We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Queens of the Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Megs and Mads - CLOSED

Megs and Mads
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Queens of the Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

A great restaurant experience. Now we know what our friends have been raving about. The food was wonderful. The service was terrific. Everyone was very friendly. Portions were plentiful. Great salads. Delicious main courses. I had the veal and it was very tender. The accompanying golden mashed potatoes were smooth and light. The spinach was seasoned perfectly. My wife's chicken was well prepared as was the accompanying risotto. We forced ourselves to have dessert and we were glad we did. And, the bread and garlic infused oil were very tasty. Unlike that well-known downtown Italian eatery, MeGs and MaDs doesn't charge for bread and it accepts reservations. Also, the "Restaurant Week" menu featured selections from the a la carte menu with normal portion sizes. So, MeGs and MaDs gave us an opportunity to sample their usual menu. We will return. Often! Casual atmosphere. Originally, this space was occupied by Youell's Oyster House. (I'm dating myself.) This restaurant is rated as #2 in Easton. Could easily be #1. And, unlike downtown, street parking is easy to find. MeGs and MaDs is the "King of the Hill" or, should we say "Queens of the Hill."

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TastyBake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    10
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“wonderful food + BYOB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

A meal for the four of us. Friendly, inviting and convenient. The special -cod,shrimp,mussels & clams in a very tasty broth made the difference.The salmon & duck entrees on the reg. menu were just as wonderful. The staff , owner /chef were very attentive and made the whole evening very special. Congratulations !!!!!!! The only problem I see is as more & more folks get to know this place the harder it will be to get in.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank springhollow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Megs + Mads = Magnificent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A group of 6 went here for my daughter's pre-graduation dinner. I was called a few days prior to confirm our reservation. It was a great choice. Appetizers we enjoyed were the escargot in puff pastry and an avocado/crabmeat salad - both of which were plentiful and delicious. Main courses were a crabcake with homemade potato chips - which were given rave reviews, prime rib and short ribs. The server was helpful and even offered us flutes for the champagne. The tables were very close together so my mother in law needed to change chairs so she could hear better as the noise level was high. It was a bit dark inside due to it's rustic feel. Very homey, comfortable and would go again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

It was another enjoyable meal at Megs and Mads. This restaurant exudes a warm, friendly and genuine feel. The service is attentive and pleasant, the food is excellent quality and the atmosphere is relaxing. The BYOB policy is terrific as you are able to bring an affordable bottle to enjoy with your meal. Our experiences at Megs and Mads have all been good. The food is prepared beautifully with perfectly balanced flavors. Ingredients are fresh. They prepare veal like no other....consistently tender, crispy and flavorful. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank retucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

You can easily miss this wonderful restaurant located on a residential block, but don't.
First, we love BYOB.
The appetizers and salad were fresh and served hot.
Two specials the night we visited were fantastic. Steak was done exactly as I requested.
They can accomodate dietary restrictions as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing