We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding sushi”
Review of Blue Fin

Blue Fin
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding sushi”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Take it from a sushi snob - this is an awesome place! BYOB for wine/beer if you want any. Great service and food quality - always busy - a good sign! You'll pay quality prices but you will be happy you did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The-Hershmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    25
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Excellent food. This restaurant was a suggestion from a friend. Reasonable price as well. The service was very happy and quick.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“None Better”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

There is no better sushi restaurant in the region, and by that I include New York City. The owner and chefs of this spot are dedicated to creativity and quality, and take great pride in their creations. I wondered about other reviews questioning why they were seated at the preferred sushi bar seats, where you not only get great food and service but an amazing show. My wife and I occasionally order an appetizer and some rolls, but have begun allowing the owner to feed us whatever he wishes, and the dishes are unbelievable. Since this is a BYOB, I highly recommend bringing a few extra beers or a little extra wine, champagne or liquor and offering some to your neighbors at the sushi bar, and even to the chefs...a guaranteed good time will follow. Even without alcohol, the food is worth the visit. When it comes to sushi, there is none better. In my house, we no longer suggest going out for sushi but instead only suggest going out to Blue Fin. Reservations suggested.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Sushi.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I brought my clients in here for lunch and dinner. They were pleasantly surprised how fresh the fish was. The servers were efficient, well mannered and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mej68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wait, You Love Sushi & Haven't Been to Blue Fin. GO NOW!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Blue Fin for the past few years to celebrate special occasions or to just treat ourselves when we were craving sushi.

Straight up, it's a little on the pricey side but worth every penny. It's a BYO so that helps cut costs a bit. We always start with their edamame and usually try at least something from their specials menu (this is a MUST!). On our most recent trip on 1/10/13 we tried the New England Roll (tempura lobster roll, amazing!) All of their specialty rolls are equally delicious, some of our faves include: the oyster mushroom (a bit spicy), the davitch, and the noname I & II. Folks also rave about the tuna sundae but alas, I'm allergic to peanuts so we usually pass on that one. (you know, I've never asked to have it served w/o nuts, I guess they would do that huh?)

Service is always wonderful. You do get the feeling that they swoon over the regulars but I've never felt slighted on any visit and my water glass was always full. The only thing that bums me out is when I am not offered an ice bucket for my white wine. Others seem to get it w/o asking. On our last visit our waiter Matt was gracious, friendly and very helpful explaining all of the specials.

Oh, and save room for dessert, the fried bananas are out of this world.

TIP: DEFINITELY make a reservation, even for week nights. You can get lucky sometimes. We called last Thursday afternoon and were given a 6:45pm ressie at the sushi bar for that evening. It was my first time at the sushi bar. I thought it would be a tad awkward staring at the chefs all night but it was fun seeing them work their magic. The amount of avacados I saw being peeled was incredible.

I also heard a rumor that their original location in the strip mall on Germantown Pike (Philly Pretzel, Venezia's Meats, etc.) was reopened. If you live or are visiting the Montgomery County area GO TO BLUEFIN!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyZ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Fin also viewed

 

Been to Blue Fin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing