We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed in Dunmore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore
A TripAdvisor Member
“Disappointed in Dunmore”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2006

For our daughters wedding we needed to book some rooms for out of town guests, so we meet with staff at Sleep Inn. Staff was very accomadating at that time.Told us rooms would be available at 12:00 pm (instead of 3:00 pm) the day of the wedding, so people had time to get ready.Tthey would provide shuttle service to and from the reception. We told them it was a backyard wedding and it didn"t have an end time. They said no problem even if it was 2:00 am they would be there to pick people up. Well relatives arrived at 3:00 pm they were given key to their room and apon entering found the room not cleaned. They went down to the desk and told them the room wasn"t cleaned, they said they didn"t have anyone available at that time to clean the room. The staff asked if they would return to the room to get ready for the wedding and as soon as someone became available they would clean the room. When they returned to the room they went into the bathroom and all the towels were used and on the floor, they went to the desk and said they could not get ready in that room and needed another one ASAP or they would miss the wedding. It"s 4:00 pm now (with the wedding at 5:00 pm),they found a room that was cleaned.Very disorganized at the desk. They came down for the shuttle at 4:30 and were told they only had one van and that was taking other people to another wedding, but would be back in about 20 minutes.My family got nervous they would miss the ceremony so they drove (which they wanted to enjoy the wedding and not worry about drinking & driving). The wedding party was staying there and they called for the van at 12:30 am only to wait over 45 minutes, to find out they had to call a manager in to pick them up.Talk about lack of communation and poor management.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore, responded to this review, July 2, 2006
On June 24, 2006 there was a wedding in Dunmore Pa. and the guests stayed at the Sleep Inn & Suites in Dunmore Pa.. The former sales person told the guest that we could provide shuttle service to the wedding.
Looking over the signed contract there was no shuttle service requested.
When the inside sales person called to verify the signed contract the woman in charge asked if we could provide shuttle service . The sales person said it was not in the contract but we would try or best to accommodate them. The sales person explained that there was a sign up sheet at the desk for the shuttle and no one signed up from this wedding.
Check in time is at three o'clock and is listed on the contract as such. If a room is vacant ready the staff will try to accomodate an early check in.
Since there was no shuttle service listed for the van, the shuttle driver left at his normal time.We received a call from the guest at 11:45 pm that they wanted to be picked up at a house in Dunmore the manager on duty was called and she picked up the wedding guests.
The contract also stated the guest must have ten rooms to reveive a comp suite and the hospitality suite,the guest only had six rooms. Knowing this day was a special day we gave the bride champagne and the complimentary hospitality suite free.
That is why it is important to have signed contracts for events.
We at Sleep Inn & Suites strive to make our guest a satisfying one..The principal goal is to provide dependable service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    81
    25
    21
    17
See reviews for
84
56
15
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2006

The front desk and breakfast staff were wonderful. However, I asked for a non-smoking room because I sometimes have asthma, and the room we were given, while it was non-smoking, smelled very strongly of chemical cleaners (which makes me think that the cleaners were masking something). Also, there were a couple of idiosynchrasies in the washroom -- the toilet handle jumps right back up at you as soon as you push it down, which made me jump every time I flushed! Also, there is no bathtub, just a strangely shaped shower area, where the shower head is angled away from the entrance to the shower so that no shower curtain is needed. It worked fine, but was just unusual.
The breakfast had yogurt, fresh waffles, oatmeal and cereal, hard boiled eggs, english muffins, 2 types of juice, 2 types of milk (including skim), and more that I am probably forgetting. Very, very satisfying. It was ok for a stopover, but I wouldn't go there as a tourist. The hotel had a highway on one side and a truck depot for a cartage company on the other side.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2006

If every Sleep Inn in the country was up to the standard set by this hotel I would seek and search for this brand where ever my travels took me. From the moment I called to book a block of rooms to the check out there was first class professionalism from every one at this location. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast excellent, the pillows and sheets were way above “standard”. Even the coffee supplied in the room for the small pot was excellent. Light switches convenient, lighting that didn’t make you look like a purple monster, and lots of extra’s that you just wouldn’t expect in an accommodation at this price.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2006

Stayed here recently for a wedding reception that was at the place right down the street. The staff were really nice, accomidating & funny, I'm sure they put up with a lot of drunk wedding guests, but they do so with a smile. They provided a free shuttle to the reception site & from the bar afterwards. The rooms were clean & comfortable. Would recomend this hotel to anyone staying in the area or for future brides & grooms looking for hotel blocks for their guests.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ByrdGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2005

My husband and I are getting married in the church... the out of town guests who will be attending the convalidation/blessing will need a place to stay. We checked out Sleep Inn before reserving a block of rooms. They seem really nice... clean... we love the walk-in shower. The continental breakfast is way more than just a danish... homemade waffles is one of the items available.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Fairfield Inn Scranton
#5 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore
Address: 102 Monahan Ave, Dunmore, PA 18512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Dunmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites Scranton Dunmore
Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore Hotel Dunmore
Sleep Inn Dunmore
Dunmore Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing