We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll rate it very good...”
Review of Mercer Museum

Mercer Museum
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Doylestown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Managed by the Bucks County Historical Society, this museum pays tribute to Henry Chapman Mercer, noted archaeologist, antiquarian, artist and writer.
new york
Level Contributor
187 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“I'll rate it very good...”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

because of the huge amount of objects on display. As a frequent visitor to many museums, I can say that not too many have the amount of things on display as this place does. You could spend hours here, reading and looking at everything. Or just spend an hour like we did. My family is familiar with many of the objects so we did not spend as much time as some would. We still found a few surprises though! We followed the advice of the TA reviewers and started at the top and worked down. Very easy to see everything, objects nicely displayed. Mercer's home, Fonthill, about 10 minutes away, was more interesting and we are glad we toured that too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrmisrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    114
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must see for anyone interested in 19th Century America.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've been in museums all over the world as my job requires extensive travel. So I have a pretty good idea of how the 1% have lived, their armour,weapons,jewelry and art. However after leaving those museums you still have no idea how the other 99% lived. This museum is different. Mr Mercer has collected a truly comprehensive display of artifacts showing how the majority of Americans lived in the 1800s. From watchmakers tools to a thirty foot whaling boat ( whaling produced the finest oil for lighting and lubrication ) it's all there. Almost every trade has its own display , from the farm to the city. It's all housed in a concrete faux chateau ( Mercer was terrified of fire) built in the early 1900s and unheated so dress warmly in winter. Walk or take the elevator to the 7th floor and explore all its nooks and crannies as you walk down. $12 a head for adults less for children. Just go , this like no other museum I've seen.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LeighR412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a strange house and place, but thoroughly fascinating. Mercer seemed to add on to the place in whatever style he was currently enjoying. I like the layout - you never know what will be in the next room or hallway.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“spectacular collection and amazing building”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

to know the history you immediately are smitten with the building itself being all from concrete (mercer was afraid of fire ruining his home or museum). This building was quite a feat to build for its time and houses an enormous collection of turn of the century items. You could spend hours weaving in and out of rooms and displays. This is another example of what makes Doylestown so special and unique. Our castles are quite wonderful. You could spend time here and then walk across the street to the Michener for lunch and more museuming. This is a must see.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank drbeth59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
355 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Really old-shaped building”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Mercer loved using cement and here you'll find furniture made of cement! Very interesting, strange and unique place - probably nothing like it anywhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank Arline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercer Museum also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Mercer Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing