We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and expensive”
Review of Fernwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fernwood Resort
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible and expensive”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

As we pulled up to the check in building, my daughter and I both asked aloud, "Are we in the ghetto?" Overall, everything at the resort was disgusting from the accomodations to the food to the service. Light bulbs were out all over the villa. Overall, we were very disappointed. We were up in the Poconos for a quick trip for New Years. I will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawnh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with your stay and for the concerns you reported in your comments, I only wish you had made your displeasure known to us so that we may have addressed or relocated you to another villa that would have been more to your liking. I can assure you that I have referred the villa to our Quality Assurance Team for a thorough inspection and I will investigate why these issues were not addressed prior to the villa being released for check in.

The check in area that you are referring to is owned and operated by Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center which is separate from the Fernwood Resort and The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway.

We are continuously working to improve our resort and hope you will have an opportunity to visit again and see the changes.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    54
    57
    62
    125
See reviews for
170
65
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We took my three young daughters on a winter fun weekend. It was my middle daughter's 6th birthday present. We had booked a 2 bedroom villa and snow tubing passes at Fernwood. The price was reasonable and the online pictures of the villas and resort amenities were attractive. I unfortunately did not read reviews before booking! The moment we pulled into the resort, I knew we had made a mistake. The reception building and surrounding buildings were completely run-down. Our villa was the same. It was completely dilapidated!! The furniture was in satisfactory shape but the structure itself was awful for the price. There was splintering cabinets and molding, filthy peeling caulk and grout, stained carpeting, old and poor quality TV's with only one ancient DVD player, missing closet handles and cracked window panes. I could go on. My husband went down to reception and asked for an updated villa, stating that "this is not what was pictured online". He pulled up the online pictures and the clerk responded "oh that is a mistake, that is a picture of our 3 bedroom villas." They did send housekeeping to inspect the unit but it wasn't a housekeeping issue. They gave us 2 keys to other villas to move to but they were in the exact same condition as the one we were in. We decided to stay and make the best of it. We had already wasted 2 hours of our daughter's birthday complaining, which is something we had NEVER done before! We had made a reservation at the villas for June 2014, that we will be canceling. We tried to cancel it at check-out and were told that we had to call!! The online presentation of Fernwood Villa's is misleading. I also did not appreciate the carnival type games at the base of the snow tubing hill complete with aggressive vendors. I came to enjoy nature in a mountain setting not traveling balloon dart games and cotton candy for sale!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank christen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
First, please allow me to apologize for your dissatisfaction during your recent stay. We are continuously working on improving the resort from not only our own observations but also the valuable feedback we obtain from our guests. Our goal is to provide total guest satisfaction.

The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway check in desk is located at the Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center, which is separately owned and operated from the Fernwood Resort. The Hotel is currently under renovations, and I would like to apologize for their appearance on their behalf.

I have contacted our Quality Assurance Team so that a thorough inspection can be completed with regard to the problems you listed in the villa in which you and your family stayed. These items should indeed have been noted and corrected prior to the unit being released for check-in.

Our website shows pictures of all the villas that we have on the Resort, however when booking a specific villa type it also shows the villa layout that is being booked. I do apologize if that was misleading in any way.

I have shared your comments regarding the vendors from the Carnival with our Director of Recreation, so that she may discuss them with the appropriate Carnival personnel. I’m sorry that you and your family were not able to enjoy the magic of the Winter Carnival.

I would also like to take this moment to reassure you that the current direction of the property is a positive one. The owners continue to make improvements property wide, which includes a villa improvement program.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Stroudsburg hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This resort has great potential. The golf course is absolutely great and generally speaking the grounds and landscaping is good. However, the units are very spotty. Some are good and have been refurbished and others very run down and dirty. The first unit we were given was disgusting with filthy carpets, broken stove, miniscule fridge and in a general state of decay. We asked for another unit at the check in and we could tell the desk clerk was not pleased with our request and was barely polite. We were given another unit in Treetops area and beside the golf course (hole #13). This unit was much better. A little run down and with one huge stain on the carpet but otherwise in reasonable condition. I would recommend you check out your assigned unit before you accept it as some are good and some should be condemned. However, the prices were very reasonable compared with other resorts so all-in-all it was OK, especially after we had moved into the other unit.
This resort does need a major overhaul and the check in area by the hotel is chaotic. The area is lovely though and lots of scenery to enjoy. You get what you pay for and if you want 5 star accommodation I would recommend you stay at the Marriott instead and pay the higher prices.

Room Tip: ask to see your room before you accept it as some are in very poor condition and others are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
First and foremost, please allow me to apologize for all frustrations encountered while with us. I was disappointed to hear of the concerns that you had made mention of regarding the first villa you were assigned to at check in.

We appreciate feedback from our guests and use it to our advantage. We are striving daily to improve our guests overall vacationing experience. I have passed your comments along to the Department Heads to try and determine the first villa, as well as the villa in which you stayed in to, make certain the concerns you have mentioned have been taken care of. And also to investigate as to why they were not addressed prior to your arrival.

I would also like to reassure you that the current direction of the property is a positive one. We have made significant improvements property wide and this plan of action will continue into the coming years.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Beautiful family environment and plenty of activities. Wish they had Free Wifi, that would be great specially for a big family. The location is great lots of shopping and affordable prices, the staff is generous and courteous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marlon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Our staff works diligently to ensure each guest enjoys every moment while with us. We are pleased we were able to succeed in making your trip to the Fernwood Resort and The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway a great one.

The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway does offer comfortable villas with a wide range of activities for guests of all ages. Our Resort is located in the heart of the Pocono Mountains, which makes everything easily accessible.

The high speed Wi-Fi services at Fernwood Resort are provided by AT&T, one of the nation’s largest providers of wireless connectivity in the hospitality industry. Fernwood selected AT&T as one of the few providers with the capabilities to provide signal to over 900 accommodation units spread over 440 acres. Our guests contract directly with AT&T in order to access Wi-Fi while on property. We do hope that we will some day be able to bring this service “in-house” and have more control over any connection charges involved.

We hope to see you again to make your next getaway as enjoyable as your last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Extremely rundown. Path leading up to our "villa" reeked of cat urine. The rugs in the rooms were stained. The water had an unusual odor. The hair dryer didn't work. One toilet barely flushed. The bottoms of just about every door appeared to be chewed on. Oh yeah, the highlight of this nightmare was the roach running across the kitchen counter. Wouldn't stay there again if it was free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nyrhky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I sincerely apologize that you had a less than desirable stay at our resort. I only wish you had reached out to our Front Desk or Guest Services Director during your stay, as they would have been more than happy to relocate you to another villa to ensure you had a most enjoyable stay.

Since your stay in October we have completed many enhancements property wide as well as upgrades to villas. We are continually working on plans to address the continued growth and success of our resort. It is my sincere hope that in the future you will have the opportunity to experience the difference.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice mountain resort , my 1 bedroom apt was preety new . If it would be more updated,ceramic floors , no wall paper ,ect . It would be excellent !
The stuff is very helpful !
The pool water was very cold thought !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocodoina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Our staff works diligently to ensure each guest enjoys every moment while with us. We are pleased we were able to succeed in making your trip to the Fernwood Resort and The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway a great one.

Guest feedback is very important to us and we do indeed value our guests input and concerns. We have made significant improvements property wide and will continue to do so that we can accommodate our guests to the fullest.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We recently attended the Elvis Festival at the Fernwood. This dump should be torn down. A large crowd and only two filthy toilets for women, one for men (which did not have a lock on the door).. No hot water in the washrooms. Absolutely deplorable conditions for a crowd of about 300-400 people. Tried the washrooms in the main lobby of the hotel and they were not much better - old corroding taps, again with either no water or hot water. Never try to drink water out of any of these taps. In the event center, insulation was peeling off the walls (asbestos?). Uncomfortable steel folding chairs where one had to sit for 4-6 hours during performances. This hotel and centre should lose their licence - it cannot be healthy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernwood1, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
This review is for Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center, which is separately owned and operated from the Fernwood Resort and The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway. TripAdvisor has been notified of the incorrect posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
3.3 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
9.7 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
635 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
244 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
1.9 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Property: Fernwood Resort
Address: 2157 River Road, 5785 Milford Rd., East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400-Acre Pocono Mountain Resort located adjacent to the Delwaware Water Gap National Recreation Area offering one and two bedroom fully appointed villa rentals. Four seasons of activities include Blue and White Lightning all season tubing, Pocono TreeVentures aerial ropes course, Pocono Zip Racer dual 1,000 ft racing zip lines, Fernwood Golf Course 18 hole par 71 golf, Edge of the Woods Outfitters with canoeing on the scenic Delaware River, year-round horseback riding, bumper boats, Wintergreens Patio Grill with live entertainment and summer theme nights, massage, mini golf, video game area, Destination Earth Paintball, skiing at nearby Shawnee and Camelback Mountains, water park packages with Camelbeach, shopping at The Crossings Premium Outlets and hiking at Bushkill Falls - the Niagara of Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Pa
Fernwood Resort Bushkill
Fernwood Hotel Bushkill
Bushkill Fernwood Hotel Resort
Fernwood Bushkill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing