We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great mom and pop place to eat”
Review of Doyle Hotel

Doyle Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Duncannon
Restaurant details
carlisle, pa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great mom and pop place to eat”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

was greeted by owner, very old (1905) but had a homely feel, started with bowl of chili, very spicy but not overbearing, i had fryed cod and wife had shrimp po boy. cod filled plate, frys were fresh cut cooked in peanut oil, very very good. Po boy had owner's own sauce, home grown fresh cut tomato's, wife was impressed since she is from Louisiania. Great place to eat if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgriffie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MILLERSBURG
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pat and vicky rock”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is our favorite place to hide. Not fancy, delicious choices and seriously charming people and ambiance if you like out of the way unscripted places and a grounded couple completely in love with each other and life.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOTT A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“a brits version of the appalachian trail”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

You little beauty, your still going strong, well done. I`m writing my book about my thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail, and one of great places that stuck out on that 2200 miles was Doyles Hotel. I`d done over 800 miles when I hit this fine, old American town and Doyles was a slice of real American culture, like stepping back in time. They were still doing the hotel up when I stayed, but their friendly atmosphere was very special. A real, American saloon bar from the hollywood movies, but here your the star! I foolishly left to stay a night at that goddam awful motel at the end of town, but came right back the next morning to lovely Doyles. Whenever I come back to those great States, Doyles will be at the top of the list. A visit to the Old Sled Works antiques place is also up there too, the 1950`s diner in the back and the pinball machines!! The only thing missing from that magical place was the Fonz! Fine Americans.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mastertraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Just for Hikers”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Looking around at the multi-aged, long legged thin men and women lazing on the porch you wonder if your Appalachian Trail wife is sufficient a ticket to let you, a normal joe supporting her, eat at this relic of the last century. But they kindly let you in, to seat yourself at the long tables or at the even longer bar, and to order one of the 8 beers on tap to go with your sandwich. The real hikers order the burgers, ⅓ or ½ lb, which look twice that size, I ordered a tuna sandwich. The menu offered much more than that, from soups to steaks; but we decided to go with their strength. Good atmosphere; chatted with an age 60+ hiker from Alabama, and another from Kentucky. Big topic - rain tomorrow makes the rocks they had to climb slippery. Food was great; beer was a treat; ambiance totally out of place in an honest eatery like Doyles Hotel. Oh yeah, only has sleeping for hikers - a cot for $20. But even tenderfeet like me can and should eat there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good home cookin'”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

really enjoyed the down home service and the "antique" seating - having the owners wait on you was really neat - sometimes you even run in to trail hikers here

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing