We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in DuBois
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The room needed extensive maitenance. Mildew around the toilet, rusty drain in the tub, missing handles on the furniture and stained ceiling in the bath. Nice flat screen TV but no station guide. Bed was OK. The whole room looked like the last time it was updated was in the 80s. Rate was the highest I paid on this trip from CT to IL and this was the worst room. Very limted services in the immediate area.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCLARIONDUBOIS, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your stay at the Clarion Hotel. I apologize for not having met your expectations. I have addressed your concerns with Housekeeping and Maintenance so that we may improve, based on your experience. Our rooms have been remodeled recently and everyone enjoys our comfortable beds. Thanks again for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    51
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
28
38
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, MD
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I were visiting family in the Dubois area recently and were forced to travel with our two Westies. With limited pet-friendly accommodations in the area, we went with the Clarion Hotel - primarily based on reviews that we'd seen via kayak.com.

We arrived around 10pm. There were many cars in the lot adjacent to the lobby apparently attending some event at the hotel based on the number of people walking around and the music that could be heard from the lobby.

We were given a room in a wing of the hotel that appeared to have only a few guests - there were 3 cars in that lot. The first problem we noticed was that the security door to the building did not require a card-swipe in order to be opened. It was present but not functioning properly. The first impression of our room was that it was dark and smelled musty. The carpet did not appear clean. We understand that traveling with pets often means less desirable and/or limited accommodations, but we've had much better.

The toilet (tank) and shower dripped throughout the night, and the exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work - probably contributed to the musty smell.

We informed the staff of the issues mentioned and were told that they'd look in to it. For the price we payed and the quality and comfort of these accommodations, we'll look elsewhere the next time.

Room Tip: Can only assume that the rooms in the main section of the hotel are perhaps more recently renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjsoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCLARIONDUBOIS, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We strive to provide superior pet friendly accommodations, which we failed on your recent stay. I am sorry we missed the opportunity to make you a very satisfied guest. I have shared your review with Housekeeping and Maintenance in order to make the needed adjustments to exceed your expectations should your return to DuBois, PA. Just so that you are aware, all guest rooms have been remodeled recently. Thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these DuBois hotels

1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Overpriced for average basic room. Nonsmoking room smelled of smoke. Easy to find. Dated.
Unfriendly unhelpful front desk staff. They advertise breakfast but "were all out" by 7:30 AM and offered no apology and no compensation. Disappointing
Pool looked nice

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyk56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel was very easy to find along I-80. The staff were very friendly. The lobby looked recently updated. Outdoor pool was nice. Room was comfortable and clean. Lots of fluffy pillows and the staff offered extra blankets when asked. Reasonable rates. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyGrace317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here as part of our annual bike trip to the States. Convenient stop next to the highway. Rooms were standard with 2 queen beds. Shower was good. Clean hotel and helpful staff. Beds comfortable. Did not use the outdoor pool but it looked nice contained within the courtyard. Parked the bikes under the overhang and right in view of desk staff. This was nice as it was raining when we arrived and didn't wake up to wet bike seats in the morning. Only drawback was that there is no elevator which would have been nice as this hotel is huge and quite a walk from the front desk to our room, then up the stairs with our gear. Had supper at the Dutch Pantry which is right across the parking lot ... awesome meal and good prices. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I booked this hotel primarily for the location close to I-80 and the number of restaurants in town.
I had planned to arrive by 6pm but was delayed for 2 hours by highway construction zones, no work going on, it was Sunday. The reservation was made two days prior to arrival and I was glad that the room was waiting when we got there. The bed was comfy and I liked that we could chose between down and foam pillows. There was no fridge in our room.
Check in/out was quick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bassman607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This motel could use an update. The bathrooms, in particular, are quite dated. But it's a comfortable motel, and, compared to others around it, the service was very friendly and competent. As is any motel just off a major highway during peak travel season, it's too expensive, but there's nothing to be done about that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DuBois
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubois
Hampton Inn Dubois
#2 of 10 in DuBois
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubois
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton DuBois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites DuBois
Comfort Suites DuBois
#1 of 10 in DuBois
152 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites DuBois
16.3 mi away
Budget Host Gold Eagle Inn
Budget Host Gold Eagle Inn
#3 of 4 in Brookville
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 1896 Rich Hwy, DuBois, PA 15801-3970 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > DuBois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in DuBois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean & Affordable Rooms. Conveniently located off of Interstate 80 Exit 97 South on Route 219. Truckers Welcome. Currently, there is no restaurant available inside of the hotel, however, The Dutch Pantry is right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Dubois
Dubois Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing