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

For $150 per night, this hotel was pretty barebones. Very nice employees, but nothing fancy. Small bathroom. It was an interesting combination of many amenities (newspaper, microwave, good TV, new towels, but it still had cheap construction and a noisy AC. Location is about 5 miles for downtown. Okay for good place to sleep.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank OpenToNewAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafferhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Good Morning,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate receiving feedback from our guests! I would like to take this time to inform you of a few upcoming changes to our hotel. We have recently added the LG HDTV 37" flatscreens, microwaves, and refrigerators to each guestroom. We have a continous plan to improve out guestroom decor and functionality to improve our guests experience and modernize each guestroom. Please feel free to provide any additional feedback that you feel may aid this process. I can be reached directly at 717-367-4000 ext. 150. Thank you again for your comments, and have a wonderful day!

With warm regards,
Rose Shaffer
General Manager

P.S. Our rates vary by seasons, time of year and special events. I see you travelled on business. Please feel free to inform my front desk of this should you need to visit our area again. We may have a negotiated rate with your business. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was put at the Holiday Inn Express during a recent trip to do some speaking in Elizabethtown. This hotel is not near anything and has an upkeep that is going downhill. The coffee machine in my room had used packets that had begun to grow hairy mold all over them, the hallway smelled of heavy smoke, and the bathroom and little chunks of stuff that would float up from the drain in the tub when you would shower.

The bed was clean, hard but clean. The air conditioner did not work efficiently, was exceedingly loud and let out a screech.

I am at a loss for how this hotel get decent reviews because I love Tripadvisor, but I think what has happened is management or something has changed...this hotel literally stinks.

The staff were friendly, but so is everyone you meet in town.

My recommendation is to stay outside of Elizabethtown proper and drive from one of the nearby better hotels.

And although I wasn't paying I saw that they charged my providers 189 a night for this room....A HUGE RIP OFF.

Room Tip: Go down the road even if out of town a little. Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICHermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafferhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for the feedback you provided. We sincerely appreciate receiving feedback from our guests, and we value your opinions. It's guests like you that provide your opinions to help us improve our property and services. I apologize for the poor experience you had with our property, and I have reviewed this with my management team and staff. I am excited to inform you that we have just been approved to become a smoke free hotel. We will be converting to non smoking in early 2013!

In reference to the room rate, during your stay was a special event. Our rates vary by seaon and we have a few special events each year in which the rates vary.

I would like to invite you to contact me directly so I may discuss your recent stay at our hotel. If you would like to contact me, I may be reached directly at 717-367-4000 ext. 150.

Thank you again for your feedback! Have a wonderful day!

With warm regards,
Rose Shaffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elizabethtown hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 7 in Manheim
65 reviews
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#4 of 7 in Manheim
638 reviews
7.9 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
304 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
Address: 147 Merts Dr, Elizabethtown, PA 17022-8803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re traveling for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania (Hershey Area) is the ideal place to be in PA! Our hotel is located betweenHarrisburg, Hershey and Lancaster.. Corporate business travelers will value our free high-speed Internet, as well as our close proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport (MDT), Manheim Auto Auction, Elizabethtown College, Masonic Village, and the community of Mount Joy. Vacationers will enjoy the Amish Country, thrills of Hersheypark, and easy access to Hollywood Casino! We also have discount tickets to many area attractions available at our front desk. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, all of our guests will enjoy our variety of well-appointed guest rooms, including triple queen suites,for larger families, and luxurious whirlpool suites for a relaxing or romantic getaway. Our staff will greet you with a warm welcome, and offer a good night's sleep at a reasonable price. Our free, deluxe Continental breakfast has plenty of variety to start your morning, and now also includes a selection of hot foods daily, as well as, warm cinnamon rolls, a variety of pastries, cereal, and much more! We are easy access from the PA Turnpike (I-76) and airport MDT, just off Rt. 283 at the Rheems/Elizabethtown exit. We'd love to have you stay with us, and we look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elizabethtown
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown
Elizabethtown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing