We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
64
16
6
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
16
6
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews movie theater yogurt barn door cup coffee maker cinnamon rolls front desk convention center public areas alarm clock exercise room amusement park bed and pillows room was spotless short drive up to date the breakfast area hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 96 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2017

From arrival to departure the staff was very helpful and pleasant. I had a challenge getting on the WIFI and my problem was quickly remedied by staff. My only complaint was the noise from the room above - footsteps, door slamming.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarilynBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Dear MarilynBB,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! I am so glad our team was able to take care of you and make you feel at home, and resolve any issues quickly! We hope to take care of you again soon!!

Meghan Rush


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

We stayed for the first time in January and loved it. Decided to stay again when we were in the area visiting family.
To start with, the staff when we checked in on Friday were very nice. We have a large family with 5 kids and decided that we were having such a good time (visiting with family) we'd book the room next to ours for family to stay with us. We had a lot of family in and out of the hotel and pool area while we were there and staff stayed really friendly.
Saturday we swam during the day and they had a pool maintenance worker in. He was in the room for 15-30 minutes while we were swimming, but he never said anything. We went back to our room, went back to the pool a few hours later. That evening, all 5 of the kids who were swimming started to have problems- burning eyes, red skin, itchy, etc. In the end, we took one to the ER. We were at the front desk asking for reports and chemical lists before we went, we never got them. No one was empathetic to what happened and at one point, a staff member actually mentioned it might be laundry detergent or something else he got into (putting the blame on us). In the end, 1 of our kids was treated in the ER with chemical reactions and 2 of our nieces were treated at their dr.'s office with chemical burns. It took over 48 hours for the general manager to contact us. We are being assured over and over that the pool is salt water and has no chlorine. Fortunately for us, we took a water sample with us and had it tested- off the charts for levels of chlorine (in ppm). A few other levels were off and we've spoken to 3 different pool experts to get an idea of what could have happened to cause chemical burns. In the end, accidents happen but the hotel up to this point (including staff, general manager and even corporate office) has handled the situation poorly and we still have to wait to deal with their insurance department.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank momof2boys0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Mrs. Burns,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to speak to me regarding this in detail. We take the safety and service of our guests very seriously with the controls we have in place for our facility and pool. If you need to further discuss with me, please do not hesitate to contact me anytime at 814-693-1004.

Meghan Rush
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017

this hotel is new and beautiful. elevators are the best i've seen. lots of parking,friendly and helpful staff, but..being new you would think the construction would be top notch, it ain't. the walls are paper thin,we heard the tv next door all night. we also could hear the kids above us running around so much we had our room changed. lots of door slamming,and we heard everybody's "power flush" toilets. can't imagine this place on a weekend. i must say the beds are awesome.

Room tip: get the 4th floor so you won't hear noise from above
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank snobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Dear Snobound,

We are so glad you enjoyed our comfortable beds, and updated rooms! I am so sorry you experienced issues with noise, this is something we are working very closely with our development team to rectify. We appreciate your feedback so that we are able to improve, and provide a better product for you and all of our guests! We hope to take care of you again soon!

Meghan Rush

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile

Best hotel I've stayed at in this price range! I hope all Holiday Inn Express move this direction. They cover the basics very well - adequate parking, good location near restaurants and convention center, very clean rooms, and nice check-in staff. The decor is better than most. The breakfast was better as it has everything the other hotels provide plus extras like salsa for your eggs and a wider variety of choices. Breakfast was very clean and all items were kept stocked. The only issue I could see is like most hotels there may not be enough seating at breakfast if the hotel is full. If so, go down the hall to the nook labeled lounge for seating and a TV. The most important feature to me was these are the QUIETEST ROOMS EVER!!! They've somehow solved the noises of most hotel rooms with well insulated walls, well sealed windows and doors, and quiet refrigerators and AC units.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank RascalNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 17, 2017

Dear RascalNC,

First... WOW! We are so thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay!!! Nothing brings us more pride than knowing our guests feel well taken care of when they stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Altoona! We do our absolute best to think of all the little things that add up to ensure a comfortable and pleasurable experience for all of our guests! We hope this means you will be back to stay with us again soon! Take care and stay warm during these chilly times!

Meghan Rush
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017

Spent three nights here on a business trip.

New hotel and it shows. Nice lobby well kept.

Friendly front desk staff.

Room was really nice. Bathroom was a shower only no tub.

Hotel sits on a hill and is adjacent to a movie theater and within 10 minute drive to restaurants.

Breakfast usual array of hot & cold food.

Overall good experiences and would return to this hotel if in the area again.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank IEBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear IEBob,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in town for business!We are very pleased to hear our warm service shined through during this chilly weather, as we strive to make sure all of our guest's feel at home during their stay! We hope you choose to StaySmart with us again!!

Meghan Rush
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews