We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great, Definitely Not A Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budget Inn & Suites
Newark, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not Great, Definitely Not A Value”
Reviewed January 2, 2006

First off, the rooms are hardly offered at a "budget" rate. Second, although the rooms are okay, the whole hotel stinks of smoke (and even in a nonsmoking room it's hard to avoid the pervasive stench). Also, the furniture and mattress in my room were functional, but both looked and felt kind of old. The restaurant is a joke, and very overpriced. For a real meal, try the Dansbury Depot, it's a couple miles away but the food and atmosphere are in a much higher league. Do not, I repeat, do not waste money on the breakfast offering at the restaurant. Finally, I thought it was a little creepy that the hotel is located next to a cemetery.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank pokey8001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    224
    86
    40
    33
See reviews for
213
195
41
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
maassluis, the netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2005

This hotel is perfect located, directly connected to Int. 80 and close by the Poconos.
The name is for sure not what you should suggest.
The service, food is above average.
The motel rooms are specious enough.

Try to get a package deal when applicable.
Its than absolutely worth the money.

Helpful?
4 Thank hanskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 13, 2005

The rooms looked a little bit old to us, but where clean and nice. You don't hear the interstate which is nearby. The complimentary breakfast was simple but good. The staff was very friendly. It is a go value for your money. There is a restaurant at the hotel, with a nice bar.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2005

We visited the Poconos for a long weekend and felt the Budget Motel was just what we needed for that weekend. We stayed in a non-smoking room in the back wing. It was clean and well maintained. Considering how cheap the room was, I was very impressed. It is easy to find and a great location because of the ease of finding everything in the Poconos based on I-80. Traffic in the Poconos can be horrible so it's proximity to I-80 is a definite PLUS. We visited Bushkill Falls and loved it. I'd suggest skipping the weekend breakfast buffett - the food was decent but even with the discount I thought the breakfast was overpriced. If you are stuck in the Poconos on a rainy weekend - Don't miss the Oddlot Outlet, my kids could have spent hours in there.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank islandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2005

The Budget Motel in East Stroudsburg, PA turned out to be the best part of our mini-vacation to the Pocanos. Located just across the border of PA/NJ, this motel exceeded our expectations, apart from the liberal smoking policy (more later).

I did a lot of research on places to stay before deciding on the Budget Motel. We were 2 adults traveling with a seven year old son. We did want a place where we could get a non-smoking room. For some reason, this seems to be a BIG problem wherever we have traveled outside of NY. The desk clerk allowed us to check in early and gave us a 10% voucher to the (overpriced) restaurant. We were assigned a room on the second floor on a nonsmoking wing. However, the hallway STUNK of cigarette smoke. In our room (very clean!) we found 2 nice double beds. The smell of smoke came under the door. It was kind of irritating, but many places in PA seem filled with smokers puffing away. The restaurant was filled with smokers from dinner time on, and you could smell it through out the motel.

Apart from the smoke, the motel was wonderful for us. If you don't mind being lodged near a graveyard, then this place could be the spot for you. They offered a free continental breakfast daily in the (clean) diningroom for all overnight guests. The breakfast consisted not only of the donuts/coffee/tea spread you see offered everywhere, but also toast, juice, assorted mini-muffins, fruit, oatmeal, cold cereals, mini bagels, maztoh, and (one day) hard boiled eggs.

In the lobby guests are able to help themselves to free coffee and tea 24 hours a day. We found ourselves saving a good deal of money just from this feature alone! Combined with the free breakfast, the Budget Motel was a very good deal for the three of us.

We paid about $64 a night, offseason. The traffic in the area is nightmare, and parts of Stroudsburg seemed very rundown, but East Stroudsburg seems like a better area to stay.

Our motel room had several problems (toilet ran a lot, our air conditioning unit blew a fuse) but the staff easily accommodated us and let us take the room next door (with a broken dead bolt).

In retrospect, off season, this motel was a good buy and a pretty nice place to stay. If you MUST have a non-smoking place to stay, keep out of PA. Come to NY where we actually enforce the policies. (I am not blaming the motel or staff, it is the way things work in PA).

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mrsjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 10, 2005

I took a chance staying here while we were driving back from Florida. I was just too tired to drive any more. I found the desk clerks helpful & friendly. The restaurant closed at 10 pm, but he got us food delivered to our room from elsewhere, since we were just too tired to drive anywhere. The roomos are nice size, very clean & comfortable. A nice complimentary continental we found better than most. We're making this a regular stop when traveling to and from home.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2004

My family stayed here after spending the day at Camelbeach Water Park. The motel is conveniently located off I-80, the rooms are immaculate, the staff is friendly and the continental breakfast was delicious (cereal, juice, toast, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit salad, coffee and tea).

Helpful?
6 Thank MaryAFairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
#6 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
734 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bartonsville Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn & Suites

Property: Budget Inn & Suites
Address: 320 Greentree Dr, Interstate 80 at Exit 308, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301-3102
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
112 Room & Suite, AAA Three Diamond Award winning property nestled in the heart of the Poconos. Ranked among the top 200 hotels nationally by Lodging Hospitality Magazine. Featuring The Roasted Tomato Restaurant with comfortable, modern lounge. All the amenities of a large scale hotel at reasonable prices. COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST MON-FRI ONLY. BIG BREAKFAST BUFFET SAT & SUN $8.95, ALL YOU CAN EAT, INCLUDING COFFIES AND JUICES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Budget Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel East Stroudsburg
Budget Inn And Suites
Budget Inn East Stroudsburg
Budget Inn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing