We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful peaceful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Truite Doree
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vers
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful peaceful place”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have spent many holidays (summer, Easter and autumn) at La Truite Doree and have never been disappointed - a friendly, family-run hotel - typically French. The rooms are basic but clean - we love the balcony in connection with the room. Lovely to sit outside and enjoy the calming sound of the river. The restaurant is out of this world - great menu lots of regional food - fantastic quality and super friendly service.
We can highly recommend this place situated in one of the most beautiful areas in France.
Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    165
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
391
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have spent many holidays (summer, Easter and autumn) at La Truite Doree and have never been disappointed - a friendly, family-run hotel - typically French. The rooms are basic but clean - we love the balcony in connection with the room. Lovely to sit outside and enjoy the calming sound of the river. The restaurant is out of this world - great menu lots of regional food - fantastic quality and super friendly service.
We can highly recommend this place situated in one of the most beautiful areas in France.
Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A traditional French inn. Friendly, clean welcoming and a great place to use as a hiking base. The staff are great in helping out with French- but if does help to speak the language. The menu is regional and very good- and everybody was very willing to accommodate late risings or early meals.

Room Tip: Rooms by the river are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sion
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I went for dinner at the only open restaurant in Vers, and i have to say it was crowded, the food and service was excellent, pricing is good, service and food as well.
very nice location in that small village

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Located in an idyllic village a little way out of Cahors, this is the sort of small family run hotel where one dreams of staying in France but never quite finds. Its typically rural French, not trying to be smart or up market, and it has probably been run in much the same way for years, give or take the installation of Wifi. Certainly the very picturesque village cannot have changed much in the last 60 years, and it's very easy on the eye. If you ask for room with a view, you get one of the wonderful rooftops with the hill & cliffs behind, river in the foreground. Fantastic! Our room had been well modernised & was comfortable without being pretentious, with a lovely balcony. The restaurant serves a really good dinner with much local fare, and the family have organised it to run really efficiently and generously even when there is a rush at mealtimes. It's not Grande Cuisine, just great food! At the end of stay, the bill was delightfully small. As another reviewer has already pointed out, this shows TripAdvisor at its best - pointing us to a lovely hotel in an almost hidden location that one would never otherwise have found, or risked trying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterCreosote1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked for three nights on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed.

Most important - our bed was comfortable. Our room overlooking the river was very good although the shower room was a little idiosyncratic.

We had booked accommodation online, but were able to change to demi-pension; a good move as the restaurant and evening meals were of very high standard. Try the truffle omelette - well worth the 15 euro extra. Breakfast was typically french, which meant no muesli unfortunately.

Internet access is available if you have a laptop (a lead is provided), but sadly wifi for tablets is not provided. Compare this with a very similar hotel we visited a week later where each room had its own router.

We plan to visit again.

One word of caution - the TripAdvisor map suggests this hotel is in the middle of Cahors; it's not. It is in the village of Vers about 10 km east of Cahors on the river Lot.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nolabola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend and our dog, this was an over night stop on the way to the South of France.
This hotel is amazing! We thought that we had gone the wrong way during our arrival, it is slightly outside of Cahors, but keep going along the road and you will eventually come to the hotel (on your left if approaching from Cahors centre).
The hotel is in a stunning setting, in a beautiful village called Vers. There is a pretty river running right along side the hotel, which our dog played in (people were also paddling). All of the buildings in the village are absolute gorgeous, the hotel almost dominates it and is equally as gorgeous. There is a swimming pool with sun loungers, unfortunately we didn't get to use this, but there were a number of people using it, there is also a LOVELY restaurant, bar and the reception (in the bar). We were greeted by a friendly member of staff, she checked us in, showed us to our room, and made a reservation for us at dinner.
The room was so quaint! The walls are very thick stone because of the buildings are old, with lovely windows, and a beautiful view. Everything you need, nice big bathroom, towels, even little mints left for us. There are more expensive rooms that are set right on the river, I probably wouldn't pay the additional for one night, but if staying a little longer this would be considered, they also come with a balcony/terrace.
The restaurant was the best we ate in during our whole 10 day holiday!!! I definitely recommend eating here during your stay,however make sure you BOOK on arrival (or when you book the hotel) as it gets very busy with guests and locals. The choice on the menu is great, all food came quickly and piping hot (well not my boyfriends as he had steak tartar). We both had 3 courses and thoroughly enjoyed each one. The service was also excellent in the restaurant (again dog friendly). We sat outside on the terrace. The food was very reasonably priced as well, which made it all the more enjoyable!
In the morning breakfast is a buffet (extra, was not included in our room rate), this was also fab, lots of choice, take as much as you want etc.. As before great service at breakfast.
This hotel is a MUST for a stop over or a stay. We are now looking to return for more of an activity based holiday in Cahors (great for walking, canoeing, rock climbing etc), and we definitely want to stay in this hotel for at least a week!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahBWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vers
6.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
#1 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
978 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Les Gabarres
Hotel Les Gabarres
#2 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
181 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Divona Cahors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Chateau de Mercues
Chateau de Mercues
#1 of 1 in Mercues
331 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle
4.5 mi away
Hotel Les Falaises
Hotel Les Falaises
#1 of 1 in Bouzies
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Truite Doree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Truite Doree

Property: Hotel la Truite Doree
Address: rue de Labarre, 46090 Vers, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Vers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Truite Doree 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel la Truite Doree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing