We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat in the Pocanos”

The Big A Grillehouse
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good place to eat in the Pocanos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were tired and wanted to stay close to our hotel so we tried the Big A at the advice of the concierge. The food was good. The service was good once they seated us which took 5-10 minutes in a not so busy restaurant while the host kept saying ill be right there. We finally sat down and the waitress took her time to notice us. We got up to leave deciding that it was going to be a long night but the waitress hurried over and stopped us promising better service and explained that they had just had a rush and were short staffed. We stayed and then the service was as she said a lot better. Overall it was a decent meal at a decent price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    87
    47
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good service and great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

it was a nice place with good atmosphere. The place was recommended by a local and although a little pricey just as we were told, the food and wine were both pretty good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cambymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor quality food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

It wasnt busy, our server was never around. Two of the pasta meals were terrible! Then the server was kind enough to give herself an 18% tip. Pigs will fly before we go back there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Big A Grillehouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were vacationing in the Poconos area and stopped there for dinner on our way back to the resort. The grounds are very nice around the restaurant and the dining area is very spacious. There is a nice bar for socializing, but we were there on a week night and it seemed pretty quiet. The service was average for a slow night and the food was just average as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim521r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Fun Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Friendly place. Great place to meet people. Wonderful Bartenders, Great food. Fun place for karaoke. A must visit..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big A Grillehouse also viewed

East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
Shawnee on Delaware, Pocono Mountains Region
 
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
Marshalls Creek, Pocono Mountains Region
 
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to The Big A Grillehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing