We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great real Mexican cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rincon Tarasco

Rincon Tarasco
Ranked #34 of 71 Restaurants in Downingtown
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: Wonderful authentic Mexican restaurant! Delicious food!
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great real Mexican cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Don't go there if you expect to be served promptly. They make everything to order. Some dishes take longer than others.
It will take a while. Relax and enjoy the chips. It's a restaurant, I won't say the chips are home made, They make them there. Not to be missed.
Try the molcajete. It could serve 2, perhaps 3, if you're not really hungry, Served in a carved stone bowl, shaped like a standing pig, I've never seen molcajete anywhere else, it is amazing. Molcajete seems to take the longest, perhaps get a few starters to pass the time. It arrives with the sauce boiling in the stone bowl (molcajete). It's hard to describe, better for you to find a friend or few and try it.
BYOB, bring your favorite beer/wine.
I've done take out from them. The act of boxing it up looses something. I prefer to take some time, and wait.
Bottom line, real Mexican food made to order, worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Off_Sailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The food is ok - nothing spectacular. Very disappointing since there are so many good places to eat Mexican food in Chester County.
Very plain, but seems clean. Not quick, either

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall - but great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a tiny little place in the center of Downingtown. You might have driven past it for a year or three. But it is worth pulling over to enjoy. The food is full of flavor, tastes fresh, and is made to order. It is not a 'fast food joint', you will likely be done with your home made chips/salsa before the entee arrives, but not too long. Long enough to sit back and relax. If you've brought some beer, have another. (also a wide selection of mexican soda for the kids) I usually get two soft tacos with beef - the beef is SO tastey and tender! My husband has ordered from all over the menu and has always been pleased. The decor is very simple, yet clean and friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pauli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern pa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“OLE real Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Rincon seems to strike visitors unevenly. Count me on the upside. First, the decor: well decorated, mirrored walls, amazing bas reliefs in foil. The menu: all the standards (including tongue) and more. We had the veg fajitas and I could not believe what a tasty dish we got, loaded with vegs great sides of beans and rice, with piping hot corn tortillas. More than friendly service, great food, attractive setting. Glad we stopped. By the by - everything is cooked to order. If you want fast remember that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oforamuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“real mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Try the molcajete. Unless you're a big eater order it to share for two, and get an appetizer. If you really like spicy order it hot.
They have several items on the menu I haven't seen at most other Mexican restaurants.
Everything is made there, even the chips.
Service isn't fast. Everything is made to order. That takes time. It's BYOB

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Off_Sailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rincon Tarasco also viewed

 

Been to Rincon Tarasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing