We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doylestown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highland Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Doylestown B&B and Inns
Menomonie, WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Christine provided my daughters and I with wonderful home base during our
extended stay in Bucks County and Doylestown. A great place to return to after
a busy day of touring and sightseeing. Thanks Christine

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
22
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Our weekend at Highland Farm was amazing, full stop. Oh, all the standard B & B things were present and accounted for - amazing breakfasts, unbelievably soft sheets (actually, we've never felt smoother!), a terrific common room featuring books and movies aplenty, gorgeous grounds and views - but two things elevated it into "magic" territory.

Those would be Christine Cole (a phenomenal host and innkeeper, managing to achieve the perfect balance between being solicitous and being overly "in-your-face.") She seemed like our next-door neighbor - but her apparently effortless skill became evident when she rattled off dinner recommendations and immediately interpreted what was most important to us into ideal photo op suggestions.

The other thing, of course, is the history of the place. For Broadway buffs. this is an absolute must - to stay in the same house where Hammerstein wrote some of the most memorable and iconic shows in American theater! Every corner of the house holds a story - and the many books that can be found in the bedrooms and the common area just add to that knowledge.

In short, nothing feels "new" in this house - yet everything works perfectly (even the flat panel TV and the Keurig coffee maker!). The magic of what was created there still lingers. And thanks to the wonderful Christine, we can experience it.

We can't recommend it highly enough. Do yourself a favor and go to Highland Farm!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatyMightHave63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The inn is lovely. We stayed during Christmas time, and the decorations were cheerful and tasteful. Christine treated us like royalty and the food was fabulous. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My mother who was visiting me from Indiana, and I stayed one night at the Highland Farm B & B - in the Carousel Room. The home is lovely and although it's only 1 mi from downtown Doylestown, you feel like you are in the country at the spacious and quiet property. The innkeeper, Christine, welcomed us warmly and ensured our needs were met. Since we both love early American history, and music, staying in Oscar Hammerstein's former home was extra special for our mini-vacation to Doylestown. Christine's hospitality extended to an afternoon of wine and cheese, and her homemade breakfast with Morning Glory Muffins, Eggs Benedict and fresh fruit garnished with mint from her herb garden. What I enjoyed most besides the beauty of the refurbished home and Christine's hospitality, was the wonderfully comfortable bed and sumptious multi-thread count sheets. Yummy pillows. Decorated with lots of TLC, the home is immaculate. I only wish we could have stayed another night. We will definitely return as the B & B is close to local sightseeing, but also a very special get-away. Thank you, Christine. Lisa from Wilmington and Doris from Indianapolis.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic US
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Highland Farm Bed & Breakfast was just what my girlfriend and I were looking for. Tastefully furnished without being fussy, convenient to the charming town of Doylestown, PA with great hospitality. We were warmly greeted with wine and cheese and a chance to settle in. After dinner in Doylestown (PLENTY of restaurants), we returned to enjoy a lovely fire. Sleep was not a problem that night. Our room, part of the Oklahoma suite, was delightful. Shared bath in the hallway was warm with a very good shower. Breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. The coffee is particularly excellent.

Formerly the summer home of Oscar Hammerstein, Highland Farm is a must for musical theatre fans. Pictures of Hammerstein and his family appear throughout the home, innkeeper Christine Cole has just the right number of stories and one can feel the creativity in the air.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
center harbor
Level Contributor
181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We had a mid week one night stay in between the hustle and bustle of the holiday season. Arriving later in the evening after dropping off our luggage earlier, we were pleased to find a favorite wine of ours complimented with an assortment of cheeses. What a relaxing evening!
Christine did a superb renovation of the Inn with the clean subtle colors and without going over the top as some B & B's do. Being very familiar with the area, having lived in Pipersville, this location is very convenient to all sights that you may wish to see. We could imagine Oscar writing in the study surrounded by his family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Gracious and accommodating hostess; hearty and healthy breakfasts; quiet and spacious rooms, tastefully decorated, very comfortable beds. It's about a mile from downtown Doylestown. All the comforts of home. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank volare366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doylestown
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Doylestown
1.4 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#1 of 2 in Doylestown
182 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Doylestown
Hampton Inn Doylestown
#2 of 2 in Warrington
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Montgomeryville
201 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Philadelphia Montgomeryville
7.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Highland Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 70 East Rd, Doylestown, PA 18901-3117
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Doylestown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Doylestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing