We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying here...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deerfield Health Retreat and Spa
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed 10 days and had a wonderful time. Lost 9 lbs in 10 days...Went hiking almost everyday. Hikes were rated from easy to difficult. All of the staff and guests were wonderful. I enjoyed the food and had favorites that I would choose. I did buy my own bottled water and my own organic fruit. The classes were excellent and I tried each one of them. You can get discouts if you look for specials. I would go back again. The rooms were good and the place was clean.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms without a private bath if you have any type of sleeping or bathroom issues. R...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Deerfield Health Retreat and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 101 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

What a great place. I was looking for a trip for my birthday and I wanted to go to a spa but not just to lounge around. I came across Deerfield and it was just what I was looking for. I wanted something with nice scenery, comfortable and that would be great for me health and pocket wise. Deerfield was perfect. I choose the 10-day special and I am so glad I did. The food, the exercise and the staff totally met and exceeded my expectations. You have the choice to totally relax and do nothing or you can really make this place work for you. I took advantage of the exercise classes while I was there and came home 13.5 lbs lighter! NO JOKE! and enjoyed every minute of it. I felt good and slept well the whole time I was there.

The guests and the staff are a hoot. Everyone is so welcoming. Some of the guests have been coming for years and some, like me, were first timers. My mother met me there and we had a ball. We were so comfortable that when we were sitting in either of our rooms we felt like we were upstairs at a family member or friend's house. One guest played the piano and I ran and grabbed my flute and we had great time singing and playing. I even had leisurely evenings in the lounge working on a puzzle. My mother booked her return trip before she left. We traded a lot of numbers and e-mails and have already been in touch with a lot of folks we met there.

I had 3 massages, Swedish, Hot Stone and Lomi Lomi, while I was there and with all the exercise they were welcomed and did the job. Cynthia was so nice, gives a great massage and also did my eyebrows. It has been so hard for me to find someone to do them correctly and she is a real pro. I did most of my exercise classes with Cyndi and she is a real gem and super encouraging. The chef did a great job and the wait staff, Adam and Keith, are the best! I got a kick out of making them laugh. Deerfield in not in the least pretentious but their wait staff is super professional, very polished and highly accommodating and they learn your name very quickly.

The only thing I missed while I was there was not being able to get a manicure on site. I did stop and get one just a short distance from Deerfield. That is the only thing I can think of that I would change. If there was something else, it wasn't a big deal since I can't seem to remember anything else now. I really liked my room, housekeeping respects how you have things arranged and I honestly was never distracted or really aware of the road noise others write about. I was a happy camper all around and even went antiquing one day in town.

I would travel here alone and I would be totally comfortable, they really look out for you. Joan is great and when she hugs you at the end of your stay you know it is genuine. I will return for my birthday next year as well and I am really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I just returned. I don't understand all the negative reviews but understood the reviews after being subjected to people who would complain about not having something to complain about. . It's very affordable but don't expect Canyon Ranch. Do expect a very clean place with really good food..friendly staff, knowledgable trainers. I went alone and it turned out better than I expected. A few people who I met want to come back together because we had such a good time.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper call and ask for a room not facing the street. My only complaint.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have been to this spa several times in the past but this was my first visit for a few years. When I arrived I immediately felt as though I had come home.The entire staff is very caring and all of them are good at what they do. Although it is true that Deerfield could use some updating in several areas, the guest rooms and public spaces are well maintained and the food was more creative than I remembered. However I was glad I had brought my own caffeinated tea bags and sea salt. Sea salt grinders are available in the dining room but you have to ask. They were running a special, 10 days for the price of a week with a $210 credit towards spa services, so I feel I got a good deal and all the benefit of staying longer, which I had always hoped to do one day. I took lots of different classes and went on a couple of hikes I met some friendly and interesting people and was able to relax, lose some weight and get more fit. There is not that much to do at night, and the few things scheduled were pretty low-key, but I did not go there looking for entertainment or nightlife. One evening we had bingo, on another night there was a nutrition lecture, some nights there is an evening yoga class, every Thursday night there is a cooking demonstration, and one evening there was a dance party where we learned swing and merengue and had a great time. Also, many of us scheduled our spa services in the evening. Tired from a day of working out, I was mostly happy to read, relax and watch the flat screen TV in my comfy room if nothing else was going on. This spa not a luxury resort, it's a comfortable place where you can relax, work out, get a good massage, facial or body treatment and eat healthy food while meeting new people and maybe learn something new about how to stay healthy and fit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have been going to Deerfield for 16+ years now and I LOVE it! It is nice and small (intimate)so you never are lost in the crowd. The food is healthy, portion controlled, and WONDERFUL! The classes are great and such a variety. I started coming for the hiking as it is my favorite exercise - I go in the fall as it is beautiful then. The instructors and staff are great - talented and personable. The price is a great value and since it is short drive from NYC - a wonderful retreat for all. We call it our "adult sleep away camp". If you go try to take advantage of one of the 10 day specials (10 days for the price of 7) - this is the best deal! Plus when you go for 10 days you really feel the stress relief and the pounds come off. Wish I could go more often than once a year.

Room Tip: You have choice of annex rooms (separate from main house) or rooms in main house. I like the main h...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eldeedee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I've just returned from another wonderful visit at Deerfield Spa. What more can I say, except the service remains excellent, the food is still delicious and wholesome, and the staff are polite, attentive, and caring.

Joan, Deerfield's owner, truly extends herself to make visitors comfortable, and is "hands on" and ready, willing, and able to assist at many levels. The wait staff/servers are magnificent, and classy.

The nutritionist provided invaluable information, as well as a cooking demonstration, which yielded healthy and delicious fare., .We were also given a copy of the recipe that she prepared.

I especially enjoyed the sunrise hikes and the beginner's hikes, and the guides who take us on these magnificent hikes. Additionally they are knowledgeable and patient. There are various levels for all.

The housekeeping staff were very friendly, courteous, and also provided excellent services.

Now that I'm home, I've have to deal with the real world, as I just left a real life fantasy.that helped me feel better. However,Deefiied Spa has certainly made it easier for me to to so.

I would be remiss if I failed to send shout to Janice and those assisting her.

Exercise classes are available by competent individuals.

Hope to see you soon "If my heart is still beating and the creek don't rise"-Joane

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewJerseyToya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The staff was very nice.The exercise classes included a large variety of unique and fun choices.
The entire facility is small, outdated and not kept up.The food was just okay with not much on flavor. There definitely a way to make food tasty and filling without all the fat and calories, however the chef at Deerfield Spa has missed the mark.
All and all it was a nice place to just get away for a few days. Definitely would recommend major updates to justify the rates that are being charged.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Callie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
6.7 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
6.4 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
647 reviews
12.9 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
5.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Health Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Health Retreat and Spa

Address: 650 Resica Falls Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1979. Deerfield Health Retreat and Spa established itself as a forerunner in the full-service Destination Spa industry. Founded by her mother, Frieda, Joan Wolff now presides over the 12-acre facility. Deerfield Health Retreat and Spa is a friendly, down-to-earth Poconos getaway that wants you to feel good, both inside and out. Deerfield has won numerous awards for its affordability, fitness, hiking and weight loss programs. Deerfield is known for health over hype and laughs over luxe. Leave the grind behind and get back to what really makes you happy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Deerfield Health Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel East Stroudsburg
Deerfield Spa East Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing