We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Golden Corral”

Shady Maple Smorgasbord
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in East Earl
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Better than Golden Corral”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

But that's not saying much. After hearing about Shady Maple for years, we decided to finally try it. Meh. If an all-you-can-eat feed is what you are looking for, there are better places in this part of PA, such as Miller's Smorgasbord. The supermarket at Shady Maple is another story, however. Go straight to the bakery counter and get yourself some of the best dang doughnuts you have ever had in your life. Ever.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DinerDivas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,077
    472
    230
    64
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, PA
1 review
“too pricey for the service and food you get”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Food was okay, but not good enough for the price you pay. Unless you can really get your money worth by eating all you want stay away from this place. Also, service in this place does not exist. Literally consists of a waitress just throwing napkins at your table...very rude. The only plus is the place itself-- a lot of space with very clean surroundings and make sure you check out their gift shop!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abreuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilesgrove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All you can eat and then more!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We love this place for a late lunch or early dinner. When we go on one of our antiquing trips to Pa. Dutch country, we stop here. You can't beat the variety, the fried chicken can't be beat and the mashed potatoes aren't out of a box. One of our favorite chioces is the baked ham balls, they melt in your mouth. You can always get something cooked to order off the grill and the bread choices will boggle your mind. We try to leave room for the desserts, but it is a tough task to acccomplish. The waiting lines will sometime be very long, but you will be surprised by how very quickly everyone gets seated.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerseyj0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You'll find something you like...”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great, Lancaster Co. food. Of course we went on a birthday so one of us was free--they are a local legend for that promotion. There is just something for everyone.

Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just ate here with friends. Excellent choice of breakfast foods. Omelets made to order fresh fruit and just about everything other breakfast item you can think of! Great service too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank crabcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shady Maple Smorgasbord also viewed

 
Ronks, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 
New Holland, Lancaster County
Ronks, Lancaster County
 

Been to Shady Maple Smorgasbord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing