We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“treetops villas”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Fernwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fernwood Resort
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“treetops villas”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

rooms dirty rugs smell needs upgread left a day early went with family under oven dead ants need new shower heads toilet smells told family stay one more day no way my son said.moildings need painting furture needs changing very old

Room Tip: very dirty dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I would like to genuinely apologize for your stay being sub par. I have shared this review with our Manager of Housekeeping so that she may discuss your concerns with the staff.
The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway strive to offer excellent customer service so when a guest leaves feeling like they did not it is upsetting. Thank you very much for reviewing our resort and bringing this issue to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    57
    62
    122
See reviews for
167
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've been going to the Fernwood Resort for almost 8 years all ready. The location is a quick commute from the Jersey Shore offering many winter amenities such as Snowboarding, Skiing, snow tubing, etc. We stayed in the 2 Bedroom villa that slept 6 people. It was a nice and cozy unit. There were a couple of things in the unit that seemed dated, But overall It's a great layout for families or a group of friends. Only complaint was you could hear people running around and walking up and down stairs in the unites next door, but that was only a minor disturbance. The on site snow tubing was also very fun and we enjoyed karaoke and drinks/food at Bleachers, the on site Bar and restaurant. We didn't get a chance to use the pool or fitness center but have in the past and they were nice. Everything you need is in close proximity and we certainly plan on coming back in the future. Staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABaczkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I am so glad that you have enjoyed our property enough to return year after year! Our location, as you mentioned, is conveniently nestled in the heart of the Pocono Mountains, which makes it easily accessible to the tri-state area. I am also happy to hear that you took advantage of some of our amenities and entertainment options on property and enjoyed them. Thank you very much for reviewing our resort and we hope to see you again next year to continue your getaway tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodlynne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I + kids had a wonderful time this past weekend!!! We stayed for the first time at Fairway which is a 2bedroom unit + loft a unit that sleeps six!! We had plenty of space and staff was great!! We also like that they provided a trolley service for on ground activities--reminded us of Disney..The most important part of our trip was, THE KIDS were HAPPY!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAJIA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We love hearing positive feedback. The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway have a history of making families smile. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and that our trolley service was convenient for your family. We hope to see you again soon so we can make your next adventure a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Horrible experience! We stayed in a tree top villa which was "non smoking". When we walked through the door, the room stunk like cigarette smoke. It was embedded in the room. The room itself looks like it hasn't been updated since 1970. The bed was the worst. The worst part was that the heat broke in the middle of the night. We woke up freezing with a 40 degree room. My fiancé was sick when we went and this made her even worse. Trying to get a manager to speak to you is impossible. We love skiing and Shawnee is one of our new favorite places but we will not be coming back here. I actually got a call from the front desk asking me if we wanted to sit through a sales pitch about purchasing a unit and they would give me 2 free nights. I laughed at her. Are you kidding me? Nobody's buying these pieces of junk. I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I would like to apologize for your stay being less then par. It upsets me to respond to reviews such as yours because our resort prides itself on excellent service.

I do see where you were supposed to be contacted and I will personally see to it that you receive a phone call.

Thank you very much for brining this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Stroudsburg hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is the first bad review I have ever written for trip advisor.
1. The place is a mob scene
2. The walls are paper thin
3. It's filthy (toothpaste on the sink,ring in the toilet , someone's old mascara on the sheets
4. No remote for the tv
5. The restaurants close at 10
6. The hotel is in a diff building than the pool
7. There is one lady working check in
8. Broken things all around the resort

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
This review is for Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center, which is separately owned and operated from the Fernwood Resort and The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway. TripAdvisor has been notified of the incorrect posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for a day when I was at the Pocono's with family for snow tubing and hiking. Its a very average hotel. The only advantage is this property has a snow tubing facility and Shawnee Mountain Ski Area is within 3 miles. The rooms are very old and carpets are worn out. There are a few dining options withing 3 miles of this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
This review is for Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center, which is separately owned and operated from the Fernwood Resort and The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway. TripAdvisor has been notified of the incorrect posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Mass.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I don't understand the gripes of the folks posting here. This is a modestly priced resort and it is a good value for the money. We rented a villa and it was just fine. We enjoyed the jacuzzi, the three televisions, the well stocked kitchen and the cozy furnishings. We didn't pay for or expect the Ritz! I am wondering about the expectation level of the folks posting here. If you want a deluxe resort, pay for it. There are plenty of places that will charge you $400 plus a night.
If you want an affordable, reasonable place to stay that is within your budget so that you can enjoy time with your loved ones, this would be it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AllisonST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for giving The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway resort a review. I am glad that you enjoyed our accommodations. We like our villas to be a comfortable place to rest with all of the necessities of home.

Feed back is always appreciated and we hope to see you on your next getaway to offer another lovely experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
3.3 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
8.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
1.9 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Property: Fernwood Resort
Address: 2157 River Road, 5785 Milford Rd., East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400-Acre Pocono Mountain Resort located adjacent to the Delwaware Water Gap National Recreation Area offering one and two bedroom fully appointed villa rentals. Four seasons of activities include Blue and White Lightning all season tubing, Pocono TreeVentures aerial ropes course, Pocono Zip Racer dual 1,000 ft racing zip lines, Fernwood Golf Course 18 hole par 71 golf, Edge of the Woods Outfitters with canoeing on the scenic Delaware River, year-round horseback riding, bumper boats, Wintergreens Patio Grill with live entertainment and summer theme nights, massage, mini golf, video game area, Destination Earth Paintball, skiing at nearby Shawnee and Camelback Mountains, water park packages with Camelbeach, shopping at The Crossings Premium Outlets and hiking at Bushkill Falls - the Niagara of Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Pa
Fernwood Resort Bushkill
Fernwood Hotel Bushkill
Bushkill Fernwood Hotel Resort
Fernwood Bushkill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing