We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak and ale pie in the world.”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Newbrough
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 30, 2019

In the middle of nowhere, after a long day walking we arrived in this awesome Pub/restaurant. It was the only one in the neighbourhood, or so it seemed. The menu was quite brief, but the food was great! Including the local beers. The price was actually quite reasonable keeping in mind we had a nice fresh meal and an awesome dessert. I will never forget this evening :)

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank JorenVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2019

Excellent dining at the Red Lion in Newbrough NE47 5AR
We found the Red Lion by accident, but what a find! we first ate there on Friday night but the food was so good we came back on Saturday and had a Sunday lunch on the Sunday! All of which were cooked to perfection. Thoroughly recommended for its cuisine and service.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank london1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

We have visited the Red Lion a number of times now, the welcome has always been friendly and the food consistently excellent, and the beers good too!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here one night whilst walking the Wall. This is definitely a pub for the locals seeming to be a natural meeting place for a drink at the end of the day, which I quite like. Room was comfortable enough. Breakfast was great. My evening meal was delicious although two of our party were not too sure about theirs.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019

Our party of 4 arrived at 13.30hrs. for pre-booked New Years Day lunch. Shown immediately to our reserved table near to warming log burner. Service was attentive by a very young boy who relaxed more as the meal continued. Beers and other drinks were of a good quality and the food was very good especially my Steak & Ale Pie, clearly home made and piping hot. Size of portions were adequate to our needs. A very pleasant way to start the New Year.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happyclappychappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
Humshaugh, Hexham
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing