We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a quiet town, a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums-Hazelton
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drums
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, West Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“In a quiet town, a great place to stay”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I really love to travel, but hate staying in hotels due to noise, and unclean rooms. HOWEVER, this hotel was pleasant to stay in. It was clean, and quiet and I actually had a good nights sleep for once. The breakfast had many choices to offer as well, which was a plus as well. The staff was friendly. If I had anything at all to say not positive about this place, it would simply be that the staff literally stares at you while you are getting your breakfast, And while you are eating. Which is a little uncomfortable. But I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationer118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    47
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
38
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Well it is a new year and it is time for another great review for the Holiday Inn Express in Drums Pa. Large clean rooms, breakfast buffet, friendly staff, this place has it all! If you are in the Pocono Mountain area this is the place to stay, you won't be disappointed. Very convenient to all the major roads including I-80,I-81 & 309. Rates are very reasonable too!

Room Tip: Always request a room away from the elevator and vending machines. They do have some large corner ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonerider123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I usually dont stay at these types of economy hotels but there were no other choices in the area I was visiting. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was newly renovated, rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We began our cross country drive with a large 26 foot Penske rental truck on a Sunday evening in New York City and made it this far our first night. We were delighted to find this hotel with a large parking area close enough to the interstate to be convenient but far enough that the highway noise wasn't an issue. Jack checked us in efficiently, working hard to find a discount that might apply. Sunday nights are normally a low occupancy night in hotels so we weren't surprised by the quiet but it was still much appreciated.

Everything was fine with the room but in the morning, I had trouble getting hot water out of the shower. I dressed and went down to the front desk to ask the desk clerk, Amber, if she knew of a reason. She didn't but quickly gave me a key to a room directly across the hall from ours so we could use the shower there. When I got back to our room, I was surprised to find my daughter just finishing her shower and asked her about the hot water. Duh, I was turning the knob the wrong way. No need to use the room across the hall but I sure appreciated Amber's quick thinking and desire to make sure our needs were met.

The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate and we were quickly on our way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasJudyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here for the weekend with my parents and 2 friends. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly, the rooms were spacious, although, the beds were uncomfortable, they were very hard. I would wake up with a sore back in the morning. The breakfast could be improved. What was offered was standard but it wasn't very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentley1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums-Hazelton, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Bentley1688,

Thank you for the candid review. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We are glad to hear you found our hotel clean and the staff friendly. However, we regret the bed was not the your liking. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the quality of products we provide to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We happened upon this hotel after a long day of driving and were looking for a room - any room. We lucked out with this Holiday Inn Express. The parking lot was not full at 10 p.m. so we were fairly certain there would be room. The desk clerk, Jeremy, was welcoming, efficient and I think the only staff onsite. When we asked for a rollaway bed he said he'd be bringing it down in a few minutes. Holiday Inn - you have a wonderful employee with him.

If we were hungry, which we were, we picked the right place. At 10 p.m. we had a choice of a selection of bags of chips and chewy bars, bottled water, chocolate chip cookies, hard candies and a big bowl of gorgeous apples. This was in addition to the 24 hour coffee and tea. All complementary.

Breakfast was perfect. A good selection of breads, sweets, cereals and yogurt and eggs, along with more fresh fruit.

My only suggestion is to add some different machines in the fitness room. Maybe an elliptical. Otherwise, a great hotel night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrlDetroit_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We've stayed here several times before and, once again,HI Express Drums met all our needs following a long day on I-95. We were here on a weekday night and, in our case, we did not have noisy/inconsiderate guests.
Hotel is located in a somewhat rural area so we had dinner prior to hotel arrival. Our "King-sized room" was well appointed, clean, and OK in appearance. All utilities worked well.The Internet service was functional but on the slow side which the staff is working on with their Internet provider. Breakfast is OK and consistent with other HI Express locations. Staff were friendly and professional. Yes, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank like2travel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drums
6.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hazleton
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hazleton
Hampton Inn Hazleton
#1 of 8 in Hazleton
646 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hazleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Hazleton
Residence Inn Hazleton
#3 of 8 in Hazleton
219 reviews
4.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
#2 of 6 in White Haven
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums-Hazelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums-Hazelton

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums-Hazelton
Address: 1 Corporate Dr # 15, Drums, PA 18222-2123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Drums
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drums
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums-Hazelton 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums/Hazleton, PA.This beautiful two-year-old property offers you elite service and the best quality. We are conveniently located off Interstates 80 and 81, near both Hazleton and Mountaintop. PPL Susquehanna nuclear plant, Humbolt, Valmont, McAdoo, and Crestwood Industrial Parks, Jack Frost Big Boulder Ski Resorts, Eagle Rock Ski Resorts, Drifton Softball Complex, Edgewood in the Pines Golf Resort, Sandsprings Golf Resort, Blue Ridge Trail Golf Resort, Sugarloaf Golf Resort, Pocono Raceway, Mountain Speedway and Mohegan Sun Casino are also located nearby.We include our new hot complimentary breakfast which includes: cheese omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage gravy with flaky biscuits, sausage patties and crispy bacon. Staying here doesn't get any smarter! We look forward to welcoming you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Drums / Hazleton, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drums-Hazelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Drums-Hazelton
Holiday Inn Drums
Holiday Inn Express Drums
Drums Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing