We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection.”

Orangery At Glen Isle
Ranked #17 of 71 Restaurants in Downingtown
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Valentines dinner was wonderful. This is a place you do not have to worry about over crowded and poor service for this event, Valentines dinner. The seating is limited, it is a one time dinning, set menu, and bring your own wine. No de-corking fee. And one price. Room is delighful, a renovated little mansion type house set on a private lane. Food was again wonderful. Several courses to delight ones palate. Portions are perfect so at the end your very satisfied. Service pefect. Of course will return again and again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It was fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Love the idea of this restaurant. Older home transformed into a dining spot. Set price. Set menu. Many small courses. So you get so many different flavors and experiences. Although one person in our party had many food aversions. So if your picky this isn't the place for you because your going to pay for food you might not like. Food was good, not amazing. Although the mushroom appetizer we had was over the top good! Went with two other couples and the long table made it difficult for conversation, especially over all the other diners. Decor is simple and charming. Service was on cue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“wonderful secret little gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Again a wonderful meal, in a sweet setting. Nice, pleasant and comfortable. Will return again and again.Wonderful BYOB place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Is my favorite BYOB going downhill?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Orangery has been my favorite BYO to visit and recommend over the last year. However our last experience was disappointing as compared to our prior experiences. The food was good although the amuse bouche was identical to the 2nd course and only presented differently. Our major complaint was the quality of the service and basic lack of customer service that one would expect at such a fine restaurant and to what we had grown accustomed when dining here. I'm not sure if they were exceptionally busy as the patio was also being seated or if they were short staffed. I provided commend to the restaurant via their Facebook page and the only response was "I'm sorry you felt rushed". I was willing to give it another try if there was some specific reason that this night was a bit off from a dining and service standpoint. However the cursory and uninformative response will be enough for me to no longer patronize this restaurant and stop recommending it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank CMO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
213 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Exactly all I had hoped for and expected having read the reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Brought someone here to celebrate his birthday. Arrived a bit early to wander the ruins/grounds (nothing extensive, just a great taste of Chester County history). We were offered the choice of where to sit by Paul, the chef/owner's husband) and chose to sit on the outside patio, which at this time of year was perfect. Each course was lovingly and deliciously prepared. The pace was perfect and the meal completed over the course of the next two hours. We ended up being the only party seated on the patio which was just perfect for us (and Paul would come out every so often to check-in on us and answer our questions about the property and it's history).

At the conclusion of the meal my friend said "Well this has been just perfect! Best birthday ever!" You can't do better than that! I/we will definitely add this to our wheel house.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orangery At Glen Isle also viewed

 
Downingtown, PA
 

Been to Orangery At Glen Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing