We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great wedding location”
Review of Mercer Museum

Mercer Museum
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Doylestown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Managed by the Bucks County Historical Society, this museum pays tribute to Henry Chapman Mercer, noted archaeologist, antiquarian, artist and writer.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great wedding location”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had out wedding here in 1997. The museum holds a special place in our hearts. Now that we have children we love to spend the day walking around the collections. There is always something that stands out that we didn't see before.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ATahaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    116
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
180 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Plan a day trip to Doylestown and be sure to include this on your list... but beware you could end up being in here for hours! We are lucky to be members and choose to take in a little at a time whenever a new exhibit opens in the recently added addition to the front of the building. Be sure to checkout the website before visiting to see what programs the offer for the kids (almost every weekend) and also keep in mind it is a great place for a kid's birthday.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ManyMilesStill2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
239 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The spouse of a collector's nightmare”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Mercer and another one of his huge concrete buildings. The size is deceiving from the outside. Once you enter this museum filled with various collections it boggles the mind. I thought I was in the never ending caverns in one of the National Treasure movies.

Fire trucks, boats, industrial tools and machines hanging from the ceiling at what looks like halfway up a skyscraper. Rooms of displays of just about anything - tools, candy making tools and shops, working with tortoise shells, working with meat, cigar store "Indians" and everything else under, above and behind the sun.

Add to that when we went, there was a great circus exhibit (mostly posters) and huge display of board games from centuries past. All-in-all, it was a great experience to see how Mr. Mercer took his creative genius, innovative skills and what might be considered as hoarding today and turned it all into a wonderful feast for the eyes and mind.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We visited this museum made of concrete on a very cold day. It is not heated, and they do tell you of that when you arrive. Other than that, it is an extremely interesting collection of Pre-industrial revolution Americana. Lots of steps, and the elevator did not work when we visited. Again we were warned of that. There had been an ice storm in the area 3 days before we visited and they had been without power till the day of our visit. I am not sure if the elevator issue was connected to the weather event or not. We had also visited Fonthill castle ( also made of concrete). The extent of Mr. Mercer's collections at both locations is almost unimaginable!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank knitone1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,704 reviews
1,294 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 599 helpful votes
“What a Collection”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The sheer quantity of artifacts in this museum is mind boggling. Mercer knew what he wanted in his collection and just kept buying more and more of the same type of item. I have never seen so many items crammed into such a huge building.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercer Museum also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Mercer Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing