We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, but still had fun.”
Review of Fernwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fernwood Resort
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We just returned today from a one week trip to the Fernwood/Fairway/Treetop Resort. We are RCI owners at another resort and traded for this week because it was closer than our other place. I read all the reviews and came with an open mind.

We stayed in one of the Fairway Villas, 2BR 2 1/12 Bath. I loved the set up with the Master BR downstairs and the other bedroom up. One thing that is very apparent is the place is a little shabby and run down. The furniture was worn and did have a few holes in it but it was clean. The carpet was clean, not worn and no holes. The kitchen was very nicely set up with everything we needed. Everything was in working order and nothing broke down. One thing I did not like was the smoke smell we encountered when we first entered the villa. I do not know if the housekeeping staff was smoking there before we came in but it was very strong. We aired the place out for a few hours and it was fine after that. All in all, the villa was OK but it just has that general feeling of shabbiness. It is in dire need of updating and refreshing. I also with there was another TV in the upstairs bedroom, but it was not a big deal for us.

About the resort itself, I have almost no complaints. The area is really beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The trolley driver was an especially nice lady. We swam at three of the pools and they were all in good order and clean, with the exception of the hotel pool bathroom/changing was a bit dirty, but I am sure it sees alot of use.

The game room/arcade across from the front desk is HUGE. My son could have spent all day there but I did not come with an endless supply of quarters. We did play on the playground near the hotel and the one at Valley Station was especially nice. There are nice trails all around the property that we took advantage of as well. The ice cream social at the Activity Central was a bargin. 3 very large scoops of ice cream with your choice of the works for only $2 per person was great.

Our trip was overall an enjoyable one. If you are a large family and looking to spend most of your time out of your villa and you are not looking for luxury accomodations that this place should work for you. If you like peace and quiet, try to get a villa not close the main road (209) as it can get very noisy. The ones near the creek looked very quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEREDITH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Fernwood Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 324 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

First let me begin by saying that I am not a huge complainer nor do I nitpick about every little thing. I merely call it like I see it. My boyfriend and I stayed at the Fernwood Hotel and were unfortunately very dissatisfied. We booked the Bushkill Falls couples suite package & called ahead to see if we were able to get the AAA discount which we were told yes and let them know we would be arriving early in the afternoon to pick up the falls tickets so that we could use them the day we arrived. Upon our arrival we were told that the tickets were not at the front desk and maybe we should just go the following day. We were somewhat surprised by that rude statement but little did we know we were in for many more surprises. We explained that we wanted to visit the falls that day because we were only staying one night and it was forecast to rain the next day. We were told that we should go to our room and wait for a call when the tickets arrived from another office. We were pleased that although we checked in early we were able to get a room right away (that is until we settled into the room) and that although the tickets weren’t already available upon arrival we did get the call to pick them up fairly quickly. The room appeared to be what most average motel rooms usually are. The room itself was reasonably large but outdated and musty. We decided to air out the room and sit outside on the balcony. Turns out there was no screen for the door and if we left it open for fresh air bugs flew in.
Later when we attempted to fill the whirlpool tub the water that came out of the faucet was black as was the water in the toilet, sink and shower! We let the gentleman at the front desk know and he merely shrugged and said the pipes are old and it happens all the time! He never offered to move us to a new room or compensate us in any way. The water in the shower was not as black after it ran for a few minutes but to our frustration it was ice cold and never got hot. To top it off the little shampoo bottle in the bathroom had clearly already been used. When it was time to go to bed the mattress was fairly old and uncomfortable resulting in very little sleep.
At check-out we mentioned the problems with the water to the girl at the desk and she had the same cavalier attitude as the man from the day before. Not only did she not attempt to compensate us in any way but also refused to grant us the AAA discount we were told we would receive! Unfortunately since our trip was booked last minute I had not read the reviews prior to booking. Many of the responses by the customer service managers to reviews on tripadvisor say: “I sincerely apologize that you had a less than desirable stay at our resort. I only wish you had reached out to our Front Desk or Guest Services Director during your stay, as we could have addressed all of your concerns at that time to ensure you had a most enjoyable stay.” Well I did reach out to the front desk staff and they did not in anyway ensure an enjoyable stay or even apologize. A response to a bad review is too little too late. They claim the issues listed are not their usual standard and will be addressed and yet negative review after review with the same issues are a reoccurring theme.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AuroraSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernwoodResort, Owner at Fernwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2015

This is a review for a property located across from Fernwood Resort that has been closed for over a year and is not affiliated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

fernwood is still back in the 80's the t.v are the old and the furniture look's like its from my grandmother house i paid 645.00 for 3yr. for a 2br. villa that looks like trash and 5o.oo cleaning fee bull###

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had the best time! 20 adults and 22 kids from 6-16 had an outstanding time! The staff was courteous, professional and took care of all the details. There wasn't a complaint to be had by anyone. We had a large party so Noelle encouraged us to begin at 10 sharp. THANK YOU NOELLE! We had the slopes to ourselves and the 2 hour bash ended with a private party at a banquet room at Fernwood (thank you Becky)! Fernwood management and staff are amazing and made my son's 12th birthday party a memorable experience!

Room Tip: If you experience any concerns, simply contact management. They do care about customer satisfaction.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Razzy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

thats really all i have to say.... next time i will check for online reviews before i stay at a place... we found a cockroach in the bathroom. and now i just got home and should be relaxing, but i have to go through every bit of clothing and everything that was in the room, and bring outside, and shake out, just in case.... i got a full refund on both my rooms. they need to tear that place down to the ground, and build a new one .... gross!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I rented a 1 bedroom villa with my 15 year old son. The unit was spacious and all rooms (including the kitchen and bathrooms) appeared to be clean. The towels and sheets looked and smelled freshly washed. The kitchen was fully appointed. Most of the unfavorable reviews seem to be about the rooms in the actual hotel itself (in which I have never stayed). I would recommend booking a villa and maybe trying to get one of the higher number units (ours was 6145). Those units appeared to be at the end of the resort and also appeared to be less dated than most of the reviews I have read. We didn't encounter any unwanted 'friends' (i.e. bugs or rodents). My son slept in the bed which he stated was very comfortable. I used the pull out bed in the living room which was as comfortable as could be expected for that type of bed. The location of the villa was quiet and peaceful. Further, it had a wonderful view of the mountains. It certainly does not have five star accomodations, but for the price it was a nice mini trip. Lola at the front desk was awesome (professional, courteous and friendly). We had a bit of an issue with our card keys which Mr. Jenkins (one of the maintenance crew) quickly resolved for us. Mr. Jenkins was also professional, courteous and friendly.

Room Tip: I would recommend renting a villa with a higher number unit at the end of the complex. Our villa num...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I booked this trip to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday. Photos of the resort looked great couldn't wait. Staff was friendly, but the room was awful. Carpeting was torn in places. Furniture was banged up and broken. The jacuzzi heart shaped tub was gross. Tiles around the tub were broken and loose. Bed was very uncomfortable. Luckily we had other things in the area to do to make up for the room. All around I don't think they are putting any money back into their property. Which for as much as they charge for the room you would think they could repair some things,

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernwoodResort, Owner at Fernwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2015

This is a review for a property located across the street from Fernwood Resort that is not affiliated and has been closed for over a year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
3.3 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
17.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,460 reviews
9.7 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
250 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
1.9 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Address: 2157 River Road, 5785 Milford Rd., East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range: $101 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400-Acre Pocono Mountain Resort located adjacent to the Delwaware Water Gap National Recreation Area offering one and two bedroom fully appointed villa rentals. Four seasons of activities include Blue and White Lightning all season tubing, Pocono TreeVentures aerial ropes course, Pocono Zip Racer dual 1,000 ft racing zip lines, Fernwood Golf Course 18 hole par 71 golf, Edge of the Woods Outfitters with canoeing on the scenic Delaware River, year-round horseback riding, bumper boats, Wintergreens Patio Grill with live entertainment and summer theme nights, massage, mini golf, video game area, Destination Earth Paintball, skiing at nearby Shawnee and Camelback Mountains, water park packages with Camelbeach, shopping at The Crossings Premium Outlets and hiking at Bushkill Falls - the Niagara of Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Pa
Fernwood Resort Bushkill
Fernwood Hotel Bushkill
Bushkill Fernwood Hotel Resort
Fernwood Bushkill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing