We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nasty front desk lady, Bags of check-out guest still in the room at 8pm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Budget Inn & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nasty front desk lady, Bags of check-out guest still in the room at 8pm”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

booked 3 non-smoking rooms because of kids, 2 weeks in advance, enjoyed our vacation day and when we checked in, around 8 pm all mess break loose, no problem with check in procedure BUT.......when room 1 was opened, it doesn't only smell like smoke, the room was a bit foggy FROM SMOKE, after complaining, requesting to be transferred, this front desk lady told us, room is non-smoking, no more available and no more cleaning crew on site, room 2, carpet was a bit wet, i didn't understand why and the worst.......... room 3, WE GOT THE RM KEY!!!!, when room was opened, 8 pm previous guest who checked out, their BAGS were still on the bed!!!!... when we complained, front desk said, the guest on that room already checked out, the room should be empty..... front desk got no idea what's happening, why there still BAGS in the room.... to summarize, non-smoking room which feels like smoking booth, room with bags of check-out guests still in the room.... first and last lasting experience in this hotel... huge security lapses....... need to retrain some employees on customer service etiquette, the guy from front desk was ok, would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bukol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    222
    83
    40
    30
See reviews for
209
190
41
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cohoes, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days during Race Weekend. Check in fine-friendly and helpful. Our room was ready when we arrived about 10:30 AM. We were on first floor which we thought would be good because this motel does not have an elevator however room was very dark. it was difficult to open the drapes since people would look right into the room. Room also had an odor that might have been from dampness. Maybe we would had better luck on a higher floor but not sure. Beds were way to soft for me and when we asked if any rooms had newer beds we were told they were all the same. If you like a firm mattress this might not be the place for you. When we left our room for the day Saturday our room had never been cleaned when we returned. Front desk offered an apology. One reason we stayed at the Budget Inn was because of the other reviews here which are usually quite dependable. We just didn't have the same experience. I'm not sure if I would stay here again......

Room Tip: Higher floors might be a better choice but please note there are no elevators if you have problems w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaceFans24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I reserved a non-smoking suite for myself and 2 children. We arrived, had some problem parking and finding the lobby but our reservation was intact. When we entered the room, a blast of smoke odor overwhelmed us. Fortunately there was one other open room in the property. Unfortunately, we were cramped and I was compelled to share a bed with my child. It was better than dealing with a smoke provoked coughing fit or an ER visit. The staff responded OK but I would have expected a degree of embarrassment which was conspicuously absent. I have no idea how this property generated so many positive reviews it is contrary to our experience and the overall property construction. Small details like the bar soap which disintegrated into crumbles added to the frustrations. One off for value and two off for quality.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JakeCincinnati99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAUL A, General Manager at Budget Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us all on Trip Advisor. We do apologize for the inconvenience and truly feel sorry for your having to move rooms. With our property being almost exclusively smoke free, we continually monitor all areas for clean air using chemical free Rainbow Air Ionizers on every floor. Again, thank you for letting us know and we do apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just got back today from a 4 day stay in the Poconos, our 2nd trip there this year. In March we stayed at a different hotel and paid double the price. I was hesitant to stay at Budget because the price was so low but it kept getting good reviews. Then my co-worker told me she stays here all the time and loves it. Well, we had a great experience there this week. We arrived early (11:30) figuring our room wouldn't be ready but it was! Seeing the room I was very happy as it was completely updated and very nice. We found it extremely clean throughout the hotel and the staff was more than helpful. One morning our car battery was dead and the maintenance man was at our car in 5 mins giving us a jump start. Housekeeping was very quick bringing us extra pillows. They have a breakfast buffet on Sat/Sun that you pay for- $8.99 if you're a hotel guest. It was delicious. We are real foodies and go for quality over quantity and everything was home made. The french toast had powdered sugar on it, the biscuits were just made that morning. They had scrambled eggs made with real eggs, not powdered like many hotels use. The weekdays they just do a continental breakfast for free but again, it was nice, not large but nice. Biscuits, sausage gravy, fruit, hardboiled eggs, cereals.The owner stopped by to say hello (family owned and operated) and asked if we booked directly through the hotel or through a site like Expedia. I actually used Expedia for the 1st time and told him. He said he would meet any price they have if we call the hotel direct. Nice to know! I feel more comfortable dealing with the hotel directly. This will now be our hotel when we visit. Overall a wonderful experience and felt like the staff really cared, as did the owner. If there was anything I would change about the hotel, my husband did miss a pool, but that's just the one thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillAl1571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This one of the best hotels I have stayed it. My mother had traveled from Va to Pa. We started in Lancaster and then decided to explore the Poconos! I made reservation on the phone with information with from the internet. The young lady was very helpful and I was impressed with the quick and avalibility of the handicapped accessible room! The room was AWESOME....bathroom was completely ADA approved! Such a blessing to me for the safety of my mother. Beds were comfortable, room had table area and two queen beds! Breakfast was VERY impressive!! Hot, plentiful and had an attendent that was very helpful!! If we ever travel that way again, we will stay her again!!! Thanks for the memories made in comfort!

Room Tip: If you are in need of Handicapped room, as for room 413!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 757travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAUL A, General Manager at Budget Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
....and THANK YOU for being our guest. It's always a pleasure to be of service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

i was so pleased to stay at the budget inn in pa this one was so comfortable,clean and the continental breakfast was not only the best the pesentation of set up was great thank you for a wonderful stay and to ron the owner thanks for saying hello.

Room Tip: close to breakfast area it is so good get in early efore it is gone.quiet hotel,clean and friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfantacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bartonsville Poconos
1.4 mi away
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
#6 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn & Suites

Property: Budget Inn & Suites
Address: 320 Greentree Dr, Interstate 80 at Exit 308, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301-3102
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
112 Room & Suite, AAA Three Diamond Award winning property nestled in the heart of the Poconos. Ranked among the top 200 hotels nationally by Lodging Hospitality Magazine. Featuring The Roasted Tomato Restaurant with comfortable, modern lounge. All the amenities of a large scale hotel at reasonable prices. COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST MON-FRI ONLY. BIG BREAKFAST BUFFET SAT & SUN $8.95, ALL YOU CAN EAT, INCLUDING COFFIES AND JUICES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel East Stroudsburg
Budget Inn And Suites
Budget Inn East Stroudsburg
Budget Inn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing