We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beer Selection, Very Good Food & Great Outdoor Space”
Review of Penn Taproom

Penn Taproom
Ranked #24 of 138 Restaurants in Doylestown
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: State Street and Main
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Beer Selection, Very Good Food & Great Outdoor Space”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've recently re-discovered this place and at the moment I consider it one of the better places in Doylestown to hang out, have a couple of drinks and some very good food. If there is one negative to this place it's the wait staff. We found ourselves waiting at times to order a drink as well as when we were ready to place our food order. However, when we were attended to, we felt as if we were being rushed to finish up. In fact we were provided our check without being asked if we were finished. Overall, the other positives outweigh the service, but keep it from gaining the highest overall rating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HungryTravelerU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    39
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous spring day on patio”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The service and drinks are excellent! Doylestown is precious and upscale without being snooty. Great service and delicious martinis and great happy hour! The place gets packed, so get here early. Amazing attentive sevice

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElpsieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good food. Service ok”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Service needs to improve. Mgr more interested in friends than customer treated poorly and told to only sit in one area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bettyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to have a fresh beer and a delicious burger”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great beer selection. We ordered 2 different beers (Allagash white and a Sam Adams special seasonal we hadn't seen anywhere else) both tasted fresh. The burgers were also very tasty and the price for our meal given the quality and selection of the beer and food was quite reasonable. And finally, the waitstaff was super nice and attentive. N.B. they have an upstairs room which offers a little more space.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Nice Lunch Menu”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Today we lucked out when we stopped at the Penn Taproom after visiting the Mercer Museum. The wait staff was very friendly and made some great suggestions for our meals.

I started a delectable cream of crab soup. It was just the right thickness and full of chunks of crab. My wife and I had the lobster/crab cake sandwich that they served with homemade potato chips. It was wonderful.

The place was so good that we intend to go back with friends from New Hope.

Great place!

Helpful?
Thank bbnj41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penn Taproom also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Penn Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing