We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stop. Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubois
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in DuBois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2008

The location is within sight of I-80, but far enough to be quiet. There are 2 gas stations and an Arby's between the interstate and the hotel.

I arrived late (approx. midnite). Parking was nearby and felt secure / well lighted. Desk staff was a very friendly young lady who was quick, efficient and pleasant. The lobby isn't oversized, but nice and clean.

The room was good sized, very clean and comfortable with a new flat tube (not LCD or Plasma) TV, a desk, a drawer unit, luggage stand, king bed and 2 nightstands. Large clean bath with the selection of typical give-aways (shampoo, etc.). Great shower with plenty of pressure and hot water!

I was only there for a few hours, I was pushing to leave early the next morning to continue my trek to Northern MI. I didn't have the free breakfast (my loss and mistake) - but it looked and smelled pretty darn good.

Over all - good stop about 5-6 hrs from CT/NY area. Good quiet and safe location. I definitely will be stopping here again. Wish I had more time or reason to enjoy the hotel longer.
.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTRedSox2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubois
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 157 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2007

This hotel is about a year old and still looks new. The rooms are good size and extremely clean. The staff is VERY friendly and accomodating, although the night time attendant was not happy with my son when he sat in the lobby and read during the night. because he interrupted her TV watching. There is a work-out center, but only one treadmill and one exercise bike. The breakfast has a large variety of foods, and if they'd add yogurt to the choices I'd think it an outstanding free "deluxe" breakfast. My only complaint is that the mattresses are way too hard but that's a matter of opinion. I highly recomment this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank harmonyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We were not planning to stay the night in a hotel but because of bad weather we pulled off the Interstate and into the front door of this Holiday Inn Express because Holiday Inn is a very reliable hotel. We were able to check in right away into a non smoking room on the second floor. We were able to change into out bathing suits to take advantage of the hot tub and pool that was open until 11pm. The area was clean and well maintained. The room was large and had the usual appointments of tv with extended cable, free wireless internet and free business suite usage and USA today at the door in the morning. There was also a free breakfast in the morning. The only complaint I had had to do with the non smoking room. I was able to smell cig smoke from somewhere. When I checked out I mentioned it to the desk clerk who was a bit rude about it. She said that the smoking rooms are on the 3rd floor. It sounded like she didn't beleive me but I can assure you that I could smell the smoke, lightly but enough. Since at check in you have to sign a form stating that you will not smoke in the room I felt it worth noting because I didn't want to be charged for it. Over all it was a positive stay and I would stay again if I were ever in DuBois again, but I strongly doubt that will ever happen. Aside from Puxatauny Phil, there really isn't any reason. There is a gas station and an Arbys next door to the hotel. While these hotels aren't usually family hotels there were quite a few famlies with kids. No doubt for the pool and the free breakfast. I will note that as adults traveling without kids for a change, it was a drag to have to put up with kids in the hot tub. Hotel also had a workout room with a scale, treadmill and elliptical trainer.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RealMccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

My family of four stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for two nights, separated by a week. We were on our way to Chicago from NY and stumbled across this hotel with no prior reservation. We liked it so much we decided to make it our stopping point on the return trip.

The hotel has clean, quiet rooms and helpful staff. There is an indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. Wireless internet is free.

We recommend this hotel.

The first room we stayed in was a two-queen-bed room that had a microwave and small refrigerator. The beds were very comfortable. We paid $113 as the AAA rate including tax.

The second room we stayed in was a one-king-bed plus one-pullout-sofa room also with microwave and refrigerator. The hotel calls this a "suite" although it is pretty much the same as the regular room, just a bit bigger, and included a small sink and some kitchen cabinets. We paid $168 as the AAA rate including tax. It was not worth the upgraded price, however, when we arrived without a reservation it was the only type of room they had available. Rather than take our chances on another, unknown hotel, we decided to pay the extra.

While we enjoyed the stay, we found that "suite" was a bit of a stretch and for our purposes it was just an extra expense without much benefit. They could have made it worthwhile by putting a door between the bed and the sofa, by putting another TV by the sofa, by putting another small table with chairs near the bed, and by putting a comfy chair somewhere in the room. The furnishings they did have besides the bed and sofa were a desk and chair (the only place to sit in the room), a small coffee table in front of the sofa, and a TV stand / dresser.

This is not a negative review, though. The hotel was great, we enjoyed the pool and hot tub, there are many restaurants within 10 miles, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Just skip the suite. and stay in a regular room.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kglade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

We stayed overnight at this HI Express traveling from one university to another in PA. We were extremely impressed with this hotel. The front desk staff was courteous and knowledgeable. Our room was very well cleaned, quiet and the beds and pillows comfortable. The wireless internet service was quick and efficient. The small pool and hot tub were extremely well maintained and a welcome to our tired feet. The free breakfast was nice and the woman who worked there was pleasant. She kept the grand room clean and all foods and coffee stocked. We would not hesitate to stay at this location again should we be in the area!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank KeyLimeLover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2006

Stayed overnight due to a funeral. Booked the room online -- the hotel is only 5 months old, so it is beautiful, clean, pleasant staff, wonderful pool, all the equipment is new and actually works in the work-out room, they have a computer room with free internet which my 13 yr. old son was appreciative of. The beds were fabulous -- down comforters, fluffy pillows. Great breakfast bar in a huge dining room with fireplace and t.v. Can't think of anything to complain of at all.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank LUIS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubois, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DuBois
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubois
Hampton Inn Dubois
#2 of 10 in DuBois
581 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton DuBois
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites DuBois
Comfort Suites DuBois
#1 of 10 in DuBois
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites DuBois
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#7 of 10 in DuBois
145 reviews
21.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubois

Address: 1690 Rich Hwy, DuBois, PA 15801-3993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > DuBois
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in DuBois
Price Range: $87 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubois 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, DuBois, PA is conveniently located at Exit 97 off I-80. We are 7mi. SW from the DuBois Regional Airport. DuBois and the surrounding areas have much to offer to those traveling on business or leisure. After a peaceful night in our Simply Smart bedding, you can start your day off with a refreshing shower which features our renowned Stay Smart showerheads. Our Complimentary Hot Deluxe Continental Breakfast features our famous Express Start cinnamon rolls and Smart Roast coffee. The DuBois Holiday Inn Express is surrounded by thousands of acres of forests, lakes, and streams. The hotel is just a short distance away from Treasure Lake, Parker Dam, S.B. Elliot, and Cooks Forest for those interested in hiking, fishing, swimming, elk viewing, canoeing or other outdoor activities. Golfers can enjoy the Gold and Silver Courses in Treasure Lake which are PGA rated, the DuBois Country Club, Beechwoods and Scottish Heights. If you are interested in wine tasting, the Laurel Mountain Winery is just 10 minutes north of us. Owens Illinois is 10 mi. north and the DuBois Regional Medical Center is just 5 mi. south of the property. We are also a short drive from the Penn State University DuBois Campus, the DuBois Business College and Triangle Tech. Some of the best Italian entrée s in the tri-county are can be found on North Brady Street at Luigi s Ristorante. Ruby Tuesday and Red Lobster are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dubois
Holiday Inn Dubois
Holiday Inn Express Dubois
Dubois Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing