We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're not picky, then this is the place for you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
New York City, New York
1 review
“If you're not picky, then this is the place for you”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This motel is average and even though updated many parts are old and not clean looking. Noisy rooms because of proximity to roads, peeling wallpaper, stained ripped curtains, dirty chairs - one looked like someone really heavy stepped on it and broke the cushion, missing doorknob for adjoining room so made it extremely difficult to open to visit family next room, old popcorn next to bed frame due to poor vacuuming, the two double beds were relatively clean and comfy except for the loud metal springs creeking into your body, dark dirty carpet so better bring flip flops or keep your shoes on at all times (white socks will turn to black socks), small bathroom had low ceiling, dust filled exhaust fan, and dirt-attracting sticky white tile floor but excellent showerhead, and the outside sink had neverending supply of black mildew coming out of the faucet knobs (gross), free wifi did not work, and finally the sad looking gym and pool which we did not use because of the overwhelming steam heat and chlorine smell. Also quickly tired of the boring daily continental breakfast which consisted of fruit, 2 types cold cereal, toast, english muffins (watch out for the green mold spots), instant oatmeal, overly sweet muffins and juices not to mention the slimey chocolate donuts.
But the worse part was the occasional cigarette smoke smell eminating from the ventilation system almost every night of our stay and almost became unbearable since we are in a supposedly non-smoking room.
The only redeeming qualities are the flat panel tv, microwave/fridge in the rooms, 24 hr free coffee/tea in the lobby and friendly staff.
Um yeah, probably will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnEStroudsburg, Front Office Manager at Days Inn East Stroudsburg, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor. At Days Inn, we have every desire to address guest’s needs and provide them the best solution as soon as possible. We take all our guests comments seriously. It saddens me to read that you had a disappointing experience. On behalf of Days Inn team I do apologize for all that. Our goal is not only meet the need of each and every guest we serve, but also make your stay pleasant and comfortable as possible. We always keep supervisor on duty to inspect our property including lobby, pool and our rooms on regular basis and continue to do so to maintain our standards of quality of our Days Inn brand room furnishings for all of our guests. The complimentary continental breakfast we serve is also as per requirements of Days Inn’s Daybreak® Breakfast. We are currently working on the deep cleaning and updating of all the rooms. After finding the unsatisfactory condition of the room, we only wish you would have notified us of all these issues you may have had with your stay. I do hope that you will give us a second chance. Please contact me directly if you would like to come back and hope that we can have you stay again to experience Days Inn at its best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    141
    168
    143
    182
See reviews for
340
202
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 808 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We picked this hotel despite the mainly bad reviews as the rate was good and our main aim was to have a half decent bed for the night and somewhere with free parking. We landed at JKF Airport in the evening and were driving from there to Niagara Falls, which is a 9 hour drive. I did not want to drive all night what with landing in the evening. East Stroudsburg is a 2.5 hour drive from JFK so was an ideal stop off point to break up the journey.

We are happy to say the Days Inn offered a perfect resting point for us and our young children. It’s quite annoying when you read really bad reviews from people who pay really low rates through third parties; they clearly do not read the booking conditions before they confirm and then blame the hotel/ staff when this place is clearly not advertised as anything but an affordable hotel option?!

Check in was effortless and the staff greeted us with a nice welcome smile. (The same staff member also parted us with the same friendly smile when he checked us out in the early morning despite working all night).

Our room was everything we hoped for. A decent size, a nice hot powered shower, big (semi comfortable) beds, fairly priced vending machines to get a cold drink close by. The room also had a big fridge, a flat screen TV with cable. The room was clean and tidy though we must say the room and especially the bed linen felt damp. It was not so damp that it was uncomfortable but we certainly noticed getting into the bed that it was damp and felt and smelt (not too bad) of dampness. You have to remember the hotel however, is located near dense woodlands and all properties in the area would suffer from dampness in the humid conditions during the day to when the temperature drops at night. We also got the impression the room may not have been use for a couple of days which could have also been the cause over anything sinister. The room is part joined to the bathroom area (well wash sink) with only a small bath and toilet being closed off by another door. The rooms along the ground floor also face straight outside, which gaps under the door which will be factor to letting outside air in to create dampness.

I managed to get some sleep though the little ones had other ideas (they managed to sleep the whole flight from London) so enjoyed running around the spacious room.
We cannot comment about the breakfast as we checked out before it was served at 0700. Would have been nice if they could start it early; say 0600 to cater for those who are on the road and want to leave to get a head start on traffic. We also did not get to check out the pool or the fitness centre as we did not have time. They looked fine though.

This was a good stay for us and ideal for what we wanted and expected. We would stay again no worries.

x The Walsh Family x
-From England-

Room Tip: The hotel design is where the rooms are are accessed from outside. The nose of people walking past i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walshyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnEStroudsburg, Front Office Manager at Days Inn East Stroudsburg, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for your great comments and sharing your thoughts at Trip Advisor! We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I do not like this hotel aka MOTEL. The rooms are very outdated, staff is extremely slow when checking in. It took us 40 min to check in. Only 1 person was working.We stayed for a family reunion, and one of the 15 rooms were leaking. Front desk did not have any available rooms, so we had to stay in the room. When we asked for a refund, the next after being promised one from the MANAGER, the lady at the front desk was EXTREMELY rude and did not want to issue a refund. After 20min she finally did. My son also cut his foot on the bed frame that was sticking out. The only positive is the large indoor pool.I will never stay here again!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLady71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnEStroudsburg, Front Office Manager at Days Inn East Stroudsburg, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thanks you for taking the time to write this review regarding your experience at our location. We are extremely sorry that you were disappointed with the behavior of front desk clerk and lack of concern regarding this situation. As a guest, I know how I expect to be treated. We are truly sorry that we failed to provide you with our very best. Please accept our apologies. Due to heavy rain on the second night of your stay, there was leakage in the room. Due to full occupancy, we were not able to change your room but as a courtesy since you were inconvenienced, money was refunded for one night stay. Although your experience with us has not been a good one, we hope that you will offer us the opportunity to provide you with our hospitality on your next trip. We do apologize for all the inconvenience during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Stroudsburg hotels

Machias, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is NOT a family hotel at all. This is by far the most disgusting hotel I have ever seen. The 1st room they gave us had not been cleaned (pizza box, gabage full, dirt on the floor) but in their system it said "clean". I wanted my money back, but the hotel said they could not refund my money. The second room was just as gross, (blood on the bathroom wall), card keys did not work everytime, the pool area is dirty, gum stuck on the floor around the pool, and there is not one piece of safety equipement,( no hook, no ring) NOTHING! There is a bar attached to the lobby, where the continental breakfast is served, which we did not take part in, I just wanted to leave, and I was not going to take my daughter into a bar for breakfast! There was a broken window, that I noticed as soon as we pulled up. I wanted to sacrafice the $100.00 I had payed and sleep in my car, but it wasn't just me, I had my family with me( husband & 9 yr old daugher) Everyone be warned, this place is dirty and I felt as if it is rent by the hour hotel, if ya know what I mean! I contacted priceline.com and demanded a refund & the hotel said they would give me 15 % off a nights stay, I would NEVER stay at this hotel EVER again, even if were free!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnEStroudsburg, Front Office Manager at Days Inn East Stroudsburg, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule for sharing your thoughts with us on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your reservation was through travel web- a third party reservation with no cancellation policy. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We serve breakfast in the hall next to restaurant area which ends at 10:00pm, but restaurant with bar opens at 11:00 pm. We do have permanent safety pool signs ““No lifeguard on duty” displayed in the pool area, there is rings available for the kids, and also all the swimming pool depth markers are clearly marked. As your current stay was prepaid reservation and you were inconvenienced, we offered you 15% discount as a courtesy on your future stay. Again, I apologize for all the inconvenience you had during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Clean and affordable, we enjoyed the pool even in the rain and the restaurant was good too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtney c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnEStroudsburg, Front Office Manager at Days Inn East Stroudsburg, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you for your great comments! We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Good size refrigerator in the room. Very clean. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martins_and_Wards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnEStroudsburg, Front Office Manager at Days Inn East Stroudsburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you for your great comments and for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor ! We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you return in the near future.
Please contact me directly when you find yourself in East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania and I will ensure that your reservation is taken care of. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Castle, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

we checked in and it took forever. the room was a mile away it seemed. the place was dirty and un kept. beds horrible and bath was so small and moldy. we asked for better room. went to the mexican rest on site and it was run by indians who were hard to understand, very dirty. we were that disappointed that we didn't even sleep there, just left and drove home. Hotwire recommended this and would not refund our money, some deal! beware!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nenex03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnEStroudsburg, Front Office Manager at Days Inn East Stroudsburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
First, We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We sincerely apologize for the whole disappointing experience you had in the hotel. Not acceptable in any way at all. If you buy through a third-party discounting service, such as Expedia or hotwire, be aware that many reservations sold will have a no-refund policy. Appropriate action can be taken if reserved through hotel directly. But I would like to assure you that all matters raised are being dealt with to ensure that this kind of service is never repeated as we take all our guests comments seriously. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
1.4 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
242 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
1.9 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
103 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn East Stroudsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn East Stroudsburg

Property: Days Inn East Stroudsburg
Address: 838 Seven Bridge Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301-7942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn East Stroudsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Check-in time: 3:00PM *Check-out time: 11:00AM *Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges. *Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. *Other fees that may apply: Early check-in fee = USD 20.00 / Roll-away/Extra bed fee = USD 15.00 per day. The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees may not include tax and are subject to change. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn East Stroudsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn East Stroudsburg Hotel East Stroudsburg
Shannon Hotel East Stroudsburg
The Shannon Hotel
Shannon b&b
Shannon Inn Pa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing