We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Atmosphere”
Review of Luigi's

Luigi's
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in DuBois
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A family owned Italian restaurant located in Historic Downtown DuBois, PA specializing in authentic Italian cuisine with a variety of American dishes that will satisfy everyone in your party. Guests have the choice to dine in one of our main dining rooms, in our "vineyard" themed room, lounge area, or weather permitting on our outdoor patio. Luigi's offers lunch and dinner and a full service bar. We also offer full service catering and family style takeout for any event and budget. So come "mangia" with us and let us make our home feel like yours.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I dined here with my wife and her parents while we were staying in DuBois to visit the nearby Elk Country Visitor Center. We went on a Friday night, and while the restaurant was busy, we were immediately seated. The restaurant is decorated with hundreds (or even into the thousands) of pictures, which was neat. The menu was extensive, with lots of choices. The bread was good, and all of us were please with our meals, which were delivered in a timely manner. The owner stopped by our table and introduced himself and asked how the meals were. It was nice, and not obtrusive as he quickly moved on. We would go here again if in the area and would recommend Luigi's to others.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DA_and_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    105
    43
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in great a great place”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Made our first visit to Luigi's in Dubois for a birthday dinner. The place is very nice looking. It is clean and well decorated. We was in on a Thursday night at 6:00 P.M. We were seated almost immediately. By the time we left, about two hours later the place was full. While it was a school nightt, I noticed that there were no kids in the entire place. With dinner averaging about $20 per person for dinner and drink I guess people don't bring little kids. The waitress was great. She took care of our every need. I ate the Tour of Italy and my wife had Lobster Ravioli. Food came quickly and hot. My wife bragged up her food. I loved my food but was a little disapoointed in the meatball that come with my meal. Maybe I am spoiled but it was nothing special. I ordered wedding soup as it is always my favorite. While is was good as far as soup goes but it had way too many vegetables in it to call it wedding soup. They do have off street parking that costs 50 cents. All in all it is a great place and recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkccmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Meal! gone downhill!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I planned a "date night" out. We planned to go to Luigis since it had been a month or so since we had been there. I was longing formthencod romano!! Always my favorite!! I ordered my Cod Romano, and my hubby had the steak salad. When my entree arrived, I did not even recognize it!! cod Romano is supposed to be cooked in olive oil, parmesan cheese, etc. What a got was a piece of fish that was ORANGE!! As in radioactive orange!! Not even close to the coded Romano in the past! the worst part was finding a hair in my pasta side dish, and it was not mine. I did not complain about the fish, bit when it came to the hair, I felt like I had to mention it to our waitress. she apologized and said she would tell the manager. they did take Half off my fish, which was more than Imexpected..I just didn't want it to happen to anyone else
next time, we will head to the Italian Oven!

Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
176 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Dinner!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Delicious dinner at Luigi's, homemade pumpkin soup, bread, wild mushroom ravioli, and chicken Maria, Excellent service! The manager even took time to come over and chat with us. If you are in DuBois, PA this is the place to dine!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler_from_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for tasty Italian in the I-80 wasteland”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

For years, the trek along I-80 back to my husband's home in NYC was an ordeal. There's pretty much nothing but fast food to eat, which is a lousy thing to look forward to. One day for some reason we exited at DuBois, got turned around, and I saw Luigi's. It looked promising so we stopped. There was the funky decor and the photos. Better. It is now our official stop on the trip. We've been happy with many things. The bread and sauce (and hey, we found it before the billboard), the antipasto. At the risk of doing myself in, I'll also mention the cocoanut cream pie you can sometimes find (but it goes fast). I would be perfectly happy to have Luigi's as a neighborhood place (and I don't consider it pricey), but as a food oasis in the I-80 desert it is not to be missed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank batikmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's also viewed

 

Been to Luigi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing