We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Country Inn”
Review of Carts Bog Inn

Carts Bog Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Real fires welcome you to a beautiful old fashioned bar and restaurant
Although meals are pricey they are home cooked and tempting.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank brookfiftynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 483 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Excellent value for money, local produce well cooked beautifully presented if anything portions too large. Very friendly service and will definitely be back. Also dog friendly. I could not find fault.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

After a run out in the Northumberland countryside we arrived at The Carts Bog Inn around 2pm. There were a few people eating so we looked at the menu and both decided to opt for the gammon which arrived with pineapple and the most perfect fried egg and chips. It was clean plates all round. The staff were very friendly. It was a chilly day so we sat pretty near the log burner. We would definetly come back again.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

This is an atmospheric inn with a "buzz". Visited with two others and we were all more than satisfied with our meal. The young staff were extremely busy but remained professional and efficient. If, like us, you don't have a massive appetite and want to try the Carts Bog steak pie, ask for half a pie - they will willingly do this for you.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

We visited the Carts Bog for the first time a few weeks ago, recommended by a friend. The food was excellent, my steak and mushroom pie, friend's slow cooked lamb shank - fabulous and not a small portion. Large variety of drinks and cosy atmosphere. Would recommend this to anyone and will certainly be calling again. Thank you.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suejen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carts Bog Inn also viewed

 
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Carts Bog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing