We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling Ripped Off”

Paganini Ristorante
Ranked #44 of 138 Restaurants in Doylestown
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Opened in 1990, freshest pasta in town. Also thin crust pizza, carpaccio, salads, veal and the best cappuccino. Also visit Pags Wine Bar and Pag's Pub & Pizza directly across the street.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feeling Ripped Off”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This restaurant has good quality food, but my family's experience over was very poor. The server perhaps lost our order--the food took forever. She also forgot our drinks and had to be reminded twice. The bread girl eventually helped us out and apologized for the waitress, who we saw again upon leaving holding her head in her hands at the bar. Bad night, I guess. Our bill was way too high for three simple plates of pasta, one green salad, and a glass of house wine, nearly $80. This restaurant may work if you have an expense account and a crowd of people--maybe then you'll get some attention. My family, however, will not be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    17
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flemington New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a favorite”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

eat here often. always consistant and always get the same entree! Tagatelli with the eggplant. SOOO good! Bread is divine. wine list ok, get a bottle, better value and better choices. Outside dining is really nice! Love this place. Eat here often.

Helpful?
Thank HJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, but the waitstaff needs some training”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We went here for a funeral luncheon on a Monday at 1:30pm. The place is absolutely adorable, as is the entire street it's on. There are many levels so if you are going with elder persons or those that have trouble with stairs ask for the main level and look for the accessible ramps outside. The menu is limited, but a good mix of familiar and signature dishes. There were some younger (18 and under) diners with us that had some trouble understanding what was what, but it worked out ok. My biggest gripe is that there were 16 of us and onlt 1 waitstaff helping us. She did her best, but there were still issues. We all rodered at the same time, but half of us were served food and finished before the other half received our meals. It does state ont he menu that certain dishes take longer, but that is no excuse for half of a party waiting over 20 minutes for the other half to be served. When the food came it ws hot, fresh,a nd delicious. The portions were on the smaller side for Italian fare, but is was lunch time so this could be why. We all ordered dessert and were unimpressed as the desserts appear to have been frozen/store bough and in small portions as well. The ambiance of this restaurant does make up for most of it's downfalls and it likely would have been a different experience with a smaller party.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ks73080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant In Doylestown if you like real food”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Paganini's has the best pasta in the area. It's made fresh every day, and all the other ingredients are fresh for the day, which is why there are only certain dishes available per day. If you want industrial frozen sauce from a huge menu and giant portions, go to Chili's or TGI Fridays. It's not cheap but it's worth it, you're paying for the quality. Service is always great. In the warmer weather, the outdoor seating is beautiful and tops any of the sidewalk tables in the nearby restaurants.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chordsimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than last time! Food good, a little pricey for every day...”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My first review from years ago was not favorable, so I've tried it again a few times thinking all these people love it, I may as well try again. It was better, honestly. The pasta meal tasted really good and our server was also top. Still have a few negatives...I thought there were free refill on soda, so when I got my bill, I was a bit surprised there were not. Make sure to ask! For my three year old, she asked for a small plate of pasta with butter. $8! No kids menu :( But for one drink, one milk, one soda, a $29 bottle of wine, one salad, two pasta meals (no meat and one was mac and cheese) and one "kids" meal, our tab was $104 without tip. Hard to do that on a more frequent basis, as I think because we liked the food, we'd go more often since we live right there. All that being said, if the price works for you, it's a nice place to go for a nice meal.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmfischel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paganini Ristorante also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Paganini Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing