We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable value and comfort, and low-budget!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budget Inn & Suites
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This Budget Inn and Suites it is privately owned and is nothing like some other Budget Inns around the country. We stayed here for two days and nights in the Jacuzzi room with a five-month-old baby, and were surprised at how comfortable, clean, and spacious our room was, as well as the friendliness of the staff! The rooms are quiet, the beds are extremely comfortable, we had a fridge in our room, and the housekeeping was prompt and did an excellent job tidying the room and providing us with anything we needed. (Also AAA affiliated!) They have excellent coffee available 24/7 and a very nice breakfast. We are planning on coming back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meira Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Budget Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 647 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Made reservations 3 weeks in advance through AAA. Hotel cancelled without any notice. Just by coincidence, we called to verify...after much back and forth conversations, reservations were reinstated....Staff's response was " you had 10 reservations (which is not true, we had 2), so we cancelled." Truth of the matter is that they probably cancelled so they could re-rent the rooms at a higher price during Nascar. Instead of 2 queen beds non smoking that was reserved, they gave 2 double beds reserved for people with petsAT SAME PRICE , then after more phone calls, finally got 2 queen beds in the 200 section - which was updated. Hotel proudly advertised that the rooms were updated. BUT, the 2nd reservation for 1 queen bed was an absolute dump ....located in the 300 section, not updated, not attached to the main hotel, filthy carpets, stained ceiling tiles, ripped and dirty wall paper, peeling light fixtures, and an under blanket with holes and frayed edges; affectionately called the "ghetto" if you read earlier post. Had we known, we were in the ghetto room, we would have cancelled, except that it was Nascar weekend and absolutely nothing except $400 per night places were available when we arrived late at night. The space in 2nd Room with 1 queen bed had end tables on each side, and walls adjoining both end tables...talk about being squished in! and the view through the lopsided hung draperies was ground level, rear view of a parking lot, next to the hotel's noisy commercial washing machines and supply room which started making noise early AM. There was no door on the closet. Continental breakfast was not included, and their restaurant had limited food choices that were less than diner quality (and for advertising roasted tomatoes...we got 3 burnt grape size tomatoes on the salad...disgusting food which had to be sent back). I will download pictures.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nj123hazlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My group (3 families) booked three non-smoking double rooms in this hotel for one night 8/3/13. We arrived at around 2:00 p.m. to check in and were told that it would be at least an hour and a half before all the rooms were ready because they only had one housekeeper working.

We asked that the rooms be near each other and asked for the room numbers the desk clerk (wish I had gotten his name) stated he could not give us room numbers and asked us to return later.

We figured all was ok and went about a day in the Poconos. When we returned at 9:00 p.m. we were given room keys to three lower level exterior door rooms (think motel under the hotel). One room reeked of smoke, one room was dirty and the third room had someone else's luggage on the beds on beer bottles on the dresser. Just then two men came running up says "that's our room".

Needless to say we all would up in the lobby where an overwhelmed desk attendant told the family in the smoking room "we don't have any other rooms and there is no one to clean the room", she told my family (the occupied room) we should just bunk with the other families and the third family was also told "there is no one to clean the room".

The two men had overstayed and never checked out and the afternoon shift never checked or cleaned the room.

We asked why we were in the basement rooms in the first place considering we were the first to check in and the attendant said "I don't know I was not here". We asked why the rooms were not cleaned or checked for occupants she stated "I don't know I wasn't here".

We requested and received refunds for our rooms and left.

All the other hotels in the area were booked due to a NASCAR race so we could not go to another hotel. Luckily I have family that lives nearby and all of us crashed at their house
.

Room Tip: Best room is the one in another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuglugNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were looking for a moderately priced motel during a visit to nearby Camelbeach. Not only was the motel price fair, but they had discounts on tickets. They also gave us coupons for their restaurant as well. On the phone and in person, the staff were very professional and helpful. The room was nice and clean, with more amenities than I expected. The restaurant inside the motel was really quite good with fair prices and excellent service. The continental breakfast was also generous. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

booked 3 non-smoking rooms because of kids, 2 weeks in advance, enjoyed our vacation day and when we checked in, around 8 pm all mess break loose, no problem with check in procedure BUT.......when room 1 was opened, it doesn't only smell like smoke, the room was a bit foggy FROM SMOKE, after complaining, requesting to be transferred, this front desk lady told us, room is non-smoking, no more available and no more cleaning crew on site, room 2, carpet was a bit wet, i didn't understand why and the worst.......... room 3, WE GOT THE RM KEY!!!!, when room was opened, 8 pm previous guest who checked out, their BAGS were still on the bed!!!!... when we complained, front desk said, the guest on that room already checked out, the room should be empty..... front desk got no idea what's happening, why there still BAGS in the room.... to summarize, non-smoking room which feels like smoking booth, room with bags of check-out guests still in the room.... first and last lasting experience in this hotel... huge security lapses....... need to retrain some employees on customer service etiquette, the guy from front desk was ok, would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bukol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days during Race Weekend. Check in fine-friendly and helpful. Our room was ready when we arrived about 10:30 AM. We were on first floor which we thought would be good because this motel does not have an elevator however room was very dark. it was difficult to open the drapes since people would look right into the room. Room also had an odor that might have been from dampness. Maybe we would had better luck on a higher floor but not sure. Beds were way to soft for me and when we asked if any rooms had newer beds we were told they were all the same. If you like a firm mattress this might not be the place for you. When we left our room for the day Saturday our room had never been cleaned when we returned. Front desk offered an apology. One reason we stayed at the Budget Inn was because of the other reviews here which are usually quite dependable. We just didn't have the same experience. I'm not sure if I would stay here again......

Room Tip: Higher floors might be a better choice but please note there are no elevators if you have problems w...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaceFans24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I reserved a non-smoking suite for myself and 2 children. We arrived, had some problem parking and finding the lobby but our reservation was intact. When we entered the room, a blast of smoke odor overwhelmed us. Fortunately there was one other open room in the property. Unfortunately, we were cramped and I was compelled to share a bed with my child. It was better than dealing with a smoke provoked coughing fit or an ER visit. The staff responded OK but I would have expected a degree of embarrassment which was conspicuously absent. I have no idea how this property generated so many positive reviews it is contrary to our experience and the overall property construction. Small details like the bar soap which disintegrated into crumbles added to the frustrations. One off for value and two off for quality.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank JakeCincinnati99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAUL A, General Manager at Budget Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us all on Trip Advisor. We do apologize for the inconvenience and truly feel sorry for your having to move rooms. With our property being almost exclusively smoke free, we continually monitor all areas for clean air using chemical free Rainbow Air Ionizers on every floor. Again, thank you for letting us know and we do apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
12.3 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,460 reviews
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Poconos Hotel
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Stroudsburg
Super 8 Stroudsburg
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn & Suites

Address: 320 Greentree Dr, Interstate 80 at Exit 308, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301-3102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range: $70 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
112 Room & Suite, AAA Three Diamond Award winning property nestled in the heart of the Poconos. Ranked among the top 200 hotels nationally by Lodging Hospitality Magazine. Featuring The Roasted Tomato Restaurant with comfortable, modern lounge. All the amenities of a large scale hotel at reasonable prices. COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST MON-FRI ONLY. BIG BREAKFAST BUFFET SAT & SUN $8.95, ALL YOU CAN EAT, INCLUDING COFFIES AND JUICES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Budget Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel East Stroudsburg
Budget Inn And Suites
Budget Inn East Stroudsburg
Budget Inn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing