We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langley Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Berriew, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in room 22 - Castleview suite. Langley castle was chosen as we wanted to explore the Northhumberland countryside . We travelled the coastline of Northumberland to Holy Island, walked parts of Hadrians Wall, visited Kielder Waters and lots of touring around the area
. Our room was wonderful - spacious, view of castle and the tariff was fully justified. The food was all delicious. The staff were very helpful , really enjoyed the castle tour, the young man Aiden giving the tour made the history of castle so interesting. There was something very special about this castle hotel- enchanting , friendly and relaxed. We have stayed in many 4 star hotels but we felt that we had made an excellent choice choosing this hotel and really recommend you try it for yourself.

Room Tip: The castle rooms are quite dark but the castle view rooms are lovely and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pritchards1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Pritchards - Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay to explore Northumberland - The Castle is a perfect base for exploring Hadrian's Wall, The Northumberland coastline and Holy Island - We even have a structured series of what we call "Three Millennia Tours" with experiences covering roman, medieval and modern times - Please see our web site for details - I would thank you for your kind comments regarding the accommodation, food and also the Battlement tour and I will pass these on to Aiden and the rest of the Team - I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Langley before too long - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    154
    63
    23
    14
See reviews for
183
674
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Wow - an amazing hotel. We stayed for 2 nights, a different room every night and they were both magnificent and luxurious. The only downside was that the drawing at the end of the evening was chilly, apart from that though we had a wonderful stay. I'd recommend going on the tour too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear HW - thank you for posting your review of your recent stay - The rooms in the main Castle are all so different and it can be great fun to try each one - The Battlement tour is a popular feature and allows our guests to get a fuller appreciation of the historical roots and the views of the Castle are lovely - Please keep an eye on our web site for upcoming special offers -Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Everything was top shelf. The rooms were royally appointed, super clean and comfortable. We had dinner there also; we all had the English lamb and were amazed at the tenderness and originality of the preparation. The afternoon tea was grand; just enough to see us through til dinner. The only complaint I had; the vodka martini I had was probably the worst one I have ever ordered. I understand most Brits aren't big cocktail drinkers, but a martini is pretty standard all around the world. Almost went to the bar to teach the young man how to make an American style martini. Breakfast the next morning was a real delight. There were fresh native strawberries, I believe from Kent. I believe we got the room through British Groupon, and it was a real steal for what we got. If I'm ever lucky enough to get back to Northumbria, I would go back again. We here in the states don't have the availability to stay in a 14th century castle, so it was a real delight. Oh yeah, the peacocks roaming the property are a great touch. Also when I went for a walk, there are bat houses on a couple of trees. I asked the man who was trimming the box hedges, if there were any bats yet. He said no, but they did have bats in the main tower and were hoping to attract more to the property. Good natural insect control. All on all, I was as pleased with Langley Castle as any resort in the Dominican or Mexico. We were treated with respect and friendliness.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Ricki - Thank you so very much for sharing your recent experience of Langley Castle - I am delighted to not your comments regarding the quality & cleanliness of the rooms and the quality of the food in the Restaurant - We do have a plenty of wildlife in the grounds and programmes to try and encourage the Red Squirrels, wild birds and Bats - I do hope you will be able to return to Langley - Best regards - Anton
P.S I have now shown the young man on the Bar how to do a proper Dry Martini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Castle is wonderful to look at, and on the inside it had some rustic feel - but also gimmicky statues. On arrival the individual at the front desk was cold, unresponsive, and made me feel as though I was not welcome. I should note she also did not fulfill the introductory package - although was later rectified by the girl who replaced her. The individual delivering the tour was not very enthusiastic and had a difficult time telling the story of the castle's history.

The Castle is quite proud of receiving an award for their food, which must be for the dinner and not breakfast. The breakfast tasted as though it was cooked 6 hours earlier and the 'deep fried toast' I kid you not spewed grease when pressed with a fork. No one at my table was able to finish their meal due to the quality of the meal - especially considering it was £15!

If you are looking to read a book or paint a picture this is the place for you. If you are seeking some sort of nature walking, activities, outdoors - then you are best travelling to other places.

The saving grace was the superior castle room view suite. It was quite spacious and luxurious. The cleaning staff were courteous, as was the wait staff at the restaurant.

Unfortunately, I am unable to recommend this establishment on any level.

Room Tip: Castleview Suites are nice, and can be quite romantic for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Matthew - I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Castle - We have worked very hard to offer high standards of food and service and would apologise if this was not the case during your visit. The receptionist you first encountered was on her 3rd day and still in process of being trained - I will investigate with Chef what happened regarding breakfast as this is far removed form the standards we usually achieve - I do take all comments (good and bad) very personally and I will take steps to ensure this is not allowed to be repeated. Thank you for brining this to my attention - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We thought the castle and its rooms absolutely wonderful. However, lack of training, attention to detail and plain old customer service to really let down the experience. We didn't receive a warm welcome, nor even someone to get the bags out of the car. When we got to the room. I found a dirty hanky in the drawer and a button on the floor that remained for our entire stay, which means vacuuming isn't up to scratch but bathrooms were spotless and that is so important. We chose to dine first evening but that was a bit of a farce. The owners of the property were in residence and were so busy taking up the staff's time for their own demands that guests missed out on any kind of service. We really loved the atmosphere and history of the property and the tour of the battlements and chapel were great but we probably wouldn't stay again as the service you would expect in a property of this calibre and price was just so absent. it is a shame as we really could see how fabulous it could be if some simple training and attention to detail could be instilled in all who worked there. One tall chap, who took all the orders in the restaurant, I cannot remember his name, was the only friendly exception.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Radcliffe room and it exceeded all expectations. Was a bit warm but airconditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Monika - I would like to thank you for posting your review of your stay. I am most concerned at some of the points raised. The usual comments we receive regarding the staff and their warmth of welcome and friendliness are so positive. I will certainly review the check list for housekeeping to ensure all aspects of hovering are actioned. There should not have been any lapse in our standards of service in the Restaurant. The owners of the Castle were indeed on one of their rare stays and they do have a huge interest in every aspect of the hotel - but this is to improve standards and certainly not to detract from them - If you felt this was the case then I would offer my genuine apologies for that. Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We got married here in 2014. Upon our first meeting for a wedding consultation at this venue, we met the general manager. He made us feel stupid, and overall I found him rude and pompous. He put us off to a certain degree. However, we decided to return and met another of the wedding managers and she saved the sale and we booked. Every time we have had meetings we have been very lucky and never seen the general manager again (we met all the other wedding managers through various appointments and they are all brilliant). We did however receive a phone call from him regarding the rooms that were on hold against our name (standard for wedding bookings) wanting us to release them (earlier than when we had to). While I have no problem with this request, the manner in which he spoke to me I found very rude and was very offended. I have a friend who got married here who thought he was brilliant, so I would recommend (if you have a similar first experience to us) not letting one person put you off and return to see someone different.

Our wedding was brilliant. The venue is amazing, the timings run very smoothly (which is great - nothing worse than being sat at the wedding breakfast still waiting to be fed an hour and a half after you were supposed to be), the food is excellent and a good portion size, and the staff on the day were very friendly, helpful and attentive. The cost of drinks is also in the more reasonable band for a wedding venue. Enjoyed breakfast the next morning though my hubby would have liked more cooked breakfast (he did not ask for more so I'm sure they would not have objected, but can't say for definite). I would recommend the venue to anyone for a wedding. The total cost of the venue was also the cheapest quote we received when compared to other venues in the area (we selected a comparative menu when doing costings - obviously depends what you select as to the price). It is also worth noting that the end bill was less than we had estimated.

Couple of things to be wary of if you are considering Langley as a venue. Firstly, the cost of the rooms are way overpriced. The castle rooms are amazing, but not worth the £250-£280 per night price tag that comes with them (we have stayed in a lot of 4* and 5* hotels in various countries and never paid anywhere near these prices and got significantly more for our money). Disability access is a bit naff; service lift is available but is not obvious. No card payments accepted at the bar which is also a bit inconvenient. None of these things put us off, but we did consider them before booking.

If you are getting married, we recommend you go and view Langley castle.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the castle the Radcliffe or Greenwich are tad best rooms in our opinion. Castl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelbLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear SelbLou - Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review regarding your wedding - I am truly delighted that you enjoyed the occasion and would thank you for you kind comments. We do try to offer value for money and I know that our overall "package" compares very favourably with other venues. On a personal note if I caused you any offence when we met I would offer my unreserved apologies. This is out of character for me and would never wish to cause upset to anyone. In saying that I am delighted that your wedding was a complete success - Best wishes for your future happiness - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TF9 3QW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I don't recognise this hotel as the Langley Castle that we stayed in from some of the gushing reviews. our experience was not four star.
Imposing and impressive castle, but unfortunately that's all that was memorable. The grounds were alive with rabbits, hence no flowers or variety other than lawn. Inside the flowers were not real. the dark castle rooms were made worse by dark fabric everywhere. The furniture in the lounge was shabby. The meals were nothing better than average, my steak was very dry. The place is overpriced for what it provided. The staff were very good but battling against the odds. One you've done the "staying in a castle" thing this place has little else to recommend it.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherpaJCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear SherpaJCB - Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at the Castle. The grounds are predominantly brush mown lawns and woodland - but we do have a number of planting and flower beds with shrubs, flowering bushes and border plants. We also have banks of Rhododendron which were in flower during your stay, with swathes of vibrant purple and scarlet. The Drawing room and main Castle I think is well maintained and the colour schemes are appropriate for a genuine Castle. I am concerned regarding your comments of the food and will look into this. The steaks should be succulent and juicy and would offer my apologies if this had been over cooked. Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley-on-Tyne
13.5 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
9.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
9.2 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Castle Hotel

Property: Langley Castle Hotel
Address: Hexham, Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham NE47 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Langley-on-Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Genuine 14th Century Fortified Castle, In Its Own Woodland Estate. All Rooms In The Castle Have Private Facilities, Four Poster Beds, Window Seats Set Into 7ft Thick Walls. Some Rooms Have Private “Features” Such As A Sauna, Semi-Sunken Bath, Double Air-Bath, Open Fireplaces.Castleview, Within The Grounds, Offers An Additional 18 Rooms, All With Private Facilities, And Wonderfull Views Upto The Castle.The Magnificent Drawing Room With Blazing Log Fire, compliments The Intimate Josephine Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Langley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langley Castle
Langley Castle Hexham
Castle Langley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing