We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay at Rainbow Mtn. if it was free, or you paid me!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Mountain Resort
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I wish I had better news to report... My gf and I went up to Rainbow Mountain last weekend with a pair of close friends anticipating a lovely getaway where we could just "be ourselves", have some fun in the sun, and enjoy the beautiful natural environment. In theory, Rainbow Mountain should be wonderful. However, we had an atrocious experience there.

Everything was dirty from the pool (filled with flies, mosquitoes, bees since it doesn't have a pool filter) to the lodge. I am not the most high-maintenance of women, but everything was absolutely substandard. The waitstaff took forever to first seat us, then for our food took 50 minutes to come out once we placed our order and was cold, and our order was placed incorrectly. Now I understand that they had one waiter for several tables, but even as the place cleared out, the service was slow. I couldn't believe how many things went wrong in the brief time we were there. (On a happy note: the manager was lovely and attentive--however, there really was no saving the experience)

Needless to say, there was no way we were going to stay there in the frightening looking shacks they have on site. We stayed at the nearby Shawnee Inn instead, which was pleasant, clean, and quaint. I have been everywhere from motels to 5 star resorts/timeshares, and had yet to experience something as awful as what we dealt with at Rainbow Mountain. The only thing I can walk away with from there that is positive is the wonderful company I was with. Please, spare yourself and your partner/friends---if you want a getaway, stay away from Rainbow Mountain!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dulcinenadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

THis resort used to be my favorite place, but 12 years ago it changed ownership and lost it's way. A few months ago it was sold to a couple who vacationed here for 20 years and they have brought it back to life. We stayed in July and had a great time. There was entertainment in the dance club and music videos on the dance floor. The new lounge had Karaoke and the olympic sized pool was packed with people. They even had a Sunday t-dance party with a DJ by ther pool. THe food was great and everyone was so friendly. I plan on going back soon.

Room Tip: ask for the free night. If you stay the weekend, they add a night free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaci7585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I have vacationed there for five years now. I just got home as a matter of fact. I am female and have no problems getting service and the menu has something for everyone and they will accommodate you if you have food allergies like me. They really do treat everyone like family, it is laid back and everyone is friendly and knows how to have a good time. The rooms are clean but do need to be updated however the dirty dancing feel is intriguing and has a romance about it. I just found out while there that there are new owners; they have been updating what needs to be. I actually didn’t recognize the down stairs bar in the night club at all. I can’t wait to see what changes come for my next summer vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanW1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We traveled to Rainbow Mountain for a weekend with friends. While I thought it was expensive for a rustic place, I figured the cost included breakfast and dinner so it might be worth the cost. After spending a weekend there, I would say it is not worth the price. First of all, the rooms were a huge disappointment. They are old and run down. The bathroom had rust stained fixtures and mold in the shower stall. Awful! The food was okay but the whole package was hardly worth the cost.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelingbeachbum00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

My partner and I stayed here in October. We traveled to NY for business and decided to stay here on the way home. I stupidly booked 2 nights prior to getting there and seeing what it was like. We were charged for a "Theme Weekend" yet there was NO THEME whatsoever. There were very creepy guests who took over the resort and the staff catered to their every needs pretty much forgetting about other guests.
I was really looking forward to this trip and was incredibly disappointed. They state on their website that they are "rustic" but "charming". There was nothing charming about hair and rust in the showers that were filthy. The towels and sheets were stained and looked terrible. We were unable to get our money back and were ignored when we inquired about it.
Although we were there in the fall and expected fewer guests, I expected better service. The food was good, but there were numerous meals that we had to pay additional for as the room price did not cover it. And they ran out of some food as mentioned by another guest. Wings could easily have been purchased from a local store.
The bar was a disaster. The karaoke was not working and it took them over an hour to figure it out. The drinks were OVERPRICED for the drop of alcohol that the bartender put in them.
I looked forward to this stay for several years and was disappointed with every aspect. I would never recommend anyone stay here.
The theme weekend when we were there was a joke and we should have been reimbursed. VERY DISAPPOINTING.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2GirlsAndaJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

WE stayed at Rainbow Mtn mid-week in July. The staff was friendly.
The grounds and the accomodations leave something to be desired, but I wouldn't let it deter me from staying there, because it is affordable, the meals are pretty good (not great) and everyone is so nice. You can truly relax. One of our dispappointments was that there were several things on the menu that they ran out of--- things that could easily be bought at the local supermarket until their usual deliveries arrived-- like cheese and eggs. One morning they had no eggs for breakfast! The pool is the best part, it is clean. We watched as one of the workers scrubbed the entire perimeter of the pool on his hands and knees with a scrubber and comet. The grounds need serious attention. Nowadays, people are accustomed to seeing beautiful grounds and landscaping and that seemed lacking. LIke I said, it is affordable so we'd definitely return, though it is not perfection.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billows38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
4.7 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
668 reviews
13.6 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,494 reviews
7.9 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,081 reviews
4.7 mi away
Super 8 Stroudsburg
Super 8 Stroudsburg
#1 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
418 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Mountain Resort

Address: 210 Mt Nebo Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301-8163
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Stroudsburg
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Mountain is a gay-owned and operated resort, restaurant and nightclub that has been serving the community since 1981. Nestled high atop a mountainside on 25 private acres, including a 2 acre pond, we boast a spectacular view of the surrounding mountains. Welcoming both men and women and open to ALL lifestyles, we are open year round with our friendly and helpful staff ready to serve you. We are near many warm weather activities such as boating, canoeing, rafting, kayaking, water skiing, golfing and water parks (both outside and indoor). In the winter, there is snow skiing (downhill and cross country), snow boarding, tubing, and snowmobiling. All year long there is great hiking, horseback riding, antiquing, outlet and flea market shopping, and gambling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Rainbow Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Mountain Hotel East Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing