We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning venue, wonderful food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langley Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just had a wedding here. It is the most stunningly beautiful venue, perfect for a romantic wedding. Set in gorgeous mature grounds with peacocks roaming around. It is a restored medieval castle, with thick stone walls and leaded windows, absolutely beautiful. The rooms are sumptuous, although expensive but worth it for a once in a lifetime event. The food was absolutely fantastic, the best we have ever had at a wedding. The lamb just fell off the bone and there was plenty of it. The waiting staff were very nice.
Can't fault the place but unfortunately the manager and one of the reception staff were abrupt to the point of rudeness, which was a shame as it was the only downside, on an otherwise perfect location. Visitors should be aware that there are a lot of stairs up to the bridal suite on the top floor and reception room, as there is no visitor lift except the service lift. There is no pool or fitness centre.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Castle View Lodge are cheaper than the rooms in the castle and were very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyebridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

943 - 949 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed at Langley Castle recently. A truly memorable experience. The castle is magnificent, set in beautiful grounds.
The staff couldn't have been nicer. We were treated to a tour of the battlements after breakfast. The bedroom (in main building) was amazing, steeped in history and tradition. Modern touches were discreet.
Evening meal served in wonderful surroundings, was of the highest quality as was the service.
I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main castle building which has 9 rooms, I'm not sure about disabled access as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skydiver1751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here with our 4 year old daughter in the derwentwater room which I would highly recommend. Although I get the feeling it isn't really a children's hotel, we were made to feel welcome. It was a fascinating stay, liked reading up and hearing from staff the history of the castle, that gives it a unique touch. It's not massive which means the stay felt intimate. It is tastefully furnished and was everything I was looking for in a castle hotel - intimate, cosy, authentic, lovely grounds. It is pretty pricey but would be great to stay here for a week! The dinner was excellent with attentive service. The lounge area is lovely and it had a couple of great window nooks to snuggle into and have a drink. This castle would be an ideal place for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Derwentwater was fabulous, great 4 poster bed, window feature area, bathroom luxurious. It's nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at this beautiful hotel. We stayed in a superior castle view room which was beautiful and to be honest I feel that during the summer months it is a better choice as you can sit outside your room overlooking the castle, whereas if you have a castle room there is no outside space. The staff were very good, attentive but not obtrusive. The food in the restaurant in the evening was excellent. The only negative was that I feel that the hotel should provide better quality pillows. The ones in our room were not good at all and looked quite cheap. However, this was the only negative during a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alallbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I didn't get the chance to stay over at Langley Castle during this visit to the North East (husband coudn't get time off work) but my sister and I took the kids for afternoon tea which was an absolute delight! Food was lovely and staff very friendly, nothing was a problem - the kids (youngest 5 yrs old) were totally accommodated. We all had a great visit and the kids were enchanted by this splendid castle. Many thanks to Elaine who always manages to make our visits just that little bit extra special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Approaching the castle had the wow! factor and entering the building didn't disappoint. Neither did the internal rooms, nor the friendliness/helpfulness of the staff. Food excellent and plentiful and we stayed in one of the rooms located adjacent to the hotel which was no problem. Car parking easy and plenty of sightseeing in the surrounding area. Would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillhendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Nice for a night - we stayed within the catle. Lovely atmosphere, room, dinner and breakfast. Would visit again for a romantic weekend. Not sure it felt like a family venue. Nothing much to do closely.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Selvy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley-on-Tyne
13.5 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,600 reviews
9.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
737 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
24 mi away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Castle Hotel

Address: Hexham, Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham NE47 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Langley-on-Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Price Range: $161 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Genuine 14th Century Fortified Castle, In Its Own Woodland Estate. All Rooms In The Castle Have Private Facilities, Four Poster Beds, Window Seats Set Into 7ft Thick Walls. Some Rooms Have Private “Features” Such As A Sauna, Semi-Sunken Bath, Double Air-Bath, Open Fireplaces.Castleview, Within The Grounds, Offers An Additional 18 Rooms, All With Private Facilities, And Wonderfull Views Upto The Castle.The Magnificent Drawing Room With Blazing Log Fire, compliments The Intimate Josephine Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Langley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langley Castle
Langley Castle Hexham
Castle Langley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing