We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & great service make for ideal quick stop along I-80”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums-Hazelton
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Needing to make a stop while traveling along Interstate 80, we chose this Holiday Inn Express based on past experience with other HI Express properties. This hotel is obviously relatively new, very clean, and a great place to spend a night.

There's not much else to see or do in the immediate vicinity, but the front desk was able to make a suggestion for a great local place to grab dinner with my kids.

Overall, a great place to stop along I-80 if all you need is a bed, shower and breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityPlanningProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 140 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2011

There were many nice things about the hotel:

--very nice staff
--comfortable and spacious room
--good beds
--decent shower
--ultra clean
--easy access off the highway, perfect location off I-80 and I-81

But there were some negatives:

-- Paper-thin walls. Around midnight some people checked into the room next to us. Even though they were speaking at a normal level, it was like they were in the room with us. And I swear this is true: When their alarm clock went off at 6:00 a.m., my husband tried turning off OUR radio because he thought it was our alarm.

--Breakfast was only so-so.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
Thank leftwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I chose this hotel because it was cheaper than the other Holiday Inn Express near 476 and I-80 which would have been closer to Jack Frost Ski Resort. Overall, it was a pleasure to stay in: clean, in a quiet neighborhood and the staff was attentive. It could be quite a drive to the Crossings Outlet, Jack Frost Big Boulder and Camelback. However, for the cost difference between the 2 Holiday Inns, I did not mind the drive. One thing I did NOT like about the place was that housekeeping did NOT change our sheets. We stayed there for 2 nights. True, they tidied up the room, put clean towels, and made the beds. While I am all for "saving the planet" by not having the sheets changed, I still would have liked to have been given the option of keeping it or changing it. I probably would have chosen the first option, but still, this is a hotel and you expect the sheets changed. Even cheap motels do that. So I guess, if you want them to change the sheets, indicate that in your request for the housekeeping. Another one I did not like is: the flatware provided in our suite were dirty. Sure, it was rinsed of any food particles, but there was oil ( from clearly not have been washed with detergent). It was quite gross to think you'd have to use them. Overall though, if you don't mind the things I just mentioned, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller19142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Booked via Priceline and followed up with phonecall to Amber at front desk. I had a special requests to accomodate my 4 year olds and she cheerfully obliged. This great first impression set the tone for our two night stay. The same lovely woman greeted us at check in and showd us to the "cookie table" (nice to occupy the kids). I was happy to find a lovely, clean room with a modern shower/tub and useful toiletries and free wifi. We had our room cleaned one day and the job was top notch. Lastly, we were running late on day of checkout and were not made to feel as if we overstayed our welcome. When I phoned the front desk to explain another cheerful vioce said "no worries"...
I will surely visit again when in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckleyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This was a very clean motel. The staff was very friendly and very nice. The value of the motel was good. Thelocation near I-80 was very convenient. You wouldn't go wrong stopping here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsweet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Had family come from all over the east coast for my son's wedding and the crew at the HIE went over and beyond to make this special occasion even more special. Highly recommend and can't thank them enough!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jccevette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed in a HI Express in May and were pleasantly surprised, so we decided to seek one out for one night of a long road trip. Reviews for this one were very similar to our May experience, so I am wondering if Holiday Inn is onto something. I have no complaints and only praise for a great night's sleep after a long day's drive. I will definitely stay here again on a return trip. I did not use any of the hotel's "extras," like the pool, fitness center, etc. Breakfast had a little for everyone, but was nothing remarkable. Staff attended to the buffet regularly and were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank werldtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drums
6.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hazleton
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hazleton
Hampton Inn Hazleton
#1 of 8 in Hazleton
719 reviews
6.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hazleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Hazleton
Residence Inn Hazleton
#2 of 8 in Hazleton
235 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in West Hazleton
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums-Hazelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums-Hazelton

Address: 1 Corporate Dr # 15, Drums, PA 18222-2123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Drums
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drums
Price Range: $99 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums-Hazelton 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums/Hazleton, PA.This beautiful two-year-old property offers you elite service and the best quality. We are conveniently located off Interstates 80 and 81, near both Hazleton and Mountaintop. PPL Susquehanna nuclear plant, Humbolt, Valmont, McAdoo, and Crestwood Industrial Parks, Jack Frost Big Boulder Ski Resorts, Eagle Rock Ski Resorts, Drifton Softball Complex, Edgewood in the Pines Golf Resort, Sandsprings Golf Resort, Blue Ridge Trail Golf Resort, Sugarloaf Golf Resort, Pocono Raceway, Mountain Speedway and Mohegan Sun Casino are also located nearby.We include our new hot complimentary breakfast which includes: cheese omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage gravy with flaky biscuits, sausage patties and crispy bacon. Staying here doesn't get any smarter! We look forward to welcoming you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Drums / Hazleton, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums-Hazelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Drums-Hazelton
Holiday Inn Drums
Holiday Inn Express Drums
Drums Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing