We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be a gem in the poconos, but no longer”

Ichiban Oriental Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Used to be a gem in the poconos, but no longer”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was looking forward to having my meal here during my visit in the Poconos, only to be disappointed once the food came out.

Yes, the presentation was nice, but once you put the food to your mouth, it is horrible. I ordered brocolli and rice and the brocolli was not seasoned and made me want to throw up. How could you go wrong with brocolli?

I also ordered sushi and did not enjoy that either.

I've eaten here in the past and LOVED everything about this place, but now that they are under new management, they need to step up their game.

Unfortunately, I will have to find a new asian restaurant to dine in.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwinParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    3
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Mass
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good chinese food”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Didn't try the Sushi but the chinese dishes we were taty and the food was good quality. Great hot & sour soup. Made some nice noodle soup for my wife when she asked. Was a return visit after a prior great wolf visit and will eat here again when we come back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PackaBagJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Japanese Gem in the Poconos”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Absolutely loved it. The sushi was excellent and so was the Hibatchi grill. The outside looks a bit questionable but the food makes up for everything that is lacking. The service and show was outstanding. I enjoyed this restaurant and would go back again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yummy sushi”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Never ate in, but my takeout sushi was absolutely awesome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qwest2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't Waste your money..”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Ok, so if you're hungry for Chinese, don't go here....Sesame Chicken was grainy & chewy...BBQ Ribs seemed like they were cooked days ago...definitely not "fall off the bone"....rice also tasted like re-heater...terrible, never again....and it was prime dinner hour

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1foodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Oriental Restaurant also viewed

Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Bartonsville, Pocono Mountains Region
Shawnee on Delaware, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Ichiban Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing