We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HoneyMooners love the staff at the Fernwood!!”
Review of Fernwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fernwood Resort
Alburtis, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HoneyMooners love the staff at the Fernwood!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went on a honeymoon during Labor Day weakened. We wanted to go somewhere close so we tried Bushkill falls. My husband had booked a few months early so we got a great deal on a suite with a heart shaped tub. When we got there it was sooooo busy. The incredible Assistant Front desk Manager, Jenn had a smile on her face from the day we walked into the resort until we left. She had personally gone out of her way on several occasions to make sure we were taken care of. When we checked into our room it had a few issues we wanted to let the staff be aware of and when we went down to the front desk Jenn took it upon herself to move us to a new room (without any hesitation or resistance) She personally asked us to hold on one minute while she ran into the other building to personally check the room to make sure that it was to her standard (she especially wanted to make sure we were happy on our honeymoon) As she ran across the resort. Allyson (the Front desk manager) took it upon herself to come over and apologize for any problems or inconvenience and got us a gift certificate for dinner (which was very good) Instead of her looking away because the problem was taken care of she took it upon herself to talk with us, apologize, and try to make our stay better.
As we were out she also had Champagne and Glasses sent to our room to make our stay even better! Jenn and Allyson smiled and stopped to greet us every time we walked by. They went out of their way to get to know us on a personal level and always asked us how everything was going. They honestly cared about us and the other people who stayed at the hotel! To give you an example of how busy they were when were there (over 100 people checked out on Monday) however, they gave us such incredible customer service it made everything awesome!

We also met Jacob in charge of the Big Daddy’s BBQ. We ate dinner there while we waited to check in. Our meal was ok however, we ordered the same meal and got different cuts of the brisket (mine was not dry to the bone, like I’m used to) it wasn’t undercooked, it was actually very tender but the brisket I grew up with was always dry to the bone so I just switched with me husband. The waitress, Samantha, was very good about our concern when I asked about the cut of meat, she offered to get us something new and she took off 10% of dinner because of our concern (without us asking) We had mentioned this to Allyson and as we were walking by the front desk, later that night, the Kitchen Manager, Jacob, took it upon himself to personally come over and apologize for anything that had gone wrong, & was concerned about our experience that he asked us to come back the next day & bought us each an appetizer and dessert to thank us for giving them another try.

We had some setbacks to the start of our honeymoon(nothing serious just some concerns)and the staff went out of their way EVERYDAY to make sure our experience was wonderful. It was. After Labor Day they had even moved us to an incredible suite with a huge hot tub, sauna, king size bed, jaquizzi tub (could fit 5 people) pull out sofa, HUGE room!!

The Fern wood is being renovated and it is a process people have to remember. Their staff at every facility we went to was so accommodating and warm, they made this honeymoon into the best experience we have had in a LONG time. They told us all the hot spots to see, they got to know us, and continued to follow up with us and went out of their way to see how everything was going, every day they were there. And everything they had said they were going to do, they did!

We even met the Chief Operating Officer, Steve Bartlett, who went out of his way to talk to us about our experience and we wanted to tell him about the staff. We wanted to let him know with all the minor setbacks they didn’t even damper our "honeymoon high" once because his staff was so amazing they turned anything that could have made our trip a nightmare, into a memory that will stay fresh into our mind forever!! We will never forget any of the incredible people we met:
Allyson the Front desk manager-Friendliest manager I’ve ever met. She never shied away from any questions or problems anyone had. She always involved herself in every situation because she truly cared about what was going on all over the resort.
Jacob the Restaurant Manager-so friendly and personable and truly cares about his restaurant and staff
Jenn Assistant Front desk manger-Smiles every second you see here, it’s contagious!
Amanda (Group Sales)-she made sure our experience at the deli was great!
Samantha - server at BBQ
Amanda-Head of housekeeping, who made sure everything, was perfect in our rooms
Scott-From the villas check in-when we were in the lobby late night, he came to us and asked if we needed anything and he had got the potter right away to bring us some extra pillow (they were at our room within minutes of us)
Bartlett-Chief operating officer- sincerely cared about our experience and spent a good 20minutes walking and talking with us about everything, we wanted to share our experience with him and our feelings
Ashley-server/bartender has a warming smile from the minute you walk into the Pub until you leave
Sara, bartender- I have never seen a bartender that held down a full bar top and restaurant by themselves, without breaking a sweat and had a smile from beginning to end!! She was awesome!
Mike, in maintance- was always working and helping out, even when he was off the clock!
Everyone was incredible and made the experience the best ever!!! I wouldn’t change anything. Everyone just needs to remember they are renovating and if you ask nicely, or truly have any issue they will take care of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff here at Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center I would like to take the time to thank you and your husband for your stay as well as your beautiful review. As you noted we are currently in the midst of renovations and we are not by any means done. To date we have recently completed renovating the lobby of the hotel, 3 new restaurants, upgraded the outdoor pool, fitness center and currently we are in the process of restoring the Crystal Ballroom, refurbishing the event center, as well as the entire façade of the hotel is in the midst of a much needed face lift. As for the hotel rooms they are next on the extensive “to do” list. We have had several meetings with the room designer and the renovation is scheduled to begin this winter. We are very excited here that you too have found the charm in Fernwood and we hope to see you again in the future!
-Steve Bartlett Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    57
    62
    123
See reviews for
168
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First the elevator smelled and had what looked like vommit on the carpet. There was still coffee left in the pot when we got into our room. We book the couples suite which was the best room they said they had-room 351. The whirpool had grime on it, there was a dirty towel left on the sauna floor, the sheets had stains on it, the two chairs in the room had other stains on it and one was broken. I mean come on, but it was my fault for not reading the reviews. I got carried away by Fernwood online pictures. I learn my lesson, read the reviews before you book anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Metro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernwoodResort, Owner at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
This is a review for a property located across from Fernwood Resort that has been closed for over a year and is not affiliated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Stroudsburg hotels

Hockessin. DE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I took our daughter and grandson there for a couple of days. On the positive side, we did have a very good time being together and the floor plan for the villa was great but with just a little effort they could have made it fair to good rather than deplorable.

Things such as door knobs, screens, etc. were broken. White plastic bags of garbage were sitting on the grounds with no one apparently collecting them. The bathrooms were filthy and the towels were the lowest quality you could get. We opened the dishwasher and it smelled like sewage - very, very strongly - enough to make you sick. Too bad the screens were off some of the doors or we could have gotten rid of the odor faster! The fitted sheet on the bed upstairs was nowhere close to being queen size. I think it was a twin. There was no way it would fit on the bed.

We tried to reach the front desk by phone in villa several times while we were there for instructions for check out and no one answered ever! We tried to reach them on our way there to see about early check in and no one answered then either. They did however let us check in early which we appreciated. We were the only ones in the restaurant for lunch one day except for a table of relatives of someone that worked there and the service was extremely slow.

All this would have been tolerable but we were paying $199 for one night and $299 for the other. It was probably worth about $50 for each night.

It's really too bad because they could fix these things. They have a lovely setting but it sure needs lots of TLC! I would never go back at those prices!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hfhHockessin_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Vienna, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you love aging, run down, poorly maintained government housing, then this is the "resort" for you. After entering our "villa", we got back in our car to tour the rest of the area, hoping we just were in a bad spot. Unfortunately, the resort and its clientele did not improve. We returned to the office and requested our money back. Despite the stated policy of no refunds, our account was quickly and politely credited. We clearly were not the first customers to ask for a refund.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Svxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Villa's smelled like mildew, door knobs and dresser knobs falling off. Bathrooms always damp.
pool bathrooms so bad we had to walk back to our villa's.
A lot of the local attrations ie bumper boats, gocarts and the like close so early. There is nothing to do with the kids after dark.
PA.'s fanous Big Dady"s what joke! the place was empty my party of 7 waited 1 hour for diner and when it arrived everything was cold and my wifes salad was wilted, I would'nt feed it to a rabbit."Visit PA.com " Don't think so!!!! worst vacation we spent in years.

Room Tip: Stay as far away as possible !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Everyone we encountered from the resort staff was friendly and helpful up to the point that we had two bad rooms. The rooms were small, one smelled so bad we left the windows open in 90 degree heat to air it out, and both rooms were in poor repair. Peeling wallpaper, sticking doors with malfunctioning electronic locks, broken appliances (although the staff quickly replaced a broken coffee maker), and water problems with low cold water pressure and discolored water being the primary room complaints. Lots to do and good outdoor activities so if you can get past the room it is a fun place. We still enjoyed ourselves but can't recommend the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JusCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
First and Foremost I would like to thank you for your stay here at Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center. I would like to apologize on behalf of the entire Hotel and Convention Center for the unsatisfactory stay you had here with us. We understand that the hotel rooms are outdated. The hotel was recently purchased by new owners, and since this purchase we have done nothing but renovate and upgrade the entire facility piece by piece. We understand this takes time and we hope our customers do as well. We have recently completed renovating the lobby of the hotel, 3 new restaurants, upgraded the outdoor pool, fitness center and currently we are in the process of restoring the Crystal Ballroom, refurbishing the event center, as well as the entire façade of the hotel is in the midst of a much needed face lift. As for the hotel rooms they are next on the extensive “to do” list. We have had several meetings with the room designer, and renovations will begin in about a month. We ask you to stay with us again you will not be dissapointed.
-Steve Bartlett Chief Operation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawcatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Myself and two of my friends just got home from a 4 night stay here. We stayed in a studio villa. The pictures on the website do not represent the place at all. Our room was from about the 1980s it looked like, smelled like smoke and was damp, the beds were hard but the room was very clean and everything worked well, the whirlpool tub was very nice. We called for 2 pillows and an extra blanket at 10pm and it didn't come until the next day after we left at 10am. The pool areas were rundown and dirty and the overrun by people that you might think you would see at a ymca not at a resort. the pool attendants were very friendly. The golf was very very nice and by far the best part of the entire stay. The oddest part were the fernwood security people, there was one in a rundown old police car that must have thought he was a US Marshal, one night while at the pool he comes pushing through the door with his gun tucked into his pants and a badge on his belt looked around and the got back in his car and speed away. later though out the trip we would see this large shaved head man in weird spots like he was stakeout. Over all it is a place to sleep with real good AC but not a resort at all and in need of a major renovation.

Room Tip: I don't know the villas is where we stayed and the hotel looked like something from a bad movie
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
3.3 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
8.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
242 reviews
9.7 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,413 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,011 reviews
15.2 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Property: Fernwood Resort
Address: 2157 River Road, 5785 Milford Rd., East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400-Acre Pocono Mountain Resort located adjacent to the Delwaware Water Gap National Recreation Area offering one and two bedroom fully appointed villa rentals. Four seasons of activities include Blue and White Lightning all season tubing, Pocono TreeVentures aerial ropes course, Pocono Zip Racer dual 1,000 ft racing zip lines, Fernwood Golf Course 18 hole par 71 golf, Edge of the Woods Outfitters with canoeing on the scenic Delaware River, year-round horseback riding, bumper boats, Wintergreens Patio Grill with live entertainment and summer theme nights, massage, mini golf, video game area, Destination Earth Paintball, skiing at nearby Shawnee and Camelback Mountains, water park packages with Camelbeach, shopping at The Crossings Premium Outlets and hiking at Bushkill Falls - the Niagara of Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Pa
Fernwood Resort Bushkill
Fernwood Hotel Bushkill
Bushkill Fernwood Hotel Resort
Fernwood Bushkill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing