We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Art-house Fare”
Review of The County Theater

The County Theater
Ranked #1 of 6 Fun & Games in Doylestown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The County is a nonprofit, community-based movie theater that specializes in independent, art, and foreign films. We are also one of the region's premier cinema destinations, offering, in addition to our regular programming, a variety of special events ranging from Saturday Kid's Matinees to classic Hollywood films. We regularly present local filmmakers and host discussion groups and lectures. "County Theater, Inc." is a 501 (c) (3) tax-exempt nonprofit corporation which owns and runs the theater.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
NEW HOPE
Level Contributor
393 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Art-house Fare”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Best place in Bucks County to see art-house movies, indies and old classics on the big screen. Reasonably priced, worth being a member for the extras you get. Popcorn is pricy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank EDWARD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    30
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hatfield, pa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A bit of nostalgia”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It is an old type movie theater from days ago that you would see in small towns growing up.
It is small with two distinct areas for showing movies. Has a small refreshment stand.
It definitely brings back memories which makes it so unique. A definite throwback which I hope never goes away.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown PA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Iconic entertainer”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We can walk to this great theater that offers a wide variety of art films, main stream releases of a more artsy nature, classics, and family fun cinema. It's convenient, clean, and comfortable. The people are friendly and the popcorn fresh. It is so accessible we've come to regard going to a big cinema complex as "too overwhelming". So glad to have the County Theater in our town. It is also the subject of many great paintings of the local scene.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bahamamama2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great vintage theater with an old-fashioned atmosphere that brings me back to my days as a youth in the 50's. Very relaxing and intimate. Love the place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joseph_F52511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
249 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Enjoy The Movies”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

It is a real pleasure to sit in a movie theater where the clientele is quiet and respectful. I found this at the County Theater on several visits. Furthermore, you can buy popcorn, Coke, and candy at very reasonable prices compared to the major theater chains. The retro movies are a real treat, seeing them on the big screen rather than TV or computer. The staff is friendly, another plus. Sit back and enjoy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SanNic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The County Theater also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to The County Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing