We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap grease spoon diner with great food!”

Coffee Cup Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 71 Restaurants in Downingtown
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap grease spoon diner with great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

That classic hole in the wall local eatery. Only open for breakfast and lunch. You'll wait any Saturday or Sunday for a seat, but if you want a waitress who calls you 'hun,' countless coffee refills, and some classic diner food, hit them up.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmariani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Breakfast or lunch in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Good, wholesome, basic, fresh, food. Made like Mama used to make it. Pleasant waitresses. You may have to wait for a table during peak hours. Reasonably priced.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DickDBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Greasy Spoon Lives Up to its Name”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We went to The Coffee Cup after almost eating at another restaurant for breakfast (their prices were so ridiculous, we walked out!). So the pricing here was much better than some of the other places around. The food was not great; not bad. Just average. The atmosphere was what you'd expect for a greasy spoon joint. They only take cash. That's a drawback. Not sure if I'll go back, but I'm not ruling it out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Annabelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
210 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best place for breakfast in Downingtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We go to the Coffee Cup Restaurant often. The food is always good. The service is always great and the prices are very good. I could eat here every day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
275 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great food but seat yourself and cash only is a pain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had heard good things about this place so were expecting great things. It is located on the main route town and is easy to miss as the building is brick faced with relatively small windows - not the usual bright neon "Diner" signs
The place seats about 100 diners, I would guess, at counter stools and 4-seater booths and tables. Luckily we were only a party of 4, not our usual 5, so this wasn't a problem.
As other have mentioned, this is a "seat yourself" place, and there are 2 entrances, so you have to be patient to get a table and rely on the courtesy of other customers too. The other thing is that this place takes cash only. They do have an ATM inside the place, but to be honest it's a weird attitude. I guess they don't want to pay fees to the card issuers and would rather the customers stump up a fee to use an onsite ATM. They may even get a fee for having the device too. This leaves a bit of a bad taste in the mouth.

Anyway, that being said, the staff were efficient and friendly to us, and our order was taken fairly quickly and delivered with a smile. The food is pretty good Diner fayre. "The Mess" is like a mixed up omelet, with potatoes baked into it, as was very nice. The creamed beef with gravy, over potatoes and toast was also a great choice, although would hardly be recommended by Atkins. The place was bustling and the atmosphere was good so overall I would recommend it, as long as you don't forget to take cash with you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uktravailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Cup Restaurant also viewed

 
Downingtown, PA
 

Been to Coffee Cup Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing