We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Fun Day Trip

I've previously lived in Lower Bucks County 20 years ago, but I had no idea Fonthill Castle existed... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
527robertag
,
Annapolis, Maryland
Very interesting

So besides the fact that this place is encased in concrete it is over 100 years old. Plus it’s full... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jesse R
,
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Read all 453 reviews
  
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveler rating
335
98
15
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
335
98
15
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide henry mercer tile work hour tour unique home take photos great tour one of a kind dream home next door poured concrete ceramic tiles call ahead wear comfortable shoes fascinating place his life moravian pottery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 453 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2019

We had a tour with only 3 other people. It was intimate, informative and the guide answered any questions we had, as well as some humor! The castle and view was spectacular. A bit hot inside, but to no ones fault- just dress to expect warmth inside!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Justina23_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019

The castle is cluttered, dusty, and crowded with way too much stuff but the tile work is amazing. Our docent, LIsa, was wonderful and had a great voice. She is very knowledgeable and made the hour tour interesting

Date of experience: June 2019
3  Thank outgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

We found this an interesting place to visit and see the way an eccentric, scholarly, wealthy bachelor lived in the early 20th century. The concrete (fireproof) structure is more than "adorned" with clay tile, but incorporates the work, the thinking, and the values of the man. Tile is embedded everywhere, on the floor, on the ceiling, on the walls, (I'm tempted to quip "Artes virumque cano." The man expresses his Latin learning in tiles with adages in the various rooms, and even on the stair risers as you follow your tour guide through about one-third of the 44 room home --- without touching things, and winding a circuitous route of stairways and corridors of adjoining rooms, from the servants' entrance at ground level to the roof top, Fluent in several languages, he incorporates German in some of what you see, describes the sources and types of tile used, as well as the names of family members and friends for whom various rooms were fashioned, or the culture of places he has visited or studied. Yes, one can see an extensive collection of old books and pictures here and there. But, at some point, you might be tempted to say, "Enough !" For, it is definitely not the way most people would choose to decorate their homes, and it eventually becomes one-room-after-another with more of the same. In fact, he seems to express his focus on excessiveness in a motto "Plus Ultra" that he displays in tile on one of the fireplaces. A nice place to visit, but once is enough.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019

While in the area to kill some time I had come across this castle. It was a wonderful visit and worth the thirteen dollars. I would have paid more. The tour was great and very informing. Ther were approximately 6000 books and 900 paintings and etchings. Including four original Rembrandts. The castle was built for Henry Mercer. Bottom line spend the money and have a good time. Almost forgot, his foundry is next door and take that tour also. I did not have the time for that tour.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank karlr531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2019

I have lived in this area all my life and have never been inside the castle.Shame on me! If you like seeing castles,old mansions,or are interested in ceramics,then you must see this place.It is like nothing you have ever seen! The ticket of enter comes with a tour guide ...which is a good thing or else you would miss so much about the story.A crazy and unusual place!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank lookinforelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews