We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, copious Italian fare”
Review of Luigi's

Luigi's
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in DuBois
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A family owned Italian restaurant located in Historic Downtown DuBois, PA specializing in authentic Italian cuisine with a variety of American dishes that will satisfy everyone in your party. Guests have the choice to dine in one of our main dining rooms, in our "vineyard" themed room, lounge area, or weather permitting on our outdoor patio. Luigi's offers lunch and dinner and a full service bar. We also offer full service catering and family style takeout for any event and budget. So come "mangia" with us and let us make our home feel like yours.
Northumberland, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, copious Italian fare”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited with my sister for a late lunch and had the steak with grilled vegetables, a baked sweet potato and the daily special pumpkin soup as a starter. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere typical for an Italian restaurant though the benches in the booths are not all that comfortable. The soup was delicious, the vegetables also good, the steak was okay but the baked sweet potato was tough and almost inedible. A big meal, really a bit too much food for me. On the whole, a nice enough experience and I would probably go back to taste something else on my next visit to DuBois, which does not boast a large selection of restaurants apart from the standard chain and fast-food places.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank algieph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    108
    43
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, neat atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Tonight was our 3rd or 4th trip to Luigi's; we were a large group celebrating a birthday.

The first time we went, my father-in-law pratcically licked the sauce off his plate and ate a loaf of bread himself. We've raved about the food ever since. Tonight the food was a little disappointing if for no other eason than we are used to subperb quality. Some examples - people with the mushroom ravioli said it was served lukewarm, the pumpkin soup needed more spice, the jack daniels sauce on the steak was thin/runny, and the triple chocolate cake was still quite hard (frozen) in the center.

Not enough to turn us away or tell others not to go, but we do hope it was a random off night for the chef.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThisGalsOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith River
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A-1”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great food, very interesting decor', efficient staff, and wonderful house wine. All dishes well prepared. Busy local restaurant. A little on the pricey side, but worth it. Warm and inviting casual dining. Ask for the olive oil and garlic dipping sauce!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddwildbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPlata, MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I went to Luigi's because of all the great reviews & were not disappointed. Appetizer and entrees were excellent and we highly recommend. Be careful of adjacent parking -- we came in around 7 pm on a Friday night and tickets were being placed on cars. You have to find the not too well-lit area to pay & place your ticket in your windshield.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarylanderLaPlata_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I dined here with my wife and her parents while we were staying in DuBois to visit the nearby Elk Country Visitor Center. We went on a Friday night, and while the restaurant was busy, we were immediately seated. The restaurant is decorated with hundreds (or even into the thousands) of pictures, which was neat. The menu was extensive, with lots of choices. The bread was good, and all of us were please with our meals, which were delivered in a timely manner. The owner stopped by our table and introduced himself and asked how the meals were. It was nice, and not obtrusive as he quickly moved on. We would go here again if in the area and would recommend Luigi's to others.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DA_and_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luigi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing