We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best restaurant in Quercy”

Restaurant La Truite Doree
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Vers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $49
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed November 28, 2018

Sadly back in Uk for a few weeks and so very much missing La Truite Dorée. My favourite restaurant in either England or France. On our last visit I had the best fish soup I have ever eaten. Please have it on your menu when you reopen in February.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank melitafrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Gérant at Restaurant La Truite Doree, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2018
Google Translation

Merci Melita F pour ce très bel avis. Pour information, la soupe de poisson avec sa garniture de rouille, pain grillé et ail est une de nos spécialité maison, elle y sera en février. Nous profitons de ces moments pour vous souhaiter de bonnes fêtes de fin d'année, et merci aussi pour la note.
Cordialement
Evelyne MARCENAC gérante de votre restaurant préféré. Quel bonheur !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 638 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

The food was simple, but good. The au gratin potatoes were particularly good. We were a bit overbilled here; charged for “plates” when some of us ate à la cart, but we still enjoyed the restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank SkipperBill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Gérant at Restaurant La Truite Doree, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2018
Google Translation

Merci SkipperBill2 pour votre avis que nous n'avons pas très bien compris mais comprenons que vous avez été très satisfait de notre restaurant. Merci pour la note et au plaisir de vous recevoir prochainement.
Evelyne MARCENAC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

This is that rarest of treasure -- a French restaurant one can truly recommend to visitors and friends.

The food is excellent. The service is excellent. The prices are reasonable.

This restaurant is convenient to the lovely and historical city of Cahors and the beautiful Lot and Cele valley.

I thank the friend who introduced me to this place, and since have taken friends of my own there.

I unreservedly recommend the La Truite Doree!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Genghizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Gérant at Restaurant La Truite Doree, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018
Google Translation

Merci Genghizz pour votre commentaire et la note formidable. Nous avons aimez vous lire et cela nous a fait chaud au cœur de lire autant de gentille attention à notre égard. Nous espérons vous revoir bientôt et sommes fiers d'être un restaurant dans la pure tradition française.
Evelyne MARCENAC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

Convenient to both the lovely and historical city of Cahors and the beautiful valleys of the Lot and Cele rivers, this restaurant is a true rarity -- a place I can honestly recommend to friends and visitors to the region.

The food is excellent, the service is excellent, the prices are reasonable.

I recommend it highly, and want to thank the friend who introduced me to this place. I have since returned with guests of my own.

Keep up the good work!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Gérant at Restaurant La Truite Doree, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018
Google Translation

Merci TD A pour votre commentaire et la superbe note. Nos vous remercions de conseiller notre établissement pour sa qualité des services "et son emplacement géographique entre ST CIRQ LAPOPIE et CAHORS.
Nous espérons vous recevoir bientôt en vallée du Lot.
Evelyne MARCENAC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

We heard about this restaurant while cruising the Lot River. We wandered up for lunch and we lucky to get a table for 6 as it was quite busy. Nice outside terrace. The food was top-notch and the service was very good. We returned for another great meal on our way back down to our home base.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JWMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Gérant at Restaurant La Truite Doree, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018
Google Translation

Merci JWMC pour votre commentaire et votre belle note. Nous sommes ravis que le voyage en France et en bateau sur la vallée du Lot vous ait comblé. Les cuisiniers sont ravis que vous ayez apprécier les bons petits plats, et que le service fût également à la hauteur.
Au plaisir de vous revoir à LA TRUITE DORÉE;

Evelyne MARCENAC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Truite Doree also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant La Truite Doree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing