We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“evening out with my friend”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Newbrough
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed December 5, 2018

small portions, tired veg - my friend said her meal was like a school dinner - poor quality - absolute rubbish

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank unlikelyfooligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 151 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2018 via mobile

Went to The Red Lion specifically due to the new vegetarian menu. The cauliflower buffalo wings were soggy and uncooked, with uncooked batter dripping all over the plate. The veggie pie and chips had gravy so thick and jelly like that it wouldn’t pour. All the vegetables were limp and cold. It was frozen food, reheated and awful. Other meat eaters in our party said the same about the burgers and scampi. Definitely wont be eating here again.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank sophlouell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Great menu. Great food. Great portions. Great feeling! Just what you might imagine in the English countryside

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pharming_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely substantial dinner here. We love our steaks and could actually afford one here - not only that but it was very good. Heaps of vegetables accompanied the steak and a very nice bearnaise sauce. Cooked just as we asked.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank RB5655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Went here for sunday lunch on the basis it was dog friendly. We were greeted & shown to our table in the bar, the food was excellent, beef was tender & cooked through properly, veg was also cooked till tender, not crunchy,
All together a very good meal we will be back soon

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jeep5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
Humshaugh, Hexham
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing